We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels)
Nearby Hotels
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,359)
Filter reviews
1,359 results
Traveller rating
721
472
111
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
472
111
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental clubharbour citymarco polo hotelscity supernespresso machineocean terminalshopping mallmobile phonethird floorreplenished dailyexcellent locationfree wifiupon checknathan roaddirect accessmtr stationfavorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 1,359 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to Hong Kong multiple times and it's the first time I stayed at Marco Polo Gateway..

We took a cab from the airport and after arriving, the porter was quick to take over and led us to the hotel building.. The taxi stand was actually part of the mall and we had to take a short 1 minute walk cutting across (air conditioned) the mall to the entrance of the hotel..

It was a birthday treat so my husband booked the continental club room.. Check-in was on level 15 (separate from the normal check in reception) and staff was friendly & got procedures done in a jiffy..

Our room was luxurious and the bed was comfortable.. Pillows were a little soft though.. It had a Nespresso machine with free capsules, electric boiler & complimentary tea sachets.. They also provided 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water and selected fruits daily..

Bathroom was a decent size with a wide marble table top, great for ladies :) Most amenities were provided.. Only downside was a lack of bathtub which wasn't a concern to me..

The club room allowed us free access to the continental lounge which provided free breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail, dinner.. Spread was decent for a lounge and the food was actually rather delicious.. The ambience was great and it was actually our perfect rest/perk me up area when we came back with sore feet after a long day or just to hide from the torturous summer heat...

The only negative thing was that it's a little distant from the MTR station, perhaps a 10-min walk...

Overall the stay was fabulous and it's right smack in Harbour City Mall which has almost every brand available.. Mini haven for shopaholics or last minute purchases..

I would love to stay here again.. Highly recommended for a comfortable, relaxing & luxurious stay =)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank livefreeange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, General Manager at Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels), responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear fairybabe15,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the Gateway Hotel.

With warm regards from the world's most dramatic waterfront,


James M. Ong
General Manager
Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Superior Suite for 7 nights on our honeymoon. We loved the service and the room, although we would've liked a river/city view. The room had plenty of space, with a lounge area, separate dressing area, bathroom, luggage rack and tea/coffee facilities, and large bedroom.

The breakfasts at Three on Canton were the best we've ever had - the quality, freshness and variety of food was outstanding. Watching the world go by on the street below was interesting as we ate breakfast by the window.

The location is great for high-end shoppers, but we aren't into that and it became quite tedious going to and from the hotel and being caught in a maze of shops and people. The swimming pool is not in the Gateway Hotel - you have to walk through the shopping mall and into the Hong Kong Hotel - we were surprised and disappointed by this. It doesn't make for a leisurely experience in my opinion.

Would recommend, especially if you like your shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcg2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, General Manager at Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels), responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear kcg2816,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments and suggestions are much appreciated as they are indeed crucial in supporting our improvement efforts.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the Gateway Hotel.

With warm regards from the world's most dramatic waterfront,


James M. Ong
General Manager
Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my family, 4 in total, with a 3 yo and an 8 yo. We had a 1 bedroom suite. This is the best accommodation that I have had the pleasure to stay in, in Asia so far, and it's great value for your money. The newly refurbished rooms are comfortable and spacious and the service is something that many hotels around the world could learn from. They are polite, accommodating and go the extra mile without asking. I would recommend this hotel and will be a return guest every time I pass through Hong Kong in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wiggi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, General Manager at Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels), responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear wiggi72,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted to receive your kind words about the hotel location and your service experience with our associates. We strongly believe that our associates are our greatest asset, and we are indeed proud of them.

We are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Gateway Hotel.

With warm regards from the world’s most dramatic waterfront,


James Ong
General Manager
Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am writing a review for the first time, because of the exceptional service the hotel provided when we had problems during our last visit. Our family encountered difficulty during our stay due to the nature of my 2 year old son's asthma attacks. We commend and appreciate the hotel's capacity to adapt to our unexpected situation. They were able to provide us with efficient response, patience, consideration, and clear explanation on the details we were concerned with.

Outside of our experience above, my family and I have been regulars here for more than 20 years, from the time i was a child, until now that i am married and with a family of my own. We frequent this hotel because of the convenience, the excellent location, and the spacious rooms. The renovation has made our experience here even more comfortable. The rooms are now updated, yet they remain spacious, and its an updated novelty that they have now provide a nespresso machine in the regular rooms.

This particular trip, I have found the service here to be excellent yet unobtrusive. Adding to that the help that we have experienced during our trouble this last trip, it has reinforced in my mind and that of my family's that this hotel is as close as we can get to a home away from home, while we are in HK.

Given the particularly spacious rooms (by hk standards), the well planned renovation, the reliable service, and the excellent location where the restaurants and shops are so close by, this hotel provides a particular kind of comfort and experience that can not easily be found or bought.

We visit HK about 2-3 times a year as a family, and we try to stay in this hotel at least one visit each year. If the rates were not a concern, we would stay in this hotel every trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vange c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, General Manager at Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels), responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear mecc2014,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

We were most concerned to learn that your son was sick during your recent visit. However, we are glad that you were satisfied with the way that it was handled by our associates. We strongly believe that our associates are our greatest asset, and we are indeed proud of them.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Gateway Hotel.

With warm regards from the world’s most dramatic waterfront,


James Ong
General Manager
Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel because it's just a few steps away from MTR station. Also near the HK harbour. There are a lot of malls around too. Almost everything is just walking distance away. Their rooms are very clean and spacious. It was worth it!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 251obt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O, General Manager at Gateway Hotel (Marco Polo Hotels), responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear 251obt,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

We are delighted to receive your kind words about the hotel location. Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Gateway Hotel.

With warm regards from the world’s most dramatic waterfront,


James Ong
General Manager
Marco Polo Hotels - Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews