We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old rooms but very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old rooms but very convenient location”
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Booked through hotelclub.com. Upon check in, cannot enter booking to our asiamiles since, accdg to them, we did not book directly through their site. really good location, center of Harbour City. Requested 2 double beds. Because of the Chinese New year, the promotion was an upgrade from a standard room to a deluxe room. Seeing the deluxe room, we asked each other how small can the standard room be, since the deluxe looked ordinary and outdated to us already. Carpets were really worn out. The bath tub had rusts all over. The water in the tub and sink would not drain out and one would wait for about 30 mins to be able to use it again. Cannot request for repairs since they said it will take the following day to fix it and we were leaving the next day. Beds and pillows were ok. Even had a pillow menu. One pillow with magnets gave me excruciating migraine the next day. But that's me. Stayed at Holiday Inn before. Umbrellas, adpaters, ironing boards, were all available for use or for purchase. At Gateway, the adapters were not free, the big Evian water on top of the desk LOOKED free but wasn't, so be careful not to open immediately. The beds were really comfortable, toiletries were ok. We didn't eat breakfast there since they were asking for HK$300+ per person, too high. Location was the best. You can get food from Wellcome supermarket in the mall. When you go shopping, you can just drop off everything in the room or rest for a while since it was right inside. Oh, I always put up the Do Not Disturb sign. But at 8:30 am, you can rattled by a loud knock from a person asking you if you have any laundry for service. In general, the hotel was ok. Location inside Harbour City was the big plus. I guess that's why they do not care to renovate because people will always think about the good location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Old carpet, old bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    404
    94
    30
    13
See reviews for
428
186
41
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

I stay in this hotel every time i go to Hong Kong. Service is great and the rooms are very comfortable. You get complimentary water too but you have to pay a steep price for internet.

Its connected to Ocean Terminal which is a huge shopping area that connects the other Marco Polo hotels. It's a 3 minute walk towards the MTR on Nathan road. Since it is near the Harbor, its a 10minute walk to get there and you can ride the ferry towards Hong Kong Island (it's the more scenic route).

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

There are three Macro Polo Hotels in Canton Road. I stayed in Macro Polo Prince before. I preferred Macro Polo Gateway. Gateway is located in the middle and it has the best location. It is only within 5-minutes walking distance to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR (subway) station. It is next to the upscale shopping center – Harbor City.

Hotel’s staff was excellent. Service was good. I was sick and I called the hotel desk for help. The hotel staff was so kind and he walked me to a nearby doctor.

The hotel room was kind of outdated, and you would have “real key” instead of access card. Closet in the room was not functioning at all. I could not even open it. I would say that the room was quite small and it would need renovation. However, it was clean.

  • Liked — Services
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UptownXriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I love the place! I love the location, the service, the people, the price... everything! If you're a first-timer in Hong Kong, you should definitely stay in Marco Polo Gateway. It's all worth it!

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — Check-out time
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank the_hunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

The hotel is in a great location, less than 10 minutes to the ferry terminal, and two streets from Nathan Road. It is joined to a shopping centre with a real assortment of shops....Very expensive designer boutiques down to a supermarket and pharmacist! The room was a generous size, but rather dated. The bathroom was huge, with the shower over the bath, a toilet and sink set in a vanity unit. There was a safety deposit box in the wardrobe at no charge. Everthing was perfectly clean, and the maid replaced the towels daily. We were on the front of the hotel overlooking the street and I assume the room was triple glazed or soundproofed as it was silent. we were room only, so cannot comment on breakfats. The bar is very nice, on the ground floor with big windows looking onto the street.
All in all a good hotel in a great location, but in need of a face lift.
And if you get sick of Chinese food, the Hard Rock cafe is over the road!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs a facelift
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Facade is inviting....great location. Value OK but I'd not stay again. I travel 200M miles a year..stay in tons of hotels. This not a repeat. Room tired....bad bathroom caulking, tired bed, pillows, bedcover, carpet tatty...pass on it if you can.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank kiwi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We stayed here while on a business trip. 2 days in Hon Kong on our way into the Mainland and 1 day on the way back to the States. The location of the Hotel is great. Easy access to shopping, business meetings and great areas for going out. The breakfast buffet was only o.k. The rooms were TERRIBLE---they smelled of mold. I changed rooms twice and all the rooms smelled the same. I checked with my colleagues and they had the same experience. The hotel was also packed with young people in town to have a party and the staff wasn't inclined to ask the drunkards running up and down the hall at 3am to be quiet. Spend $40 more per night and get a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#38 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,083 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#72 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,597 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#8 of 716 in Hong Kong
246 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing