We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money - only missing Wi-Fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #86 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
159 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great value for money - only missing Wi-Fi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This place ticked all the boxes for me - namely:
- Clean, decent sized room. May be small for some but it's spacious compared to the other shoeboxes I've stayed in Hong Kong, and it seemed to have been recently refurbished.
- Quiet, consistently working air conditioning
- New shower with good water pressure and quick, consistent hot water
- Decent TV channels
- Excellent location - right next to Yau Ma Tei MTR station, buses and walking distance to Mongkok shopping, Temple St night market, and other locations. Airport bus stops directly outside, and you can also get a free transfer from the hotel from the Kowloon Airport Express station.

Staff were very friendly - my only gripe is that the Wi-Fi is not free. I really don't like when hotels rip you off by skimping on this - it's 2012 and it's a necessity. Still, I would stay here again despite this.

My tip is to walk 5 minutes around the corner to One2Free and get a prepaid mobile broadband SIM card for $100HKD (comes with $100HKD of value). You can get a day of unlimited 3G (7.2MBPS) data for $28HKD, as opposed to $140HKD the hotel charge! Convenience stores sell this SIM card too but most of them don't have it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the hotel wi-fi, go and buy a One2Free prepaid mobile broadband SIM instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for writing such an encouraging review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location and nearby shopping area. Your positive words on our friendly service staff will stimulate them to serve even better. We will keep it up. Your comment on free wifi service will be put in consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    1,125
    355
    58
    27
See reviews for
504
601
214
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Cityview Hong Kong is in a very convenient location, just next to Yaumatei MTR station. Guest may take MTR to access most of the popular attractions in HK, walking distance to Ladies street & Temple street. etc....
Cityview Hong Kong 's room is clean and tidy. Value for money hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially concierge. Highly recommend to your friends.

Room Tip: Premier room are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ming m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are glad to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and nearby attractions. Thank you for your kind words on our staff services. We will keep it up.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and your recommendation to your friends. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Being next to Yaumatei MTR station, Cityview Hong Kong is in a very convenient location. Its guests may use the MTR system, convenently, to access most of the popular attractions in HK, including Disneyland, airport, Festival walk shopping, Central, TST, etc.
Comparing to other HK hotels, Cityview's room is clean and spacious. I also enjoyed the dining at its Chinese Restaurant which provides good food and good ambience. Its breakfast buffet, however, is average and dull. It definitely needs some improvements.
One thing I do enjoy very much about this hotel is the friendly services provided by its staff. They always go extra miles for me to make my stay a pleasant one. You definitely would get a 5 stars value for the money that you would spend on a 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: 30 sec.walk to Yaumatei MTR station. Closest MTR exit to Cityview is "A2".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write such an encouraging comment. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location. Thank you for your generous workds on our staff's services. We will keep it up. As for the buffet breakfast, the items do occasionally change. New food item will be added for better variety of choices.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

First of all, I have been to this hotel NUMEROUS times - since before the "Cityview" name change. It used to be the YMCA hotel. The rooms are very clean and you get a GREAT view of the city (well, so long as your room is on the back side of the building). Since the name change (about 3 years ago) the rooms have also been getting updates. Most rooms (well, all the ones I stayed in - standard twin bed) have a flat screen TV. You can easily use your room phone to call home and charge it to your room bill, no need for a calling card.

If you go out the hotel on the side entrance/ the entrance with the drive through and cross the street, there's a small little alley on the right and a GREAT little bakery there.

if you head towards KFC/Burger King, you will be able to see a ton of shops, then you will eventually come up on a bunch of tents...that's the ladies market. They sell just about everything there and all prices are negotiable. Don't feel bad negotiating with them because they don't feel bad when they triple the price just because you're a foreigner. Here's some more info on the ladies market : http://www.12hk.com/area/Mongkok/LadiesMarket.shtml

There's at least two MTR stations (subway trains) with in walking distance of the hotel and you can get ANYWHERE via MTR.

HK is very easy to get around, most everything is in English and Chinese (cantonese).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuTianHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review in the period before and after our name change. We strive for providing comfortable stay for our guests and so we facilitate our rooms regularly apart from the basic views. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel location adjacent to subway station, different kinds of restaurants and shopping market.

Thank you for your support to The Cityview. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Right next to MTR and five minutes walking distance to Ladies market. Perfect location. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially at reception and concierge. They are my sightseeing planner. Clean and tidy room. Value for money hotel. Highly recommend to my friends,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel location and our staff services. We will pass on your compliments to our concerned staff. Your kind words will stimulate our staff to work even better.

We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have spent 6 nights here and found it very good. Our HK friend was a little concerned when we told her where we were staying as it was a YMCA hotel but the area we stayed in was very clean, great service although we had some difficulty when checking in and found someone else in our room. Was upgraded to a junior suite which was an absolute bonus and was very pleased. The only issue we have was the fridge which didn't work at all. If that is the only complaint then I think our stay was fantastic and we would recommend again and stay here again. Across the road from the mtr, Nathan road, night market, ladies market ......... Thanks Jennifer and you staff for a great stay

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us. We are delighted you appreciate the convenience of our hotel and the standard of our services. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused to you upon check in. We will provide tactical training to our front line staffs. In regard to the fridge in room, we are using eco-fridge which is only around 4.5 degree Celsius and that is part of our environmental scheme.
We will pass on your encouraging message to Jennifer and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Few of my colleagues went Hong Kong recently and recommended we stay at the Hotel for its centralised location. No doubt hotel is near to the MTR. Service at reservation counter was ok, but we were quite taken aback when the staff who carried 1 of our luggages demanded tipping. (Note: I carried the other luggage myself). I thought we paid 10% for the svc? We stayed there for 5 nights btw. Throughout the entire stay, none of the doormen held the door for us, nobody greeted us. Everyday I placed the "Do not make room" sign on my door but the chambermaids always make up my room! And eventhough they did tidy my room, I still found strands of short hair on my bedsheet. (My hair is long) My poor brother brought "souvenir" back to Singapore; his legs are scarred with bed bug bite marks. For that alone, I will not recommend this place to anyone! Lastly, things got even nastier once we checked out. We had a late flight to catch, and had wanted to laze around the lobby area for a while, but the guard told us off, saying that we are "blocking" the way of their guests. OMG, I could not tolerate that. Is this how they treat their two twin room guests who stayed there for 5 nights?!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pshins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We are glad to know that you appreciated with our hotel locaton that brought to you. We also deeply understand your concern on our staff's services. Concerned department have been briefed to pay more attention on that. Please rest assure that we ever devoted to improving our service quality in all aspects.

We look forward to serving you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#126 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,724 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing