We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality 4 star hotel, despite being a bit worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #81 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As everyone else notes, the rooms feel a bit old and worn. But, if you can look past that, they are actually quite comfortable and roomy (by Hong Kong standards) and I thought the hotel was a great value overall.

We really had nothing to complain about. The free internet worked very well and the staff were nice. The room had two small water bottles. The elevators were fast.

The greatest strength of this hotel is its location. There are some pedestrian streets with night markets nearby, and several restaurants. They have more of a local feel than a touristy feel which is fine by me. If you want to go see the tourist sites, then it's only about a 1-minute walk to the metro, and you get to many places in just a few stops for only a few dollars.

From the airport, take the airport express train to Kowloon station (about $10-12 per person depending on whether you're buying round trip or single journey), and then the free shuttle bus straight to the hotel. That's very convenient, comfortable and fast (<24 minute train ride plus a few minutes for the bus). Or you could save some money by taking a taxi to Tung Chung (maybe $5) and taking the metro from there (about $2 per person, and 35 minutes; exit D). Or you can take the airport express bus (A21) for about $5 per person (maybe 40 minutes total). I've done all three and they are all good options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I want to thank City View Hotel for upgrading us to Executive room without cost because of my Birthday. That is very sweet of them :)
Location of the Hotel is awesome; Near to Yau Ma Tei MTR station. It's within walking distance if you plan to take the Airport Bus (A21) to the Hotel.
We were also happy to find alot of good food around the Hotel - There is a famous porridge just across the Hotel, you guys should try if you're there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljaytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was small and dated, although clean and tidy. We had requested a double, but got a twin. We arrived after a very long day, so did not complain as that would have entailed going back downstairs, so that was probably our fault. Free wifi was included, but breakfasts were not. The staff were friendly and helpful. They advertise having an indoor pool and gym, The reality appears to be that these are run by the YMCA, so when we went to use them, the pool was full of children having lessons, and although we were welcome to lane swim, it was far from a relaxing private hotel pool. The gym was a similar story - used by many YMCA members, leaving limited space for hotel guests. It felt like going to a public gym. It was a great location, moments away from Yau Ma Tei tube station, 20 minutes walk from the ferry/art centre/festival of lights, and half way between the Night Market and Ladies Market.

Room Tip: Specify what you want when you check in, as you are given the key once completing check in formaliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and your reviews and expectations has brought to our close attention.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved staying here for the location - very close to lots of interesting sights, transport links, cafes and shops. The staff were fairly helpful at check in, and while our room comfortable, it was a bit tired and shabby. It was also not very big but that isn't suprising given the city it is in. Great free bus shuttle to and from the airport which was really helpful (given that we only had a one night stay in Hong Kong).

Room Tip: It was our honeymoon and there was a possible upgrade offered when we made our booking but no such u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arloontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and your valuable comments concerning the shabby guestroom has been carefully noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Travelled with my mum and auntie to hong kong, was glad that we chose this hotel due to the close proximity to the mtr.

the location is very accessible to all the shopping stretches and food.

the customer service is also highly commendable with a free upgrade of room upon arrival ( we did not even requested, the staff just offered it to us).

Though room was small, it Is definitely very decent for Hong Kong Standard. Would recommend anyone to stay there. =)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree-Shuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and particularly value our hotel great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the hotel's main entrace is just on the oppositie side of the road to the Yau Ma Tei exit. Very convenient for rainy days and provides shuttle service to airport express station. Saves you from lugging the heavy luggage up the stairs of the MTR stations.

Room Tip: Ask for a non- smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and great to learn the you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay in The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked 2 executive rooms and was very satisfied with the size and it's cleanliness. Room is big enough for our luggages and as we were traveling as a family, we were nested in adjacent rooms with connecting doors as they happen to be available. We greatly appreciated it and had an enjoyable experience! I will definitely recommend this to my friends and i will be back for sure! =)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatloverCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and great to learn that you enjoyed your stay here in The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#28 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,299 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,783 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#126 of 725 in Hong Kong
278 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#93 of 725 in Hong Kong
676 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £74 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. The Cityview strives to provide the very finest in high quality, cosy and verdant accommodation as well as memorable dining experiences. We are your home away from home, offering you the ideal location and professional attentive services. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing