We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cityview Hong Kong
Nearby Hotels
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,863)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveller rating
860
1,443
449
73
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
1,443
449
73
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyau ma tei mtrladies marketmtr stationpremier roomnathan roadeconomy roomcity view hotelnew wingtemple streetfree upgradeexcellent locationcircle kconvenient locationminute walkwalking distancenight marketairport express
Filter
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great hotel! As it is just above the MTR , it is very convenient for tourist to travel around..
Also it is very near to the airport and the night markets! With excellent breakfast and cha chan teng nearby the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are delighted to have you with us and great to learn that you enjoyed your stay here in The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 3 nights in Hong Kong because of a conference I attended. The Cityview was one of the conference recommended hotels to stay in. It was low-medium priced compared to others with good reviews here and in a good location, so I opted for this hotel. And indeed, my stay here was very pleasant- a spacious room with everything you may need- tee making facilities with complementary tee and coffee, bottled water for free, a mini fridge etc. The only thing I missed in my room was the possibility to open a window - but I assume that this is a real luxory in Hong Kong.
I traveled alone, but since I usually travel with my family I would note that this hotel is kids friendly, although located very far away from Disney World. My standard room was big enough to accommodate another bed and the breakfast buffet was good for all tastes. The hotel also has a pool which l did not visit.
I did not have much time to travel, but the Lady market was a great fun and located only 5 minutes away from the hotel. There is also small supermarket "wellcome", just in front of the hotel near the fire station.
The transport depends on your needs. There are green and yellow lines of MTR nearby and plenty buses. Defenetly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: My room was 7007 and it was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write your reviews and great to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay here in The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As everyone else notes, the rooms feel a bit old and worn. But, if you can look past that, they are actually quite comfortable and roomy (by Hong Kong standards) and I thought the hotel was a great value overall.

We really had nothing to complain about. The free internet worked very well and the staff were nice. The room had two small water bottles. The elevators were fast.

The greatest strength of this hotel is its location. There are some pedestrian streets with night markets nearby, and several restaurants. They have more of a local feel than a touristy feel which is fine by me. If you want to go see the tourist sites, then it's only about a 1-minute walk to the metro, and you get to many places in just a few stops for only a few dollars.

From the airport, take the airport express train to Kowloon station (about $10-12 per person depending on whether you're buying round trip or single journey), and then the free shuttle bus straight to the hotel. That's very convenient, comfortable and fast (<24 minute train ride plus a few minutes for the bus). Or you could save some money by taking a taxi to Tung Chung (maybe $5) and taking the metro from there (about $2 per person, and 35 minutes; exit D). Or you can take the airport express bus (A21) for about $5 per person (maybe 40 minutes total). I've done all three and they are all good options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I want to thank City View Hotel for upgrading us to Executive room without cost because of my Birthday. That is very sweet of them :)
Location of the Hotel is awesome; Near to Yau Ma Tei MTR station. It's within walking distance if you plan to take the Airport Bus (A21) to the Hotel.
We were also happy to find alot of good food around the Hotel - There is a famous porridge just across the Hotel, you guys should try if you're there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljaytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was small and dated, although clean and tidy. We had requested a double, but got a twin. We arrived after a very long day, so did not complain as that would have entailed going back downstairs, so that was probably our fault. Free wifi was included, but breakfasts were not. The staff were friendly and helpful. They advertise having an indoor pool and gym, The reality appears to be that these are run by the YMCA, so when we went to use them, the pool was full of children having lessons, and although we were welcome to lane swim, it was far from a relaxing private hotel pool. The gym was a similar story - used by many YMCA members, leaving limited space for hotel guests. It felt like going to a public gym. It was a great location, moments away from Yau Ma Tei tube station, 20 minutes walk from the ferry/art centre/festival of lights, and half way between the Night Market and Ladies Market.

Room Tip: Specify what you want when you check in, as you are given the key once completing check in formalities, so is an extra effort to correct any errors.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and your reviews and expectations has brought to our close attention.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews