We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very satisfied with this hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We got our money's worth. The hotel is clean and service is good. Their personnel, from the front desk people up to the housekeeping staff gave us excellent service. The location too is very good. So near the business area yet quiet. We would surely stay here again when we visit HK and would recommend this hotel to friends & relatives. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Cityview and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    1,218
    389
    61
    29
See reviews for
586
650
239
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I want to thank City View Hotel for upgrading me to Executive room, it was a nice surprise.
The room is very big for HK standards the bathroom was also very large.
Great shower, room for 2 as it has a rainwater and normal shower connection, your choice.
Mini fridge, tea/coffee, laptop safe good wi-fi..
For the price, and location to MRT it's well worth a look.
Only thing that would make it better would be key card for lift access so only registered guest could access your room/floor. this would make it a bit more secure.
Staff very nice.
I would say this is my hotel of choice if staying in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Use free shuttle bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Your valuable comments regarding the key card for lift access has been well noted. Thank you and look forward to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great hotel! As it is just above the MTR , it is very convenient for tourist to travel around..
Also it is very near to the airport and the night markets! With excellent breakfast and cha chan teng nearby the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are delighted to have you with us and great to learn that you enjoyed your stay here in The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 3 nights in Hong Kong because of a conference I attended. The Cityview was one of the conference recommended hotels to stay in. It was low-medium priced compared to others with good reviews here and in a good location, so I opted for this hotel. And indeed, my stay here was very pleasant- a spacious room with everything you may need- tee making facilities with complementary tee and coffee, bottled water for free, a mini fridge etc. The only thing I missed in my room was the possibility to open a window - but I assume that this is a real luxory in Hong Kong.
I traveled alone, but since I usually travel with my family I would note that this hotel is kids friendly, although located very far away from Disney World. My standard room was big enough to accommodate another bed and the breakfast buffet was good for all tastes. The hotel also has a pool which l did not visit.
I did not have much time to travel, but the Lady market was a great fun and located only 5 minutes away from the hotel. There is also small supermarket "wellcome", just in front of the hotel near the fire station.
The transport depends on your needs. There are green and yellow lines of MTR nearby and plenty buses. Defenetly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: My room was 7007 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write your reviews and great to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay here in The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As everyone else notes, the rooms feel a bit old and worn. But, if you can look past that, they are actually quite comfortable and roomy (by Hong Kong standards) and I thought the hotel was a great value overall.

We really had nothing to complain about. The free internet worked very well and the staff were nice. The room had two small water bottles. The elevators were fast.

The greatest strength of this hotel is its location. There are some pedestrian streets with night markets nearby, and several restaurants. They have more of a local feel than a touristy feel which is fine by me. If you want to go see the tourist sites, then it's only about a 1-minute walk to the metro, and you get to many places in just a few stops for only a few dollars.

From the airport, take the airport express train to Kowloon station (about $10-12 per person depending on whether you're buying round trip or single journey), and then the free shuttle bus straight to the hotel. That's very convenient, comfortable and fast (<24 minute train ride plus a few minutes for the bus). Or you could save some money by taking a taxi to Tung Chung (maybe $5) and taking the metro from there (about $2 per person, and 35 minutes; exit D). Or you can take the airport express bus (A21) for about $5 per person (maybe 40 minutes total). I've done all three and they are all good options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I want to thank City View Hotel for upgrading us to Executive room without cost because of my Birthday. That is very sweet of them :)
Location of the Hotel is awesome; Near to Yau Ma Tei MTR station. It's within walking distance if you plan to take the Airport Bus (A21) to the Hotel.
We were also happy to find alot of good food around the Hotel - There is a famous porridge just across the Hotel, you guys should try if you're there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eljaytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room was small and dated, although clean and tidy. We had requested a double, but got a twin. We arrived after a very long day, so did not complain as that would have entailed going back downstairs, so that was probably our fault. Free wifi was included, but breakfasts were not. The staff were friendly and helpful. They advertise having an indoor pool and gym, The reality appears to be that these are run by the YMCA, so when we went to use them, the pool was full of children having lessons, and although we were welcome to lane swim, it was far from a relaxing private hotel pool. The gym was a similar story - used by many YMCA members, leaving limited space for hotel guests. It felt like going to a public gym. It was a great location, moments away from Yau Ma Tei tube station, 20 minutes walk from the ferry/art centre/festival of lights, and half way between the Night Market and Ladies Market.

Room Tip: Specify what you want when you check in, as you are given the key once completing check in formaliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your reviews and your reviews and expectations has brought to our close attention.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,911 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,642 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#82 of 717 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#120 of 717 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing