We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #79 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spend a total of 6 nights at this hotel. It is very near the MTR. Got a room at the old wing (they added a new wing) but the room is still very spacious & clean. Just a note, there is a HKD5/ luggage/ day if you wanna ask them to keep your luggage overnight (but heard it is a common practice for HK hotels)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellelimsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 2,459 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel location is very convenient, within 10min to nearest MTR. Special thanks go to hotel concierge team who are all very helpful, more than willing to help with the many luggage bags I had as I moved rooms 3 times. They are also very courteous and with bright smiles. Hotel rooms are much bigger than other hotels at same price, and are clean and neat. I will definitely come back again every year.

Room Tip: Room 2115 Is great. Premier rooms are newly renovated compared to deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillypiggy6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at The Cityview. Your kind comments regarding the Concierge team have been passed on to them. Thank you and look forward to be at your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. Just a minute walk away from Yau Ma Tei MTR which makes travelling convenient. Not forgetting that the hotel is a stop on the free airport express shuttle. Walking distance to Ladies market, temple street, langham place - different kind of shopping.

Wifi speed is good as well and a good room size, considering it's HK. Did not try the breakfast as there were other food choices available in the streets.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your kind reviews and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

You cannot beat the price for this hotel in Hong Kong., Very conveniently located about a two minute walk from the MTR station. I had a room on the 20th floor which gave me a great view of Hong Kong. Room was clean with all the ammenities. Not a fancy hotel, more practical and important for me the room was very clean, Plus you are also surrounded by restaurants etc. Wifi in room was also great. In the morning took the free shuttle to the Airport Station in Kowloon. Will definitely stay there the next time i am in Hong Kong. I consider this a hidden gem in Hong Kong.
Did not eat breakfast as i had an early flight so i cannot make a review on the food.

Room Tip: Try get one of the higher numbered rooms 20 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoneEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

It's great to have you with us, thank you and we sincerely hope to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I spent 6 nights at Cityview hotel for my entire family vacation in Hong Kong and Macao. Firstly, I was impressed with the good follow up emails sent by the hotel staffs to re confirm my flight details, special needs and the clear instruction on the mode to reach the hotel. I gotten another surprise as my room was being upgraded FOC upon checked in. The hotel staffs are generally friendly and helpful, from the front office, concierge to housekeeping etc.

The room I stayed was roomy per HK standard. Cleaningness was generally good. There was free Wifi provided and generally the connection and speed was good and stable, despite of there were 2-3 occasions of re- setting up is required to reconnect to the Wifi network.

I like the most of its strategic location. It just right in front of the MTR Yau Ma Tei station D-exit. We easily get connected with all the planned attractions spot with MTR. I purchased the airport express package with 3 days (in fact it is 4 days as it expire in the end of the 4th day or 72 hrs) free ride with MTR.

There are many restaurants within working distance of the hotel. I tried many restaurants during my stays and they generally provide good quality of food yet reasonable price.

The only downside I would like to commen is its air conditioning control system. There is a temperature control switch but it was not working. We realized in the second day that there is manual (low medium high) button control of the blower speed available. It is not a major problem to me but good if it can make clear to the guest through signage or pre inform.

In summary, it is a good hotel to be recomended and I certainly will stay in this hotel again in my next trip to HK.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choonwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and your compliments on our services, high cleanliness standard and hotel great location shall be a significantly important to us.
We sincerely hope we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first time traveling to Hong Kong so I didn't know the area very well. However, The Cityview was pleasantly easy to find. It is very close to the Yau Ma Tei MTR Subway station which makes transportation very easy and convenient. There are a ton of restaurants nearby catering to every type of palate. Overall, the rooms were quite spacious with good amenities such as slippers, room safe, etc. Would definitely come back here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alphawolf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel is locate near MRT and Chinese restuarant in front of hotel , The room is good and tidy. I like my room . Maid came to clean my room everyday and they gave bottle of drinking water when i took it to travl. All facilities are good. I requested high floor and big bed and i got it .

Reception is friendly for man but for women are not as i talked with.

Totally i like it and will be back to stay for sure.

thank you all

Room Tip: High floors is good to see view outside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chamjin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and we look forward to be at your service again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#115 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,755 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#31 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,230 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#101 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,988 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#127 of 723 in Hong Kong
271 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £70 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing