We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #85 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went holiday with friends (couples) in June 2014. Loved this hotel primarily for its location, it's right next to Yau Ma Tei subway station. Alternatively, taking a walk straight down the main road easily gets you to the shopping districts (Jordon, Tsim Tsai Tsui). Close to public transport and is a hotel on the Airport Express which is the best way to get to and from the airport. The room was okay as there was enough room for our bags. The service of the staff throughout the hotel was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again. There are also many eating places situated close to the hotel. The hotel also offers a reasonably-priced international buffet too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ameleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your reviews and pleased to note you enjoyed your stay at The Cityview and particularly value our hotel great location and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 20-23 June 2014. Same as the others review. We choosed this hotel cause it is near to the MTR station and it is the 1st stop if you use airport express. But once we opened the room (1518), we got a bad smell, like baby's pee. There were some stains on the carpet. The room was smaller than we thought especially our room located at triangle of the hotel.
And the worst once we went to sleep at night, 3 of 4 pillows were so smelly. And the blanket too. We talked to the one of cleaning staff we met at the next morning, she was very kind and helpful. She changed all the pillows sheet. Put some towels on the pillow, but still can not help. The smell were soaked.
Except the smelly room, pillows and blanket,we enjoyed to stay there. But won't come again for sure

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mei2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments of our hotel great location and good service.
We immediately conducted a thorough inspection once we noted your valuable comments concerning the smelly pillow cases and duvet and found out it may caused by the natural scent of down duvet. Your concern has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper and foam pillow and blanket will be an alternative for your next vist with us.
Thank you and we hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed as a couple in March 2014 in a double room.

Loved this hotel primarily for its location, it's right next to Yau Ma Tei subway station. Alternatively, taking a walk straight down the main road easily gets you to the shopping districts (Jordon, Tsim Tsai Tsui) and eventually ending at the Victoria harbour. Getting to the hotel from the airport via the public bus was also a breeze, as the bus stops very near to the hotel.

There are also many eating places situated close to the hotel, including a popular porridge joint (p.s. porridge was cheap and good) located right opposite the hotel's main entrance. The hotel also offers a reasonably-priced international buffet.

However, on the downside, the hotel is located right opposite a fire station, so if you are a light sleeper, this may be an issue as you're going to be hearing sirens going off once in a while (though this frequency drops in the night). Also, I would say the room is pretty small, however, believe this is so for most hotels in hong kong, especially those located in the shopping areas. Service by the hotel staff was fast and efficient, but don't expect anything more than that.

On the whole, for the price point offered, this is a good place to consider especially if you are intending to do a bit of shopping in the Kowloon area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jzengj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Cityview Hong Kong for your recent stay in Hong Kong and look forward to be at your service again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a stopover. The hotel is in a great location. Close to public transport and is a hotel on the Airport Express which is the best way to get to and from the airport. We had room 8020 it is small, however it still was okay as there was enough room for our bags. It was the space between the bed and the wall TV which was the problem and the bed was a little hard for us. The buffet breakfast was really good both Asian and western. The service of the staff throughout the hotel was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabbityanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for informing us your comments on the hard bed and your compliments on our great services and buffet breakfast.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Check-in was smooth, polite receptionists.
Room small but size ok for Hong Kong downtown.
3 minutes walk to MTR.
Room was neat and cleaned very well everyday.
Lobby has simple but nice ambiance.

Can't comment about other services as we did not use them.
Will stay thee again if rate remain reasonable.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blk344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews and sincerely hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 6 days with my 5 yr old son.
The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The location is very convenient and accessible to all the different places; ocean park, Disneyland, the Peak, etc.
There are eateries next to the hotel and convenience stores.
It's also near to the ladies street market.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rachel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are delighted to have you with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spend a total of 6 nights at this hotel. It is very near the MTR. Got a room at the old wing (they added a new wing) but the room is still very spacious & clean. Just a note, there is a HKD5/ luggage/ day if you wanna ask them to keep your luggage overnight (but heard it is a common practice for HK hotels)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellelimsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your reviews. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,429 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 729 in Hong Kong
704 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#126 of 729 in Hong Kong
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#99 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,131 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,906 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#34 of 729 in Hong Kong
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £67 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cityview strives to provide the very finest in high quality, cosy and verdant accommodation as well as memorable dining experiences. We are your home away from home, offering you the ideal location and professional attentive services. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing