We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hotel room ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #88 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and nice hotel room ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The location is super good very near to mtr and took the airport express bus just stop in front the hotel and come very 20min.
Room is nice as the hotel staff upgrade me to executive room. New and very clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and They even help you to bring your luggage to the bus just a very small complain is that while waiting for the bus to airport just suggest that put some chairs there for customers to seat down and that will be prefect. This my second time staying in this hotel and the service have improve a lot compare to last year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank joetwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and support over the past years-it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    1,154
    365
    59
    29
See reviews for
531
618
219
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very convenient location. Average sized room for HK.

Pro:
- Walking distance to Yau Ma Tei MTR.
- Welcome Supermarket around corner.
- Lots of food options within walking distance.
- Hotel staff courteous and helpful.

Con:
- The bathroom had many fruit flies
- Room a bit damp

Overall: Would stay here again because good location. Hope fruit flies was one time issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Your valuable comments concerning the fruit flies in the room has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we will have a chance to welcoming you to The Cityview again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was in a great location very close (1-2 minutes) to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station. There is also a free shuttle bus that will drop you off at the hotel if you take the Airport Express train from Hong Kong airport to Kowloon station.

The only negative thing about my stay was the check in service. I booked a deluxe room (19 square metres) and was given a superior room (13 square metres). We did not realise this until a few hours later as we were tired from our 10 hour flight. When I went down to the front desk to tell them about this mistake, the lady immediately apologised and changed our room the a deluxe room. Upon entering this first deluxe room, there was a very strong smell of smoke. I went down to the front desk again and spoke to the same personnel. This time, she tried to say it was a non-smoking room rather than offer to change us to another room immediately. I said I would like another room. She did not say a word, looked down and started typing on the computer. Five minutes later, I was given a keycard to another room, told my room number and that was it. No other words were spoken.

My tip to other travellers is to make sure you check that you are getting the correct room (that you have booked and paid for). There is a big difference between the superior and deluxe room in terms of size and comfort.

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room. The superior room is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLT1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It is with sincere regret that some of our staff is unfriendly and the lack of knowledge when communicating with our guest. Our objective is to ensure all employees are toally customer-focus and all guest concerns and requests are handled quickly and efficiently. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel room size is decent and clean. Hotel is conveniently located 5 minutes walk to the MTR. A 20 minutes walk will take you to Tsim Sha Tsui and other shopping area.
Will stay again when I visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are delighted to have you with us and look forward to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is located nearby mtr station. For the accomodation is really nice and clean also i got free wifi connection during my stay.

If i visit Hongkong again, i will not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: For your information i stayed in the non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was in Hong Kong for 4days3nights and from many reviews, we decide to choose The Cityview hotel as our accomodation. We were very satisfied with this choice, the hotel is within walking distance to Yau Ma Tei MTR, the room is quite spacious and the service of the staffs are execellent. Their recovery service is prompt and helpful. I paid for trasport to and fro online when i booked the room, however, the transport staffs at airport cannot find our record. When we reached the hotel, the manager immediately came to ne and check on the transport. Told them about the inccident at airport and they refunded me the fees i paid at airport on the same day. I definitely will stay at this hotel when i visit Hong Kong again and i strongly recommend this hotel to others whom r going Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggyqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your reviews and great to learn that you had a pleasurable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went holiday with friends (couples) in June 2014. Loved this hotel primarily for its location, it's right next to Yau Ma Tei subway station. Alternatively, taking a walk straight down the main road easily gets you to the shopping districts (Jordon, Tsim Tsai Tsui). Close to public transport and is a hotel on the Airport Express which is the best way to get to and from the airport. The room was okay as there was enough room for our bags. The service of the staff throughout the hotel was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again. There are also many eating places situated close to the hotel. The hotel also offers a reasonably-priced international buffet too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ameleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your reviews and pleased to note you enjoyed your stay at The Cityview and particularly value our hotel great location and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#23 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#125 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#85 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,774 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing