We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can definitely stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #83 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The best part of city view is that it's bang next to the MTR station...the bus stations are also close by...night market if you are interested is just 10 minutes by walk...hotel itself seems a bit old but rooms are fairly well maintained.

Rooms are a bit small but bigger by Hong Kong standards.they have tried to utilise available space well

The front desk have been quite responsive over email and check in was very quick for me though expect longer queue as this hotel is quite busy always

Only gripe though was their travel desk which was manned by some really inefficient and indifferent staff. They gave me wrong information on both the days which led to me wasting quite a bit of time walking around in hot sun. Would be better if they just admitted they dont know rather than give wrong info.

Overall, would definitel stay here again if I visit Kowloon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srinivasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

It is with sincere regret that we note your disstisfaction of the tour desk service, we are sorry that some of our staff is lack of knowledge when communicating with our guest. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid similiar incident in the future. Thank you and we wish we will have a chance to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel very close to train station, Convenience store, shopping street, night market or even if you looking for something to eat is just around you by walk. Really recommend 2. I was visit HK foe 2 times and yes!!! stay here for 2 times too and really sure that for my next visit i will stay here for sure!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lucky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us again and great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I choose this hotel as it is very near to MTR station and it has free wifi in the room.
Booked the hotel online, the booking was responsed promptly and the staff Winnie liaised patiently with me through email, answering all my inquiries on confirmation of my booking.
The checking-in process was speedly. I booked a twin room and was given free upgraded to a superior room on the 16th floor. The room was spacious, neat and clean. All the staffs inbcluding the house keepers are polite.
I really like its lcoation, just a minute to the nearest Yau Ma Tei MTR staion and a convenient store 7Eleven just behind the hotel. Many eateries around the hotel and the busy shopping street Nathan Road is just one street behind the hotel. It's also a station for the free airport express bus. Nice experience staying here.
I have recommended this hotel to my friend going HK next month and will definitely come back when I next visit HK.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EstherHSHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our hotel great location and good service. Your kind comment to Winnie from Reservation has been passed on to her.
Thank you and hope we will have a chance to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here a 5th time, after frequenting other hotels in MK and TSC for past 2 years. We arrived here after taking the free shuttle service K5 from Kowloon Station (via the Airport Express).
It is refreshing to be back and was pleasantly surprised to notice that there is free wi-fi available at rooms now. Also the “security” portion of the hotel seems to have improved, which is good for tourists like us.
We stayed for 4 nights and gotten a free upgrade to a Deluxe room. Not much room view even when we are at Level 8 but is ok since we are out most of the time.
Still very like the idea that it is just 3 mins from one of the many YMT’s MTR exit, and that it is surrounded by 茶餐厅 eateries and also nearby Temple St provides easy availability for food (especially supper). Location is the main reason why we stayed repeatedly here.

Good experience and stay.!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We are glad to have you with us again and thank you for your loyalty and support to The Cityview over the past years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just arrived after a long haul flight at 11pm, our pre booked double superior room was 'unavailable'...was given a twin room, not acceptable and apparently the hotel was booked out. Then a double room suddenly became available...the tiniest most weirdly shaped corner room imaginable. There was no room for two suitcases...were jumping over them for our two day stay. Service was lack lustre, the wait for taxis terrible. The location was good, next to the more gritty end of the tourist track, within walking distance of all of the interesting street markets. There were plenty of authentic eateries all within a small walking distance. We were glad to leave the hotel and dreaded coming back on the return journey. We emailed in advance to re confirm our room booking and asked about a room upgrade to a larger room. This was obliged with a $50nz upgrade fee.....was soooo worth it. Was a little more comfortable on the way home with the slightly bigger space. Would personally not stay here again.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are too small for two travellers' with a suitcase each - upgrade to a bigger room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your reviews and the less desirable experience you described causes us deep concern. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment that have caused you and rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We primarily chose Cityview as we were travelling to Hong Kong on a budget, and this hotel seemed to offer good value for money. It is situated in Kowloon, with easy access to the MTR (Metro/Subway) - the nearest one, which we used frequently was Yau Ma Tei, which gives easy access directly across to Hong Kong; or if you prefer, you can take the MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui and then you have the option of getting the Star Ferry (which is very cheap) across the Harbour. The hotel is in a lively part of Kowloon and has a handy 7 Eleven convenience store across the road, just on the corner. Mong Kok is just along the road, with a great busy shopping street and plenty of cafes and places to eat/drink. Good shopping mall just along the road as well. All in all, plenty of local amenities and places to go to keep you occupied all day and night! The room itself was quiety, clean, with facilities to make hot drinks, air-con and a good shower. My only criticism would be the bed, which though very clean and fresh, I found to be quite hard. Nevertheless, I always enjoyed coming back to my room after a hot, humid day of exploring all Hong Kong has to offer! Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Cityview; we would certainly stay again, if we are lucky enough to one day return to Hong Kong, and we would recommend this hotel, with confidence, to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly refurbished, modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Team_Inverglesga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Your reviews mean a lots to us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at The Cityview Hong Kong from Jul 16 to Jul 19. Hotel is very near MTR which made it so convenient for us to get around. Front desk staffs very also helpful, and I was also very impressed with one of the staffs(sad to say I had forgotten his name) who had made it a point to ensure that I had a pleasant stay with The Cityview Hong Kong. Oh, I also had my room upgraded from a Deluxe room to an Executive room :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileen_tay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your kind reviews and looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,386 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 730 in Hong Kong
699 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#127 of 730 in Hong Kong
290 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,859 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £71 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. The Cityview strives to provide the very finest in high quality, cosy and verdant accommodation as well as memorable dining experiences. We are your home away from home, offering you the ideal location and professional attentive services. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing