We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dim Sum”

The London Restaurant
Ranked #238 of 8,526 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mong Kok
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Chance upon this restaurant as we were walking along Nathan Road. Saw a few elderly folks waiting for the lift and happen to ask the waitress standing there. She mentioned there is Dim Sum on the 3rd /4th Floor and so we proceeded to go with the crowd.
Sat down with a given table and the waiter came with a white card. Each time we order a dish from the push card auntie, she will stamp a number on your card. This card is to be presented to the waitress when paying for the bill. We spend a total of HKD480 for 4 adults & 2 kids.
Please note that you can order a-la-carte dishes should you not want to get from the push-carts.
Dim Sum is good...not like those laden with MSG (where you feel thirsty after a meal).
Atmosphere is noisy but is a good experience. Beware...some auntie waitresses are very rude and impatient when you asked a little more about the type of dishes she has on the cart.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    152
    62
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of few push cart Dim Sum you can still find in HK”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is one restaurant i go to everytime i'm in HK. Dim Sum are tasty, economical (weekdays before 11am) and you see the dim sum push carts selling their different treats. YOu will appreciate it more if you are cantonese speaking. If not, just point and order. You be given a white card where all food orders will be stamped and recorded for billing. Don't be surprised if you have to share a table, its quite common in HK. Once you are seated, you be asked for your tea choice and you will served with 2 pots, 1 with tea, 1 with hot water. You wash your utensils in a bowl with the tea (1st brew are usually not drunk) and the waitress will clear the bowl once you are done. Then pour the hot water into the tea pot. everytime you need hot water, just leave the lid off the pot and they will top up for you.

Dim Sum choices are plenty and i would recommend the steam milk in coconut with bird nest,
This is where the locals eat so you will get to see the everyday hong kongers "Yum Cha" routine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papacheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place full of locals!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is where the locals go to eat lunch. The place is really big so it's rare if there is a wait. The foods is very local. I've been going here every time I've been in Hong Kong. The price is not cheap. It's a standard price for hk restaurant. We paid 200 HKD for 2 and we were stuffed! I'll be back one more time before I leave. They speak Englishso it's fforeigner welcome. The experience is great for a foreigner. Its loud, it's full of energy and it's traditional with the grandmas rolling the food carts full of yummy food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just like nothing else”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went to this restaurant with some local friends' and what an experience. Three massive floors of local diners' and us. Not many frills included but the food and value is very good.
Simply, I have never seen anything the size of this restaurant before, but not to be put off by the size of the place, the food and value is what it's about.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry_eight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food. Slow delivery”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Decent food. Slow delivery. Can't believe we waited 20 to 30 minutes between several dishes. Whole meal took hours and way too long!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The London Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The London Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing