We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #193 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice to stay and very clean. Small in size, double room looks like a single room. Many restaurants around this place, but need to walk at least 10 min from near by MTR stations. I may consider this hotel for next time. Value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinnuperiyu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Chinnuperiyu 26

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With best wishes for the new year
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel staff are ok and operate like a budget hotel. 13 mins walk to Monkok MTR or 10 mins walk to Olympic MTR. Not easy to find the hotel at night as I experienced it when check in. Many shops and food outlets available around the hotel. Room and toilet are small as usual in HK. May consider again for next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear KHChia

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong; and we certainly look forward to your return visit soon.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is in North-West Kowloon and the location is not very pleasant (surrounded by hardware shops). I was expecting a bigger room for USD 150 I spent here. However, there was not enough elbow room anywhere. The nearest market (Mong Kok) is around 1 km.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Anurag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Anurag B

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay and we do apologise that you did not find the hotel conducive to your needs.

The location of the hotel is one of our key points as it is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. We also offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to designated locations for our guests.

In regards to the room size, unfortunately, there's nothing much we can do about this factor; and this scenario is similar to most hotels in Hong Kong. We do have however, different room categories in our hotel to cater to the needs of our guests; and where we lack in this area; we do try to make up for in other aspects such as the convenient location of our hotel, support service from our team members and offering full hotel service even though our hotel is a value-led hotel; to name a few.

However, I do apologise for the fact that you did not quite enjoyed your stay with us; and if there's anything that we can assist for your future visit, please do not hesitate to be in contact with barry.lo@silkahotels.com

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is well located in a busy but not crazy area close to Olympic and Monkok MTR stations. There are lots of nice and modestly priced restaurants near by. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free wifi in the rooms is very good. My room was small but had everything I needed. The bathroom was very small but the shower was excellent! The room was made up every day but the carpet, net curtains and window in the room weren't too clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear KJWilsOn

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us recently and that our team contributed in ensuring a memorable stay experience. We thank you too for your feedback in regards to the carpet and such; and will address this matter with our Housekeeping team.

Allow us to take this opportunity to wish you and your family, a very Merry Christmas and a fabulous New Year.

Regards
Richard Kwong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the beginning,I could have chosen Anne Black YWCA but then I saw this hotel the very last week and decided to try it for 4 nights which I presumed I made the right choice. Though the room is liten but good enough to accomodate both of us Asiatic sizes. Bed is okay though may be hard for some. Toilet & bathroom with hot shower are exceptionally cleaned daily. Though bathroom is quite small,toothbrushes,soaps,shampoo & etc are all provided for a bathroom should be. Service is satisfactory with polite,helpful staff. Though no breakfast is provided,there is plenty of eateries around the hotel and nearby Mong Kok area. One more thing,the hotel provides free shuttle "Drop-off/Pick-up" from Kowloon Airport Express Station-Hotel Silka West Kowloon & Silka Sea View Kowloon free. Moreover the shuttle provides free "drop-off" at Langham Place(Mong Kok) & Hong Kong-Macau/ China Ferry Terminal if one wants to travel to Macau. This hotel is situated near Mong Kok and other tourist sightseeing spots. I would recommend this hotel if money is not an issue about US$100 per night for a doubleroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaiMS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Lai M

It is always a pleasure to receive good news and indeed, my team and I are happy to learn that you were a 'happy camper' and have enjoyed your stay with us recently.

While we are positioned as a valued-led hotel, we do take pride in ensuring that our services and facilities are above and beyond guests' expectations; and we thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We look forward to be of service to you again on your return trip to Hong Kong.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

During my check in, my reservation was held with my hanyu pinyin surname and the staff handling my check in said I am not supposed to use my hanyu pinyin name to do booking. This is a legitimate name in my ic, I have been to other countries checking in with this website reservation and never face a problem. I was very tired after my trip and just wanted to check in and have a rest but your staff demanded I show him other proof of identification. Luckily I have my driving license with me, if I didn't have ,does it mean I will be denied entry to your hotel despite I have paid up through the Internet booking. Finally when I showed him my license I was informed I should book using my dialect name in future.anyway thanks for that reminder n I will not be booking your hotel anymore even if it's on a big sale for the hotel price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear dawn45

Please accept my sincere apologies on the unpleasant encounter that you have experienced during your recent stay with us. I do believe there must be some form of miscommunication and whilst I am not trying to make any excuses, please allow me to investigate this further and if you can email to my Resident Manager at barry.lo@silkahotels.com your email address, we will be more than happy to revert with you once we have concluded our findings.

Thank you for your feedback and again, my sincere apologies.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The staff is not friendly, specially the concierge staff; he was very rude with us. The rooms are VERY small. The beds are unconfortable. The only positive thing of this hotel is the shuttle bus service.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivettenieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear ivettenieves

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. However, we noticed that you have been staying at different Silka Hotels within the same month ie Silka West Kowloon and Silka Seaview. We do appreciate constructive comments such as yours as it is through such feedbacks are we able to move forward.

May I invite you to email to Barry Lo, my Resident Manager at barry.lo@silkahotels.com to share an in-depth insight into your experiences so that we can put in place measurements to address the various areas that are not up to expectations.

Thanking you in advance for your time and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Silka Seaview Hotel
#187 of 729 in Hong Kong
941 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#128 of 729 in Hong Kong
904 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#213 of 729 in Hong Kong
535 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#176 of 729 in Hong Kong
677 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £36 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing