We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #199 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice and well decorated. I was so impressed with this hotel ( nice lobby and modern, clean room).The front desk staff not that helpful but overall would recommend hotel. They usually have some pretty good deals on there. I will be going there on my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malocca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear malocca

It's always good to know that we have happy campers and thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again; and thank you too for being our 'ambassador'.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our family of four (with 2 kids ages 8 and 4) stayed here from 8-12 of February 2014. We requested for a non-smoking room and we were given the non-smoking room in a non-smoking floor (12th floor). We didn't smell any smoke/cigarette at all. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is very near to the MTR Olympic station and Olympian City mall. Very near also to Cherry Park. A little far to MTR Mongkok station but can be reached also by walking. A lot of traditional Chinese restos/food establishments are also near the area. Peaceful surroundings, not so many people walk around the streets. Looking outside the window we had a good view of the city. Every day beds were made up, bathroom was cleaned, toiletries (toothbrush and toothpaste, shampoo, bath gel) were replenished and they gave ample supply of clean towels.

There are only 2 things we didn't like. First, the bathroom floor got wet every day when we took a bath because the shower area is just like a square meter. But they also provided small towel to use on the floor so we won't slip. Second, I guess they didn't vacuum/clean the carpet daily because when we checked under the bed, before we left, there were soft drink cans stuck and those drinks we brought when we arrived (after 4 days).

Will definitely stay here again if ever we go back to HK. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Yen M

Thank you so much for your compliments in regards to our hotel's facilities and we are happy to learn that overall our level of services and facilities were up to your expectation.

In regards to the housekeeping matters, this will be addressed with the team concerned. Meanwhile, should you be coming this way again, we look forward to seeing you in our hotel.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is not too far from the Olympic station, which allows to go directly to Hong Kong island. The room was small but very clean, and the staff friendly. There is a buffet for breakfast, but it is a little too expensive in my opinion.
We stayed here for 6 nights, in the end the price was definitely okay, and the hotel didn't boost its price for Chinese New Year.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Charles

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to learn that you have an enjoyable experience with us.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed in Silka West for 5 nights during End Dec 2013. I have to say its a pleasant stay.

Room Size: Typical small Hongkong hotel room but bigger than those bird-cage apartments.

Cleanliness: Very Clean, The cleaners make sure our messy rooms are cleaned daily.

Toliet: Small,provide toothbrush ,tooth paste , conditioner, hair dryer

TV: Got around 20 channels to choose, some channels are blurry due to poor reception ,got cable channels!

Staff: Friendly !, unlike the usual unfriendly Hong Kong customer service staff

Location: Not easy to walk from Olympic Station. In fact I took 18 min to walk, perhaps I look a longer route. I think its nearer to Mongkok MTR, around 10-15 min to walk to Mongkok MTR.
I think they should advise the guest on how to walk from Mong Kok MTR to the hotel instead of Olympic station. The shuttle service makes up for it.

Nothing to walk around the vicinity of the hotel , but there are several nice dessert shops that opened till 1am close to the hotel. Must try Dessert Prince.!!

Price: $100 SGD /Night during Dec period. About the same price as some shabby bird-caged apartment in Mongkok, so its worth it.

Plus point:There are free hourly shuttle bus that brings you to Mongkok
, Yau Mei Tai, Kowloon, TST, very convenient as there is a airport transfer in Kowloon

Negative Point: Faulty telephone ,The fast dial button links you to another guestroom instead of the reception. The technician says cannot be repaired. Bed is quite hard

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Its in Olympic/Mongkok area - about 5 minutes walk from Olympic station or 10 mins walk from Mongkok.
The hotel is basic but perfectly functional. The rooms are very small, but you can walk all the way around the bed (yes, I really have stayed in hotels in Hong Kong where you could not walk around the bed!) so not excessively small. The bathroom was small but there is space for a wash kit by the basin (just about). Provides all the normal amenities (toiletries, kettle, tea/office, TV etc). Internet is free and worked fine. The desk is tiny - I would not want to try working in the room for more than 5 minutes (I did, but not for long). Husband and I both stayed there - which was crowded - a single would probably be much easier!
Only annoying thing was that they would not give us two keys, which since we were travelling separately the next morning was pretty irritating. Never had that problem before in a hotel!
I paid HKD560 all-in for this hotel - which is pretty cheap for a HongKong hotel. So - basic but perfectly acceptable for the price paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairhsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Fairhsa

We are happy to learn that overall you have found our hotel to be ideal and functional in meeting your expectations. In regards to the extra room key card issue, please allow me to look into this and we will rectify this accordingly.

Best regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice to stay and very clean. Small in size, double room looks like a single room. Many restaurants around this place, but need to walk at least 10 min from near by MTR stations. I may consider this hotel for next time. Value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinnuperiyu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Chinnuperiyu 26

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

With best wishes for the new year
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel staff are ok and operate like a budget hotel. 13 mins walk to Monkok MTR or 10 mins walk to Olympic MTR. Not easy to find the hotel at night as I experienced it when check in. Many shops and food outlets available around the hotel. Room and toilet are small as usual in HK. May consider again for next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear KHChia

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong; and we certainly look forward to your return visit soon.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Silka Seaview Hotel
#185 of 730 in Hong Kong
936 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#129 of 730 in Hong Kong
896 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#210 of 730 in Hong Kong
532 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#175 of 730 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#212 of 730 in Hong Kong
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £38 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing