We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY STAY AT SILKA WEST KOWLOON HOTEL - HONGKONG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #190 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MY STAY AT SILKA WEST KOWLOON HOTEL - HONGKONG”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hi! NIce cosy hotel. Friendly staff and very close to Olympic MTR. The room is so clean and
so comfortable. Its relatively a large room with twin bedding. Very close to shopping amenities too.
Would recommend friends to stay there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger and have large windows too. The windows have panels which you could pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear 1958_28

Thank you so much for the nice compliments accorded to us. We are happy to learn that we were able to make your visit to Hong Kong and stay at our hotel a memorable one.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    169
    162
    48
    17
See reviews for
81
123
53
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Pol de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Nice hotel with small but clean and modern rooms. Everything worked well and the view from the window was fine. Wifi worked well, and there are bakeries and grocery stores nearby if you get hungry.

If you are using the MTR- note that it is a good 10 minute walk to the MTR; perhaps taxi is more convenient.

I was disappointed to get a smoking room although I had specified a non-smoking room, but it seems reservations are just suggestions and not binding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taolxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Taolxd

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities are up to your expectations.

However, we do apologise our the room allocation. We do our utmost best to assign rooms based on guest's request and in this instance, we truly did run out of non-smoking rooms.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel, everything is close by, or just a 10 min walk down the road.
The staff where always very helpful, The beds are a little hard to sleep on and didn't do my back any good, but its just a place to sleep because there is so much to see and do around the area.
I would recommend this for a few days stay.
The ladies market, MRT, Temples and many attractions are around the hotel for a good day out to explore.

Room Tip: The single rooms had quite a bit of space and a ledge to put your luggage which helped a lot as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Skye

It's always good to have happy campers and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip.

Thank you for your positive comments and this shall be shared with your team members.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

stayed there for two nights.. as expected the room is really small with a small bed and really small bathroom.. it is clean and the location is convenient within walking distance to mrt station and not too far from the shopping area.. the hotel also provides free shuttle bus.. overall it is quite a good deal considering the rate and location.. however not recommended if you are traveling with small children or bring lots of stuffs as the room is really small..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Verline

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay with us recently. The hotel's location is indeed one of our unique selling point nnd we are also happy to learn that your have found our services sufficient in meeting your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 2 nights during our first visit to HK which was booked via tour package by travel agency. Hotel is walking distance to Olympic Station, 7-Eleven and McDonald’s, had trouble finding the MTR at first but it’s quite easy once you become familiar with the surroundings. Ladies Market is also very accessible, it cost us about 25HKD (with tip) to get to the hotel from a night of shopping. As expected, the room was quite small with little space but comfortable enough for a night’s sleep. Bathroom was acceptable – it was fairly clean with flowing hot water but the lavatory emitted a distinct odor which was quite tolerable as I packed a can of disinfectant spray (yes, I’m not a light traveler, I come prepared LOL). We weren’t able to enjoy the buffet breakfast as much because our tours were booked very early but the staff was kind enough to prepare us some sandwiches (which was delicious by the way!) and canned juices to take on our trip.

Overall, this hotel is very ideal if you’ll be out and about for the most part and the main purpose of your stay is to shop around Mongkok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I went to hong kong with my 2 yr old baby and husband for a 1 night stay.The room was really small but had all the basic amenities.The service was good.It is near the olympic MTR station about 5 min walk from wher you can go to lantau island.Its about 20 min drive from tsim sha sui.The Hotel is good if you are alone or you are staying for 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rics157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dedar rics157

Thank you for staying with us and it's good to learn that you found our facilities adequate in meeting your needs; and the location of the hotel convenient for your Hong Kong exploration.

We look forward to your return visit when you next visit Hong Kong.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Silka West is a cheap but perfectly comfortable hotel close to Olympic MTR station in Kowloon. I am led to believe that what with space at such a premium in central Hong Kong one mustn't expect too much in terms of size when it comes to their hotel room.

You can no doubt imagine how pleasantly surprised I was when I found there was enough room to get to both sides of the bed - but only just! The wardrobe consisted of a small recess and whilst the room did have a desk there was no space for a chair or a chest of drawers for that matter.

With a room this small it would be too much too expect a bathtub or even walls thick enough to adequately sound proof the room. But not all was lost; the shower was lovely and powerful with the usual amenities on hand. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the WiFi was fast and free.

I didn't expect a view from the window and what I got was a lookout of a courtyard between several very close together tower blocks.

It sounds like I might hate this hotel but I don't. The room really wasn't t hat bad - it was clean and the materials used were good quality. What more could you expect at the rates the management charge at this establishment?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wowzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear wowzimmer

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Hong Kong. It's heartening to know that overall you have had an enjoyable staying experience with us and certainly, we hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the city.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#173 of 718 in Hong Kong
885 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#216 of 718 in Hong Kong
513 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Silka Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#188 of 718 in Hong Kong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Property: Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing