We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You guys weren't kidding about the bed! Great location though...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Hotel
Ranked #226 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You guys weren't kidding about the bed! Great location though...”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We just got home from 3 hectic days of fun and lots of eating!!!

West Hotel is located a short walk away from Jordan Station, which meant that it was cheaper than the hotels nearer to Jordan. The affordable A22 bus to the airport was efficient and easy to negotiate from the hotel. There was a cheap dimsum place just across from the hotel - great for breakfast!

But you guys weren't kidding about the rock-hard beds!!! We generally like a firm mattress but this was beyond firm! The best bed in the room turned out to be the sofa bed!

Bathrooms were clean and acceptable. Carpets fairly clean. The single computer with Internet connection at the lobby was okay for us.

All in all we had a good time....but they really need to do something about those beds :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    60
    58
    10
    9
See reviews for
42
24
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Whenever I look back at the time I spent at The West Hotel, I immediately think of the rock hard bed. It was so hard I filmed myself punching it just to show people back home because it literally didn’t move! The bathroom was fine and there was a TV in the room too.
There is a single computer with internet access by reception which they let you use for free and the location was actually pretty good because it was close to the Jade Market, the ferry for Hong Kong island was within walking distance, but there was also an MTR (metro) just down the road if you’re feeling lazy.
I was staying here as it was the start of my Hong Kong to China tour, so it’s okay if you’re on a budget. But I can’t stress enough how uncomfortable the beds are! The night before I came here I stayed at The CityView Hotel and I would definitely choose that one over this!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The west hotel is ok - you could do better, you could do worse. The room is small but clean. The bed is HARD!! There is a shared pc with Internet access. It is quite a walk to Victoria harbour, but a subway station is close. If you can get a room cheaply, take it. Otherwise, you can probably find better.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveryOtherYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luoyang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel was in a good location, but the service was terrible. The staff was rude and did not have any tourist information on hand. We asked them for suggestions on good places to eat and they told us we should figure it out on our own. We asked for the ferry times for Shenzhen and they refused to help us find out. We had better customer service from a mall kiosk.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had a twin room with a roll away bed as there were 3 of us. The location is good, near to Jordan St & Nathan St & all the markets, shops & eateries around Jordan & Yau Ma Tei, very convenient! Room is spacious enough for Kowloon standard. Bathroom is also clean. The only downside is the bed, it is really hard! As some other reviewers commented, it doesn't feel like a mattress but more like a hard wooden plank box!! For those who can't tolerate sleeping on hard surface/bed, pls avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This Hotel is definetely the worse hotel i have ever stayed in during 20 years of travel to Hong Kong.
The rooms are extremely small, in fact you had to close the bathroom door to get to the sink to wash. The beds are very very hard and the carpets very Dirty.
If you want Internet in the room you had to pay a deposit for the cable....No WiFi
There are no Hotel porters to help carry the bags to the rooms, and if you are elderly this is not good.
The so called Business centre had only the use of 2 Desktop PC's which were constantly in use.
All in all a very badly run hotel and certainly one i would not recomend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarence67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I have been to HK before and was very aware of high prices and very small rooms. From the outside this hotel was nothing but we had a lovely big room with a double and a single bed and a sofa. It was very clear, beds were a bit hard but in comparison to some of the places we stayed in China this was luxury. It was about a 20 min walk down to the harbour and lots of shops along the way. The Irish bar was great for food and drinks and the Sheraton does amazing cocktails and you can watch the light show from there. Oh and free internet on 2nd floor was very useful!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassetsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 716 in Hong Kong
787 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#212 of 716 in Hong Kong
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#175 of 716 in Hong Kong
871 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#164 of 716 in Hong Kong
622 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
#254 of 716 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hotel

Property: West Hotel
Address: No.39 Wai Ching Street, Jordan Road, Yaumatei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing