We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect to sleep”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Diego Hotel Hongkong
Ranked #271 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dont expect to sleep”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I am writing this review from my room at the San Diego. The bed is like a boxspring with no mattress laying on the floor, and all night all you hear is banging and alarms. I have been here for 4 nights now and this is by far the worst hotel I have stayed at in the 10 years I have been traveling for work. The rooms are small and I have to straddle the toilet to close the bath room door to get in the shower. Oh ya dont expect your room to be cleaned on a daily basis either unless you ask for it. Otherwise the rest of Hong Kong is very pretty and very friendly!

Room Tip: Stay some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gastonglock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I travel to Hong Kong regularly to shop and eat world class food. My last trip ( oct. 2011 ) I made the mistake of staying at the San Diego hotel in Kowloon, the price was WAY too high for what I got. The room was $200 (US) per night, the most shocking part was they DO NOT clean your room unless you "make" them do it !! I was woke up in the middle of the night, EVERY night for my entire stay (5 nights) by a car alarm, I was told it was the hotel managers car and there was nothing they could do about it...........PLEASE save yourself from the huge disapointment and stay at; the Royal garden......Royal Pacific.....Even the 3 star BP international is VERY nice and is FULL SERVICE !!!!!

A DO NOT miss is the Ruth's Chris steak house in Kowloon, it's an American steak house ( the ONLY ) place in all of Asia that "flies-in" fresh US grade "A" steaks from the US "daily". The service is "world class" they are very in-tune with thier customers !! Every time I walk through the door they remember my name and "exactly" how I like things.....right down to the toppings on my baked potatoe !!!!!! Next time your in Kowloon stop by and let them know Patrick from Thailand sent you.....I promise you will return again and again.....THE VERY BEST of Hong Kong !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liveinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Have been staying at this hotel for te last 5 yr. Great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I was very diappointed at this hotel service and staff.

1. No housekeeping at 5pm.
I claimed, but they just say they'll do soon.
They should have appologized their fault.

2. DVD player corruption.
I had a cold, so I stayed at hotel at night watching DVD.
I'm afraid the DVD was broken.
So I asked them to replace it. But they just said no replacement.
It's ok that they have no replacement.

But they should have made me feel more comfortable.

Finally they changed the DVD player.

But anyway I hate the staff service. So awful...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptriptrip2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
#351 of 718 in Hong Kong
49 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#211 of 718 in Hong Kong
49 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
West Hotel
West Hotel
#302 of 718 in Hong Kong
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#385 of 718 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#185 of 718 in Hong Kong
107 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Chelsea Hotel
Chelsea Hotel
#348 of 718 in Hong Kong
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Hotel Hongkong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Hotel Hongkong

Property: San Diego Hotel Hongkong
Address: 169-181 Wusong Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Diego Hotel Hongkong 3*
Also Known As:
San Diego Hotel Hongkong Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing