We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Ashoka Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashoka Guest House
Ranked #82 of 263 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Affordable, clean, staff so friendly and helpful and great location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InaHas_Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Ashoka Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were a little skeptical while entering the building and the guest house. Inside is perfect for a budget hotel. Just book it if you are price conscious and need a superb location. Dont look at anyone in the eye/stare at people while entering the building - it appears lot of thugs walk around the building. Just mind your own business and don't talk to anyone. Just walk away if they solicit anything. Should give more than 5 points for location of the building - I would give 6 points for it. Our room had the view of Nathan road - 6 points for that as well.......

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EquatorMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in hongkong for 3 days and we used 3 of Ashoka's bedroom. The location was superb! The train station is a walking distance for about 1-2 minutes, the buses and taxis are everywhere. The room is not as big as we thought but we didn't expect it to be really awesome since they have a very affordable rate. At first, we were planning to not stay in the hostel but the owner, Mr. David, his assistant, Mr. Sari and 2 lovely Filipinas as their staff made our stay good. They can speak better English and were very accomodating. We are certainly considering in going back to Ashoka because we can really save a lot from our budget.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jude m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had planned out trip a month or so back but waited a until the last minute before we booked a place to stay. Did not realize that everything would be booked that early (we booked sometime mid September for a first week of November trip).
Location is very good, right across an MTR station, but that's pretty much it. Although there were a lot of touts and hawkers on the ground floor, they probably left us alone since we had 2 kids with us. Staff was friendly enough, they carried our bags up the stairs since the reception area was not were our room was located. Room was pretty clean considering the age of the building, but the the bathroom was very cramped and not enough pillows on the beds. At least the air conditioning worked.
Will definitely not come back, unless there was no other choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

best location, very clean and superfriendly owner. the rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny, but for that price its a very good deal. would book there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgoodVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

It's a worst experience I had in Hongkong. but it was only for a night, i could manage to sleep here. It's so tiny room and the bath is 3 ft x 3 ft. It's in the Chung King mansion, which is on the Nathane Road is the only plus point.

Otherwise, if really want to stay for more than two hrs in the room, dont try this hut rather u can stay on roads or in a nice massage centre in Hong Kong.

Metro is well connected and coming to Nathane Road is not big deal. Stay little away and don't go by their pics n the net its all fooling your vision.

Room Tip: Never ever try in this location
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krupanidhi_hm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

HK is expensive. Ashoka is a good option to save some money. It is a simple small hostel in an unfriendly building (especially for women who travel alone). It is located in the 13th floor of a pretty disgusting building, with only one elevator servicing all the odd-numbered floors (means that you wait long time, and that it is always crowded-to-overweight). The location of the building, though, is great - right on Tsim Sha Tsui station.
The rooms are OK, relatively clean and comfortable. Ensuit bathroom is crowded and very small. Shower is above the toilet seat and everthing gets wet. Not comfort at all.
The staff is very nice and helpful, and this made the whole stay much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yotam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#472 of 721 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Asia Inn
Asia Inn
#15 of 263 in Hong Kong
51 reviews
New Grand Guest House
#444 of 721 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panda's Hostel - Hot Dog Bus
#92 of 263 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
No photo provided
Tom's Guest House
#36 of 263 in Hong Kong
14 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super Inn
Super Inn
#28 of 159 in Hong Kong
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Guest House

Address: A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nathan Road , Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 263 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range: £13 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashoka Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashoka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashoka Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Ashoka Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing