We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice For Budget Travellers”
Review of Ashoka Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashoka Guest House
Ranked #72 of 247 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Choice For Budget Travellers”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Anywhere else in the world I would have hated Ashoka - in Hong Kong it was a godsend. It's very much a budget hotel, but you'd be hard pressed to find better digs for the same price. You stay in ChungKing Mansion for the experience, and I was a little aprehensive given its reputation. However I never felt at risk here. The lift is very close to the entrance so you don't have to go too deep (although expect to wait up to 15 minutes for the lift since there's always a line), and there's always something at the reception of Ashoka.
Room is small - fits 3 people and the wiring is...iffy. My light switch had to be tapped a few times to go on, but never saw any insects and the bed was clean. Also had a small locker for my valuables, and a pretty spectacular view from my window. The shower was also surprisingly powerful - I'd expected much worse.
I was only in Hong Kong for 2 nights, and not sure I'd recommend staying here for a long trip, but if you want to stay at ChungKing or just need a few nights while watching your budget, Ashoka Guest House is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    39
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
12
21
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friends and I went to HK a couple of months ago. We wanted to get a cheap hotel and so we ended up booking in a hostel. Upon reading reviews of Ashoka, we were kind of hesitant to continue but we just kept saying that it will be a new experience.

Our stay in Ashoka really was an experience. The outside building was surrounded with shady people offering trips of some sort. As for our 2 rooms we got, it was clean. The owner and staff are very nice and we felt really safe since they have cctvs and automated locks to access the hallway leading up to our rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very budget stay, paid RM400 for 7nights stay.. chungking mansion did not provide a secure feeling but the place is definitely safe... nice room, courteous staff... near mtr stations, and also minutes walk away from star pier

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel itself was merely acceptable for me. The room was extremely small, but clean. The bed linen was quite thin and not clean. No tooth-pasted was provided apart from first night. Given the budget price, I admitted these were within my expectation.

The surrounding of this hotel was terrible. It is within Chung King Mansion, and the whole mansion simply seemed like a ghetto. Some people wandered on the entrance and ground floor of the mansion aimlessly all the time. The corridor was very dirty and smelly. Lift was limited and people needed to queue to use it. When pass the entrance, it made me feel stepping into a total different world! Room is a bit noisy, and had to use ear-plug most nights.

Not recommend accommodation within the whole building, not because of the condition of individual hostel/hotel, but because of the Chung King Mansion itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my 3rd stay with Ashoka in 2 years. The rooms are ridiculously small, but that's to be expected in HK. Other than that, they are functional and clean, and despite the bustling streets, the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterzooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Booked via hostelworld, and just like the owners and everyone says, it's hard to find the entrance...especially with the hordes of thieves hanging around the area telling you you've booked with them...haha. But, you can hardly beat the location basically right at TST subway station.

The owner owns this and Delta hostel. Very friendly and straight-forward. The elevator situation is somewhat annoying (one for even floors, a different for odd floors, long lines for both at all critical times). The room was clean, but very very small (before this, I only stayed in hotel in Hong Kong...so this might be normal). Everything worked, and I checked out 15min late to the owners "reminder" I was only supposed to stay until 11:30am. :)

Id recommend a hostel for light travelers, especially solo. But, I think you can find cheaper than this place for similar or better value.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
323 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms were tidy and clean ( at least seemingly ). The towels were creplaced and the rooms were cleaned out everyday. The staff were friendly and very considerate.
The location was very close to the ferry terminal, night market, and was only a stone's throw away from the harbor whose view is so marvelous, esp at night.
Only problem was that my room had a family of cockroaches with their mommas, papas, children and perhaps grandparents, cousins and "ants".
The toilet wouldn't flush well either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toru O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#364 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Canada Hotel
Canada Hotel
#45 of 247 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Merryland Guest House
Merryland Guest House
#84 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Australian Guesthouse
Australian Guesthouse
#50 of 247 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
No photo provided
Tom's Guest House
#46 of 247 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Guest House

Property: Ashoka Guest House
Address: A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nathan Road (T.S.T.), Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashoka Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashoka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashoka Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Ashoka Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing