We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pls no stay there!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #480 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pls no stay there!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My experience was terrible!!! Although I knew that place was no so good, I have no options. I gave a chance and stay there. We arrived at midnight, the entrance is full of people with no good appearance. The room and bathroom was so unpleasant. Besides that, there are 3 guys sleeping in the floor in the hall.The pics showed in the internet was not real. My 1st time in HK was great, I booked other hostel. So, I advise you booking early and avoid bad experiences.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

As you walk into the ChungKing mansions you will inevitably be met by several men all gunning for your business! Despite the fact we had a prior booking for this place we were still quizzed at the lift door by a man askin which hostel we were booked into.
He asked if it was our hostel and we agreed, he then followed us up in he lift to a very dubious "reception"!
All the while complaining that we were late for 'check-in'!
On booking we had confirmed we would be arriving at 10pm and arrived at 9:50pm!?
The room we were given was infact in The Osaka guest house on the 12th floor!
The rooms are minute with no windows, anywhere to put clothes or bags etc. No floor space at all infact!
The place is well dodgy - except to be quizzed on your way in & out about where your staying, where your from & whether you want a fake Rolex!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
#454 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#467 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#427 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Laiyin Ying Hotel
Laiyin Ying Hotel
#323 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#379 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Beverly Guest House
Beverly Guest House
#409 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hong Kong Hostel

Property: New Hong Kong Hostel
Address: Flat C1,Floor 6,Block C,Chung King Mansion,Nathan Road 36-44,Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — New Hong Kong Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your New Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
New Hong Kong Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing