We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hostel Prime Location”
Review of Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #295 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average Hostel Prime Location”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in a private room for 5 nights and can't complain much. It is difficult to find a place in this price range NOT located in Chunking Mansion, which wet heard awful things about. I'll talk about the cons first. The room was hard as a rock, one power outlet, and a broken TV. The computers (which they made with parts) are always turned off to prevent overheating. Staff can (will) not answer any questions so your best bet is to grab a map and ask on the street. Pros were quiet street, fairly clean room (which they have people do everyday), shower had good pressure, and the best thing was location. It's just minutes from supermarket, mtr, and Times Square. Not too many cheap restaurants, but you can find them if your ask the locals. Laundry close by too, but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bp567924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    88
    88
    32
    37
See reviews for
16
54
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

As far as hostels in Hong Kong go, this is the best, The price is fantastic given its central location in Causeway Bay. Rooms are split across several floors so in-room wifi is a nightmare, I had to balance on the stairwell to get 2 bars of signal. The staff are friendly and willing to help. The rooms...well, they're tiny! But this is HK so you can't expect much. Very close to metro station, supermarket, cafes, cinema....everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

stayed for 4 nights in a single room. i could have been cleaner, but it also could have been a lot worse! bed was a bit hard, and walls were a little thin. the price seemed a little high for what you get, but i think the main selling point is the location. it's right in the middle of things in causeway bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

- great location in causeway bay
- easy to find
- got free wifi and computers (but in-room wifi maybe quite weak, depend on your room's location)
- very friendly reception
- bed is quite small, but clean enough
- main reason is low cost...compare to other hotels in this district!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 days here. I went for a bed in the 3 bed female dorm which had air con and lockers. The beds were hard but ok. The hostel is basic but has a geat location and is very good for the price in HK. From the outside you wouldn't know that there was a hostel on the 3rd floor. The staff at first seemed a little off but I think I must have arrived at a busy spell and they were a bit flustered. After this the staff were lovely, very helpful and welcoming.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

From seeing so many reviews of this place I didn't really expect much, in fact I was concerned. But overall it's an average no frills stay kind of a place

Pros:
-Very close to the Metro on the Blue line
-Nice, safe and quiet after 11pm area
-Our beds were clean and not rock hard but by no means soft, doable for a couple nights
-Good and free Wi-Fi as well as use of computers in main building
-Good A/C
-Our Apartment area had two bathrooms which was good considering the amount of people
-The owner let us keep our stuff in one of the lockers free of charge after we checked out

Cons:
-Rooms are small, better off staying in the open area mixed dorm
-One of our toilets consistently didn't work
-No locks for the locker free of charge, better off bringing your own lock
-Our apartment wasn't connected to the main service desk which had we needed it would have been a nuisance
-Our main annoyance was since it was in such a posh area it was damn near impossible to find CHEAP/LOCAL food one of the things Hong Kong is known for!

For a short stay you could probably do better but not at the price or the location. Don't expect luxury but don't believe the horror stories! A satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I would come back because the prices were reasonable, its in a good location and very close to the MTR which connects you to everything. there's also a grocery store 300m from the hostel for your everyday needs..
I was a bit confused whether the location was posh area because we couldn't afford anything at the stores around.hahah..you are on the same street with the likes of Burberry and MaxMARA...locating the hotel was a bit difficult, because no signs were put up, and then when you call Mr. SAM you can barely hear him, but he is friendly.
Service was great no complaints, bed is stiff as rock, but you rarely in the dorm sleeping because you out exploring(try to come back as late as possible, limit your hours on that bed) the rooms are clean, WiFi and they give you a t.v the size of a dot, it was rarely on plus it was all in Cantonese.
Don't expect the RITZ-CARLTON because that is not what you paying for!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebbyAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#196 of 718 in Hong Kong
106 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#362 of 718 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#429 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#349 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#212 of 718 in Hong Kong
204 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#407 of 718 in Hong Kong
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hostel

Property: Hong Kong Hostel
Address: 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay | Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hong Kong Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing