We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the thick of it!”
Review of Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #293 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Right in the thick of it!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I flew in from Chengdu and arrived at HKG airport quite late at night. I knew the direction I needed to go and found myself on Paterson Street. However from there it was a bit more difficult to locate. There wasn't many signs indicating that the hotel was above a row of shops and you needed to get the elevator to get to the reception. Finally after about 45 minuets of walking up and down the street trying to find the entrance and get to the reception, I was laughing! I booked myself in and was given a key to my single en-suite room. It was small, as to be expected in the majority of asia but it was brilliant. Shower over the toilet, another normal for asia. The walls were a bit thin at times and I could hear a lot of noise from the other rooms but to be honest, you are smack bang in the middle of Causeway Bay. It is perfect for its location! I paid for a single room because it was a lot less cheaper than getting a hotel room!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    88
    88
    32
    37
See reviews for
16
54
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I rang up on the phone to book because I couldnt see where to pay online. I asked for a room with a double bed and a tv. They said they had that available. I gave them my visa card details. When I went to check in they had no more double beds or rooms with tv. they would not offer me a discount but instead told me that 'people that book online get first priority.'
I ended up with a single bed room. No furniture in room except for bedside table. No hot water despite being told it would. argggg.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macau62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

i have read many bad reviews about this hostel. not just here, but also in another site before i book this hostel. But because the price is so cheap, i just continue my booking cause i'm really on low budget when come to hong kong. i book a 6 bed mix dorm for 3 nights. and this is also my first time to hongkong. so i also book this hostel because the location is very close to MTR. you only need 3 minutes to walk from MTR to this hostel. actually, this is not look like a hostel, cause you can't find any sign that tell this is a hostel. You only will see the address 47 paterson Street on the way in. the staff is great, the price is also reasonable in hong kong. i thing this is a nice place to stay. they have good room, good bathroom, and fast wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Liked: great location, clean, helpful staff, value for money This is a great place to stay for the amount of money you spend. Its location is everything! The rooms arent that nice, so its literally a place to sleep at night. Very basic...but you have all the necessities like hot water, toilet, clean room, shower, bed. Dont expect anything more. I would stay again in the future as its so close to everything and easy access to taxis, bus, and metro. Staff wasnt overly friendly but they werent rude as many hostel employees can be! They answered any questions I had about getting around the city.

Disliked: very basic, zero frills. hard beds (like many places in mainland China). no internet in many rooms. a little run down. If you want a nice room, dont stay here. Pictures look nothing like the rooms, which was a little misleading. They had no running water for about an hour when we got there, but they fixed it quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

For my third time in HOngkong, we chose to stay at this hostel. We stayed here for more than a week.

Getting there was easy since it was just a few blocks away from the bus stop (we took bus A11 from the aiport and got off at the 14th stop - near Sogo Department store).

The first thing we noticed when we got there was the sign from the association of paterson building owners that says that guesthouses in their buildings are operating illegally. This worried me a bit but thankfully, nothing happened during our stay there.

Since we are a big group, we were given 3 rooms in 1 flat located at the 3rd floor of another building - Kingstons Building - which is just across Paterson building.

When we saw our rooms, we were satisfied since the rooms were a bit clean, each room has a bathroom with hot/cold water. There is a water dispenser for use by all the rooms and also a mini fridge.

The location is good. It is just a few blocks from the MTR station, bus stop, taxi stand and tram station. It is also a few steps away from Wellcome supermarket which is open 24 hours.

The staff with glasses was ok. She can express herself in english so she was helpful when we asked for some information. The owner was also ok but appeared a little drunk when he talks. But they have this one girl staff who was a bit rude. She was having a hard time explaining herself in english when I was asking for some information so she just brushed me off - not good. not good at all!

Overall, our stay there was satisfying. We were able to get enough sleep, the a/c was working, the water was refilled daily and the rooms were cleaned daily.

PS. We're Asians so the size of the room, the bed and the bathroom was okay for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap0lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Couldn't get warm water from the hostel - mouse was waking me up middle of the night, the staff is really weird. Just don't go there! Really good location- but you will find some other hostels near by too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hostel is odd to say the least. It is separated into mutliple buildings so it is hard to get that connection with fellow travellers as in our case our rooms were across the road from the shared facilities. The rooms are clean but the mattress (if you can call it that, I think it was just the ensemble base) is as hard as concrete. There were no windows so its all fairly dark and make sure you check your air con. Mine worked but was still hot at best but some of my group had excellent air con.
The staff are not particularly helpful and seemed to wear the same clothes day in day out.
Another thing we found during our trip was that it was hard to find. I found a number of backpackers wandering outside and had to guide them were the entrance was.
However the location on Hong Kong island is easy to access and was just off the trainline.
If I was to hostel in Hong Kong again, I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#364 of 718 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#201 of 718 in Hong Kong
107 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Studios HK
Studios HK
#463 of 718 in Hong Kong
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#428 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#458 of 718 in Hong Kong
140 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#296 of 718 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hostel

Property: Hong Kong Hostel
Address: 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay | Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hong Kong Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing