We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and fair price for HK”
Review of Studios HK

Studios HK
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studios HK
Ranked #477 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Good place, good location, it is almost the entire building with the hostel spread around. It is hard to find the place it when you are not familiar with the neighbourhood, and if you arrive at night. To shower with hot water you must turn on the heater for half an hour at least. It is alright for few nights. it is Close to the subway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe_Sanhueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in a private doublebed room for one night and we are more than satisfied. The room was clean, had a TV, a spacious bathroom with shower and A/C, which was amazing in hot and sticky Hongkong!! It is really easy to find and the staff was not the friendliest, but okay. There is a 24/7 supermarket on the other side of the street and other shopping possibilities. We had a really pleasant stay. Only thing that I can criticise: There was a cockroach in our room! Disgusting but maybe not avoidable in Hong Kong...

Room Tip: We had a room with window to the backyard which made it a calm night there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The few things I care about at hostels is cleanliness, hot showers, good wifi and location. I think that's not too much to ask, in fact, very basic.

The street this hostel is on is hard to find if not familiar with the area. The directions given were not great. But when you see the Burberry Store, it's very apparent you're there. When I checked in, it was sloppily done. I booked a female dorm but was put in a mixed dorm, then when I switched, they put me on a top bunk even though I requested a bottom. Not a huge deal.

Pros: Good location, smack in the middle of Causeway Bay, lots of shopping, food, juice stands, cafes, grocery store across the street, MTR station around the corner, 7/11 very close. Wifi worked in my room from my dorm bed but was weak at times... showers were hot.

Cons: it was grimy. The initial room I was put in incorrectly (the mixed dorm) didn't have windows! Yikes. If you don't like enclosed spaces, this is the wrong hostel (well, this is the wrong city for you!). The second room I was put in had a shared bathroom with the staffs that lived in the building, and it was grimy: mold, and gunk in every corner. Didn't stink bad, but did of course had a slight funk to it. It was liveable for 2 night, more than that I would just check into a hotel and pay more. I'm more sensitive to these things since I'm very clean and neat, but honestly, most hostel bathrooms I've stayed in have been clean, and even feels new.

I think this hostel is quite expensive but for the area, I guess you're paying for the convenience.

Plus, being in Hong Kong, it doesn't make sense to spend too much time in hostels, go out, and it won't be so hard to deal. At least, that's what I did.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows, it makes a huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skippin_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hostel is clean, efficient and ok comfort wise. The staff are efficient, but not friendly and I think this doesn't help the communal atmosphere. Additionally, as some reviewers have noted, this is an illegal hostel in a residential building - so you get some dirty looks from the real residents. The location is great and very easy to get to above the subway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The night staff do not speak English, but during normal working hours the guys with good English are there, i especially recall that fiendly Jamaican guy. Hostel is situated in Paterson building, entrance is between "Aesop" and "Burberry" shops, entrance glass door does not have any sign it's hostel inside, it is just regular living building entrance, you just come in, there is consierge desk and elevator, you just ignore the consierge and go to 3rd floor and there is reception room of hostel there.

This place is just couple minutes of walk around the corner off exit E of Causeway Bay MRT station, there is large Wellcome store across the street. Victoria park and A11 Cityflyer bus stops are also just a minute's walk far. If bus goes from Aeroport, the stop name is "Sugar St. / Yee Wo St.", if you go to aeroport from there, stop name is "Kingson St./Gloucester Rd."

The single room was tiny, like 2x2 meters, so that when you lay on the bed, your head touches one wall and your legs the other. Hot water and shower was OK. No TV in the room, the air conditioner was broken. It was noisy outside the window with cars roaring day and night and pedestrian crossing bell tinkling very loudly day and night even with window closed (but you can't close it as you risk to get choked in that tiny space). This place is OK though if you are dog-gone tired and just want to sleep the night over after your flight or hiking and do not want to pay much for unnecessary conveniences common to large hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Solstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great hostel, it's clean and the location is central. You can meet lots of nice people from everywhere. The dorms are clean. I was sharing a room, only 2 people dorm. The rest areas is good and you can stay there late. it's safe, you can store your luggage at reception, and also have a locked place in the room for your stuff. Shared bathroom is clean, has hairdryer and also iron if needed. Reception staff are helpful. taxis right in front.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank leticiamoraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#276 of 729 in Hong Kong
284 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,270 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,323 reviews
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#37 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,159 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios HK

Address: No.47 Paterson Street, Block A, 3rd Floor, Unit A5, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £34 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Studios HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing