We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy good location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollywood Guesthouse
Ranked #486 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy good location and value for money”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Have been to hong kong several times and always been pleasure staying at hollywood guest house.the rooms are not so big as expected however i say its value for money. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable.very reasonable tariff. Hongkong is all about sight seeing and travell if you are planning to see hongkong and you are just gonna travell full day and just need a comfortable stay then you are at correct place. You don't get food as in room service however if you request the hotel staff they will help you to get food in the room through home delivery. Once you come down from hollywood guest you have a lot of restaurant within the building premises so you will not have difficulty finding one. Coffee machine and microwave is in the guest house.If you have a big budget and ok to spend like 2000 hkg dollars a night then there are few five stars hotels near by but i would never spend so much of dollars just to sleep at night.
This guest house is quite comfortable and safe. The staff especially mr lama is very
helpful.
I have stayed in this hotel thrice with my parents and alone already and will be staying again.
Good place to stay if you are a person who can adjust with the size of the room because the rooms are not so big.
I give 10/10

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samirlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The only positive thing to say about 'Hollywood Guest House' is that it is situated central for everything, a good point to explore the city.
The 'double room deluxe' we booked had a size of 6 square metres, the double bed or better the table was 1,20 m wide, the guys working at the reception were unfriendly and incompetent, the sheets were not clean, we got only one towel and noise all through the night. Really just do your self a favour and do not stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richy123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I usually never write reviews for anything I spent money on. But this time I feel the responsibility to keep people away from this guesthouse. I made my reservation for Hollywood Guesthouse using booking.com. Once at the reception, the first thing that greeted me was a dead cockroach next he the most unfriendly receptionist I have ever seen in my life. Needless to say the room (single room), it is so little that there is barely room for your luggage. I ask the receptionist if the bed sheets and the towel are new, he said they make housekeeping daily. BUT, when i checked them both they had hair and an awful smell.
All the terrible things other reviewers said about this guesthouse are quite accurate. Make yourself a favor do not take this guesthouse. No even if it is cheaper, it doesn't worth it. I HAD TO SLEEP USING MY BACKPACK AS PILLOW!.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diegorl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is a nice, clean, quiet, relaxing place to stay in Hong Kong. Staff were friendly, it was clean & extremely close to downtown Kowloon. Good value for Hong Kong! The design of the hostel is really new, the hostels facilities are nice , the hotel location is excellent close to shopping, restaurant and public transport. www.HollywoodGuesthouse.net

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellegallant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Denis, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I had never seen such a guesthouse before -> old, dirty, squalid, dilapidated, litter in the staircase, absolutely no safety system, no fire alarm, hundreds of guests stacked in there and only 1 lift for the whole building (you have to wait for ages), walls are falling into pieces...
Please trust me and run for your life

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Semaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The previous review was spot on, the 'Hollywood Guest House' is pretty bad. It's situated in the famous (possibly infamous) Chungking Mansions Kowloon, which is actually its one good point, i like Kowloon and this is central for everything, the good points end there.
I wasn't actually supposed to be staying in the Hollywood guest house, i was booked into the four seasons but they had no spaces (so they said) they moved me to the Hollywood.
So what was wrong, well no windows, the most terrible smell, one of those 'wet room' style bathrooms, a table for a bed, noise all through the night, gray threadbare towels. Really just don't do it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebola_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCoaster21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2010

First of all, the picture displayed for this guesthouse is not at all what it really is. This place is very dirty. The hotel we stayed in was the size of a walk in closet, with no window. Our room was close to the staff office, and they were up all hours of the night playing loud video games and shouting.

After only a couple hours sleep, we woke up to water rushing into our room. Good thing we noticed in time as it was just starting to soak our luggage. After that, we took off for another hotel. Would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
#453 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Hong Kong Hostel
New Hong Kong Hostel
#488 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Laiyin Ying Hotel
Laiyin Ying Hotel
#324 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#277 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#470 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#427 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Guesthouse

Property: Hollywood Guesthouse
Address: Flat/RM A1, Block A, 14 Floor,Chongking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Rd.,Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #486 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hollywood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Hollywood Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing