We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chung king mansions is an experience”
Review of Paris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paris Guesthouse
Ranked #115 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I arrived at Chung King mansions and headed to Paris guesthouse, here they showed me a single room, but as I am 183cm tall and large sized European was advised that the single beds are too small. I was then taken upstairs to the 10th floor to rooms with double beds. Which are more suitable for my size.
The rooms are basic,but clean. They are very small with no extra room for luggage etc, but suitable for a single traveller not wishing to spend too much.

Pros: clean rooms
good internet connection
low cost rate of HK$100 a night !!
chung king mansions is in an excellent location for Kowloon

cons : chung king mansions itself is run down and you get hassle from vendors as you pass outside
Tv has limited channels with none in English

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Paris Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Each room has its own bathroom (shared shower and toilet) and bed... apart from that, there's hardly room to turn around. Seriously, though, what else would you expect for $20?? Cheaper than most hostels in Europe where you share a bathroom and get woken up anytime another guest enters the room late or leaves early... it's places like this that make Hong Kong accessible to the backpacker on a shoe-string budget. Certainly, this is not the place you bring your mother or girlfriend... this is the type of place where you spend a night or two while on a stopover in Hong Kong and don't want to spend the money on a regular hotel room.

The free Wifi works great and there is unlimited tea/coffee. An abundance of cheap eating places on the ground floor make for a very budget friendly stay.

For first-time visitors to Hong Kong considering staying here, I recommend you book only 1 night, and see if it's the type of place for you. At least you have somewhere to sleep and put your mind at ease - it is clean and safe. Maybe sleeping inside a cupboard isn't your cup of tea; you can easily book a more upscale place online for the remainder of your trip. Considering what you pay, however, Paris Guesthouse is not a bad option for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

With that said, it isn't a place for everyone's tastes. If you are just looking for a place to put your pack down and a place to rest your head at night, then this might be a good option for you. I was expecting the experience to be really dodgy and to be a little scary but it wasn't. We were heavily bombarded by touts on the ground floor only when we first arrived. One went so far as to try and grab my boyfriend's backpack but I just stood in his way and told him no. They all claim to have a better place to stay...but from the looks of it, they are all similar. Chungking Mansions was a little hard to navigate at first but we just asked the doorman for the right elevator. It is helpful to have the address written down so you can show someone.

When we found the guesthouse, they were nice enough but not exactly friendly. The room wasn't ready, but they let us use their computer and it was only a few minutes. We even got to pick between rooms. We ended up with a double. Yes, the rooms are really tiny. My boyfriend who is about 5'9 could just about reach both sides of the room, and that was at the widest. I found it quite cozy and didn't really mind it. The way they arranged things in the space really maximized the area. The bed (pretty comfy) was on a platform with plenty of space underneath to store our belongings. Next to the bed was a cubbie for even more storage, and on top of that was the mini fridge (a definite plus!) and the tv. The bathroom was a standard wet bathroom and we had no problems with that except that if you had the hot water on (the switch is outside the room door) longer than a few minutes, the owners would sometimes switch it off...which led to sudden cold showers for whoever took the second shower. Not easy to switch back on with one person dressing and the other in the shower. Also, we had a couple of ants in our bathroom but they didn't come into the room so it was ok.

We really appreciated the free coffee service in the lobby area and free wifi. You could use their computer but there was a fee I think. Our room was cleaned most days. We found it was a bit expensive for what you get but then again it was during Lunar New Year. There is a menu by the phone in the rooms, for a restaurant downstairs. We would definitely recommend that place. It was so good! We ended up eating there twice.

All in all, it was a good place for us but it isn't for everyone. It can be claustrophobic to some and seem a little dodgy, although, we felt safe enough. There was always someone in the lobby area. We had a great time and were really close to the metro line and a lot of what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I was cursed in Hindi by the manager. But nevertheless this is probably one of the better options in Chung King Mansions. But that says more about Chung King Mansions than anything else.

Rooms are small but I got the impression this was one of the safer hostels in the building (there are hundreds by the way).

The location is difficult to rate because it is a great area of Hong Kong but Chungking itself is the worst institution in Hong Kong.

Free internet access is good and cleanliness is ok.

But really you should pay the same amount (or less) and stay in Hong Kong hostel in Causeway Bay, a proper youth hostel without the stress.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ldnjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We hadn't planned on staying in the Chungking Mansions but ended up wanting to stay another night in Hong Kong and unable to stay on at the Anne Black or to get another 2-3 star hotel.

Our room was tiny, and the bathroom miniscule, but the room and bedding etc was clean. The "window" faced out onto the ventilation shaft and seemede to be very close to a kitchen so it was very noisy at night with lots of clanging of pots etc.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked the day before and there were no problems with the reservation. They also sent us an email warning us about the touts etc in the lobby and explaining exactly how to get to the lift; we didn't read the email until after we'd arrived but we knew how the Chungking Mansions operate so hadn't needed the warning - but we thought it was a nice gesture to send it. The place also felt very secure, with the grilled door closed at night and (as we discovered when we went out early in the morning) one of the staff sleeping on the floor across the doorway! (One tip - bring a torch! When we went out about 8am, no-one else was up, the overnight reception person was asleep on the floor, and the place was pitch black because there are no windows!)

Given that we were used to staying in 2-3 star hotels, it's hard to rank the Paris. Overall, so long as you are prepared for the Chungking Mansions, I'd say this hostel is fine for Hong Kong , especially at this price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

It's quite a breeze traveling from the airport to Chungking Mansions as it would be just one bus ride, which stops right in front of the building. But lo and behold! Beware of Indian men selling you stuff and claiming to know where you are going. Apparently, the whole building of Chungking mansions houses several guesthouses and everyone would be chasing you if you seem to be fresh from the airport. We got there safe as we ignored all the men trying to get us to see cheaper rooms. The room we had was really small, and the beds were like "mini"-single beds. It was just right for petite girls like us, but I doubt if someone bigger would fit in. There's a small window, a tv and a ref and a bathroom which seems old but clean.
The people at the front desk are all friendly and they can even give you tips on how to go around Hongkong. They changed our towels and cleaned the room daily.
If you're looking for a cheap place to stay, smacked in the middle of Little India (think of Mustafa with lodgings on the top floors), then this might be the better option in Chungking mansions. A cheap place in the middle of all the shopping areas is a good deal (just don't mind what you'll be seeing in and out of the building). If you not, better stay away from any lodging that says Chungking Mansion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprinkled_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I got a room for HKD 150/night. The room was really small, only a double-bed, small private bathroom, little corridor, and without window, but clean, including TV, aircon, and free wifi. The hotel is located on convenient place (direct airport bus for HKD33, MTR station very close, ferry to Macau just walking distance etc.). I'd say reasonable price for the quality offered.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sedasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#282 of 721 in Hong Kong
273 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#77 of 159 in Hong Kong
62 reviews
Fortress Hill
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
#31 of 159 in Hong Kong
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#23 of 159 in Hong Kong
164 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 159 in Hong Kong
576 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Homy Inn
Homy Inn
#19 of 159 in Hong Kong
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Guesthouse

Address: 7F D8 Chungking Mansions, 33-44 Nathan Rd, Tsim Sha Tsu, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £24 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is owned by an Ex-British serviceman and it caters to a lot of tourists from Europe, The Americas and Australia. We have clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Newly renovated, our rooms are of superior quality with en-suite showers and toilets, hot and cold water 24 hours a day. Plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes. Each room also has color TV, air conditioning and a telephone for free local calls. We have just installed WI-FI Broadband to all our rooms for you to use privately and it is free 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Paris Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing