We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Rating” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paris Guesthouse
Ranked #117 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Rating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We are supposed to have a room for two person but the management refuse to give us the room that was booked and have been agreed in agoda. Instead they place us in a room together with other people which is not good for me because of privacy and i dont even know those, in other words they give us a bed space. We argue about this and in return they transfer us to other guesthouse, Kamal guest house which is more horrific, just an advise stay out for these two..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8ogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    18
    5
    12
See reviews for
4
17
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE PARIS GUESTHOUSE OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

Paris Guesthouse also owns Germany Hostel, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels.

We stayed in a Paris Guesthouse room, but booked under Germany Hostel (so I have added this review to both).

We booked a double, but were given a triple, which gave us some much needed extra space. The room was average for Chungking Mansion.

As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower. The linen was clean, they provided towels, and there was a fridge & TV in the room. Due to the extra bed there was space for our bags. Overall the room was clean, although there was the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan.

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Don’t be fooled by all the positive reviews online, just probably put up by the owners. When it’s cheap, there’s definitely a catch! We booked one room for $45/night and another for $50/night for 4 pax through www.asiarooms.com.

The outside: You have to walk through filthy alleyways to reach Block D. There you’ll find two lifts, one for odd numbers and another for even nos. Once we reached 7th floor, the guesthouse had prison-like doors & CCTV along the hallways, presumably for safety. When we arrived, our room wasn’t ready so we had to wait for a few minutes.

The inside: It's like the whole floor was partitioned into rooms. Our booking was a DOUBLE occupancy room but what was provided seemed to fit only ONE. The room was like a comfort room converted into a bedroom. The walls & floor are in white tiles. It’s a tiny claustrophobic room without a window.

I definitely would NOT recommend this place. I can’t believe that most reviews online are positive when in fact the only positive you can find with this place is their location.

YES, it’s accessible. YES, you’ll just sleep on it for the night BUT don’t we all want to have a good comfy room to sleep on after a tiring day of walking the city?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAlamares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you wanna stay here for a while so please don't expect anything just think it's a place to keep your belonging and rest in the night. I booked a room through hostelworld.com, the owner sent me the information. Of course, it's very useful to me. This guesthouse is on the 7th floor of Chung King Mansion, this area is lots of people from Pakistan and India, they are impolite so you have to be careful yourself. Anyway, in the night this mansion will lock at 23.00 hrs. but you can use the middle door of it. However, this guesthouse is not too bad if you are on the budget. The room is very tiny but the Wifi is so fast. If you bring a labtop with you so can ask a password from a maid.

Room Tip: If you are tall so please hesitate to book this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dameeoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
924 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I arrived at Chung King mansions and headed to Paris guesthouse, here they showed me a single room, but as I am 183cm tall and large sized European was advised that the single beds are too small. I was then taken upstairs to the 10th floor to rooms with double beds. Which are more suitable for my size.
The rooms are basic,but clean. They are very small with no extra room for luggage etc, but suitable for a single traveller not wishing to spend too much.

Pros: clean rooms
good internet connection
low cost rate of HK$100 a night !!
chung king mansions is in an excellent location for Kowloon

cons : chung king mansions itself is run down and you get hassle from vendors as you pass outside
Tv has limited channels with none in English

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Each room has its own bathroom (shared shower and toilet) and bed... apart from that, there's hardly room to turn around. Seriously, though, what else would you expect for $20?? Cheaper than most hostels in Europe where you share a bathroom and get woken up anytime another guest enters the room late or leaves early... it's places like this that make Hong Kong accessible to the backpacker on a shoe-string budget. Certainly, this is not the place you bring your mother or girlfriend... this is the type of place where you spend a night or two while on a stopover in Hong Kong and don't want to spend the money on a regular hotel room.

The free Wifi works great and there is unlimited tea/coffee. An abundance of cheap eating places on the ground floor make for a very budget friendly stay.

For first-time visitors to Hong Kong considering staying here, I recommend you book only 1 night, and see if it's the type of place for you. At least you have somewhere to sleep and put your mind at ease - it is clean and safe. Maybe sleeping inside a cupboard isn't your cup of tea; you can easily book a more upscale place online for the remainder of your trip. Considering what you pay, however, Paris Guesthouse is not a bad option for those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

With that said, it isn't a place for everyone's tastes. If you are just looking for a place to put your pack down and a place to rest your head at night, then this might be a good option for you. I was expecting the experience to be really dodgy and to be a little scary but it wasn't. We were heavily bombarded by touts on the ground floor only when we first arrived. One went so far as to try and grab my boyfriend's backpack but I just stood in his way and told him no. They all claim to have a better place to stay...but from the looks of it, they are all similar. Chungking Mansions was a little hard to navigate at first but we just asked the doorman for the right elevator. It is helpful to have the address written down so you can show someone.

When we found the guesthouse, they were nice enough but not exactly friendly. The room wasn't ready, but they let us use their computer and it was only a few minutes. We even got to pick between rooms. We ended up with a double. Yes, the rooms are really tiny. My boyfriend who is about 5'9 could just about reach both sides of the room, and that was at the widest. I found it quite cozy and didn't really mind it. The way they arranged things in the space really maximized the area. The bed (pretty comfy) was on a platform with plenty of space underneath to store our belongings. Next to the bed was a cubbie for even more storage, and on top of that was the mini fridge (a definite plus!) and the tv. The bathroom was a standard wet bathroom and we had no problems with that except that if you had the hot water on (the switch is outside the room door) longer than a few minutes, the owners would sometimes switch it off...which led to sudden cold showers for whoever took the second shower. Not easy to switch back on with one person dressing and the other in the shower. Also, we had a couple of ants in our bathroom but they didn't come into the room so it was ok.

We really appreciated the free coffee service in the lobby area and free wifi. You could use their computer but there was a fee I think. Our room was cleaned most days. We found it was a bit expensive for what you get but then again it was during Lunar New Year. There is a menu by the phone in the rooms, for a restaurant downstairs. We would definitely recommend that place. It was so good! We ended up eating there twice.

All in all, it was a good place for us but it isn't for everyone. It can be claustrophobic to some and seem a little dodgy, although, we felt safe enough. There was always someone in the lobby area. We had a great time and were really close to the metro line and a lot of what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Comfort Hostel HK
#92 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#25 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
#68 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#5 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Guangdong Guest House
Guangdong Guest House
#66 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Guesthouse

Property: Paris Guesthouse
Address: 7F D8 Chungking Mansions, 33-44 Nathan Rd, Tsim Sha Tsu, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is owned by an Ex-British serviceman and it caters to a lot of tourists from Europe, The Americas and Australia. We have clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Newly renovated, our rooms are of superior quality with en-suite showers and toilets, hot and cold water 24 hours a day. Plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes. Each room also has color TV, air conditioning and a telephone for free local calls. We have just installed WI-FI Broadband to all our rooms for you to use privately and it is free 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Paris Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing