We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it's Chungking Mansion, but it could be much worse”
Review of Paris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paris Guesthouse
Ranked #114 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well, it's Chungking Mansion, but it could be much worse”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

At first, it is kind of intimidating to walk through the entrance of Chungking Mansion because it is full of people trying to sell you suits, watches, bags, rooms, SIM-cards and other "something specials". It is not easy to quickly get an escalator to the 7th floor, because they are slow, there are loads of people waiting to get in, and there are numerous floors.

Anyway, the GH seems to be safe with a code to be entered at the entrance gate, and a key card lock to the second entrance gate. The staff is very friendly and skilled in terms of languages. The GH is very dark since it is located in the interior of the building, with no outer walls (although, I'm not sure about that because I haven't seen all the rooms). We stayed 4 nights during Chinese New Year, the double room was incredibly small (the bed made up roughly 50% of the total floor space), but very tidy and clean.

There were no windows so we kind of messed up our day- / night-rhythm. There's a safe, a comfortable bed, hot shower, and a smelly fridge. Starting with around 08:00 am, we heard loud noises from the neighboring apartment / office / hostel which did not stop until 10 p.m. or so. If you want to spend a lot of time relaxing in your room, better not book at Singh Guesthouse. If you want good value for money, a clean room to mainly sleep in, go with it. It is perfectly located in Tsim Sha Tsui and only a few minutes walk away from star ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    18
    5
    12
See reviews for
4
17
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is slap bang in the center of the shopping district on Nathan Road. I was backpacking around Asia and for less than $50 a night you get a small room and toilet/shower and free wifi. You could stay across the road and pay $450 a night but why would you? I can only see young people, backpackers or those strapped for cash staying here. It is in a shady building and you have to find the right elevator to go up - OK so this is an issue the first time you arrive especially with seedy indians trying to sell you drugs and boom boom or a room cheaper than yours but once you get to the floor its like any guesthouse.

You get the keys, a towel and the wifi password. All the bad reviews here are from people that think $50 in Hong Kong is the same as $50 in Thailand. Money goes no where in HK hence the tiny room and shower which requires you to sit on the toilet.

I would stay here again, 5 minute walk to the ferry terminal, all the bars and shops on Nathan Road, 7-Eleven is round the corner for the late night snacks and the wifi was quick and the room has A/C

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

the 1st floor is crowed with dirty vendors 99% indian, nigerian male. the entrance of hotel is located in the middle of 1st floor, it means you have to pass by buch of crowed dirty cheap vendors and before you can walk in the elevator lobby you will be harrased and hustle and followed by indian males trying to ask if you need "room." 1st floor is packed with indian males soliciting cheap rooms and barking for hotel or rooms for rent and they stay there 24hours standing harrassing people. THE OWNER or the indian manager is very rude and always angry. the place is cheap but you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we booked a differrent guestroom but when we arrived they asked us to stay in paris guesthouse coz they said that they are full already in that guesthouse and since its under the same management they will just let us stay there and they will upgrade our room and so we agreed. our room was in front of the front desk which was so so.. we can hear whenever there are guest coming in and out but since we are already tired whenever we reached the hotel its realy not a big deal. the pantry was not clean but its acceptable knowing that the people who manage it are muslims,we didnt use it anyway. the mansion bldg itself was sorrounded by muslims and hookers asking everyone if they want a room to stay and since there's many of them who will approach you its pretty ridiculous and scary too. tiny room kinda clean,white linen looks clean aswell but i can still smell the clorox,bathroom was tiny, the shower is over the toilet bowl but the water supply is good and theres hot and cold. theres tiny fridge also where you can store your food in the evening for tomorrows breakfast. the catch was the location its just on the other side of mtr stn and in front of the bldg is the bus stop which was very convinient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jammy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We are supposed to have a room for two person but the management refuse to give us the room that was booked and have been agreed in agoda. Instead they place us in a room together with other people which is not good for me because of privacy and i dont even know those, in other words they give us a bed space. We argue about this and in return they transfer us to other guesthouse, Kamal guest house which is more horrific, just an advise stay out for these two..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8ogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE PARIS GUESTHOUSE OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

Paris Guesthouse also owns Germany Hostel, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels.

We stayed in a Paris Guesthouse room, but booked under Germany Hostel (so I have added this review to both).

We booked a double, but were given a triple, which gave us some much needed extra space. The room was average for Chungking Mansion.

As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower. The linen was clean, they provided towels, and there was a fridge & TV in the room. Due to the extra bed there was space for our bags. Overall the room was clean, although there was the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan.

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Don’t be fooled by all the positive reviews online, just probably put up by the owners. When it’s cheap, there’s definitely a catch! We booked one room for $45/night and another for $50/night for 4 pax through www.asiarooms.com.

The outside: You have to walk through filthy alleyways to reach Block D. There you’ll find two lifts, one for odd numbers and another for even nos. Once we reached 7th floor, the guesthouse had prison-like doors & CCTV along the hallways, presumably for safety. When we arrived, our room wasn’t ready so we had to wait for a few minutes.

The inside: It's like the whole floor was partitioned into rooms. Our booking was a DOUBLE occupancy room but what was provided seemed to fit only ONE. The room was like a comfort room converted into a bedroom. The walls & floor are in white tiles. It’s a tiny claustrophobic room without a window.

I definitely would NOT recommend this place. I can’t believe that most reviews online are positive when in fact the only positive you can find with this place is their location.

YES, it’s accessible. YES, you’ll just sleep on it for the night BUT don’t we all want to have a good comfy room to sleep on after a tiring day of walking the city?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAlamares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#300 of 718 in Hong Kong
272 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#76 of 158 in Hong Kong
62 reviews
Fortress Hill
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
#29 of 158 in Hong Kong
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#22 of 158 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#3 of 158 in Hong Kong
570 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 158 in Hong Kong
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Guesthouse

Property: Paris Guesthouse
Address: 7F D8 Chungking Mansions, 33-44 Nathan Rd, Tsim Sha Tsu, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is owned by an Ex-British serviceman and it caters to a lot of tourists from Europe, The Americas and Australia. We have clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Newly renovated, our rooms are of superior quality with en-suite showers and toilets, hot and cold water 24 hours a day. Plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes. Each room also has color TV, air conditioning and a telephone for free local calls. We have just installed WI-FI Broadband to all our rooms for you to use privately and it is free 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Paris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Paris Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing