We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for another place”
Review of Paris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paris Guesthouse
Ranked #114 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
beijing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Look for another place”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I visited this place together with my gf, mom and grandma. We chose it randomly coz we didn't have much time, and what a mistake it was. The first floor of the building is full of weird people, mostly men, trying to sell you something and was very scary for my gf and mom. We arrived at the 7th floor reception, which was the reception for Paris Guesthouse, German Guesthouse and two more I don't remember.

Although I later discovered that HK is known for it's small rooms, but the rooms we where shown there were the smallest I've ever seen. I am not two calastrophobic, but I couldn't sleep in a 1.5sqm room. The second room was bigger, but so dirty, I was afraid to touch the walls.

Apparently this whole building is a whole net of Indian owned small hostels/hotels probably owned by the same person. So my biggest advise would be, when you check for hostels in HK stay away from Chunking mansions.

Two positive things -
1) location is good (but most places are in the same area anyway)
2) the receptionist was friendly

Cheers

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    18
    5
    12
See reviews for
4
17
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We booked three nights in this hostel, but cancelled the last 2 nights. The hostel is well-located near the metro-station, but the area is very dodgy. The hostel is in a shady building, and I did not feel safe here. I was very happy to be with friends, and not as a solo-traveller.

The hostel is basically one floor of very small rooms, and a mini-reception desk. No decoration, no common room. Eventually they put us in another hostel on another floor which is, apart from its name, exactly the same.

The rooms are very small, which would be fine if there is hot water, heating, clean sheets and a nice atmosphere. There wasn't.

The only good thing about this place is that the hostel has wifi and that the man at the reception desk was rather friendly and gave us extra blankets.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

i've been stayed in this place for 3 times already..the last wast just 2 days ago. situated in Tsim Sha Tsui, with the subway station just 5 mins walk, and a city bus stop just a few meters away. the hostel itself..is really convenient..the rooms are small but very clean and comfortable, with bathroom inside, equipped with aircon, tv, phone which is free to use for all local numbers, 24hr hot water and free wifi internet access. they still have microwave, fridge, big hot water thermos, and computer, at the corridor just outside the rooms, feel free to use it all. the staff was very kind and friendly...
the rates isn't expensive at all...compare to others..i've checked several guesthouse which is listed in internet...some located in causeway bay and some in fortress hill...and they all charged more with not-so clean environment.
so for me...this place is by far the best guesthouse in hongkong....!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_kartika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Hostel is located in ChungKing Mansions, which is a horrible smelly place, full of Indian touts, but if you ignore this, you are located on Nathan Road which is a perfect location. Upon check in the miserable receptionist said they had not received our email booking, which we had had a confirmation for. We were subsequently given a single room which was only about 1.5M squared. The room was very clean and was equipped with all that was needed, expect a mirror. The next day a nice receptionist gave us a bigger room for the same price which was also nice and clean (apart from they don't wash duvets). Wifi in both rooms was good as was the TV , but you would not want to spend too much time in the rooms as they are so small. Their website mentions free tea and coffee, but this just extents to a kettle in the hallway. Would recommend for clean, budget accommodation if you don't get clostrophobic!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

hi

I have been to paris guesthouse this november. The rooms were very small but clean.. there were two beds in the room so hardly any place to stand but then all other facilites were good in the hostel. Their wifi was rocking...very good speed and is complimentary. In the room they provided 2 bottles of drinking water. The bathroom was real small but clean and also the towels were very clean. This is owned by Indian but the service provided is very good .The staff is vdery helpful and provide with all the need you want like where to go in hongkong and all.So the price you pay u cant expect better than this. Location in superb and most of the tourist attractions are nearby so you can walk to them.

If you are vegetarian then also this is good hotel to stay as the owner will tell you the place in the same building where you can go and eat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurieBiyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowloon
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Good staff, good service. Rooms are clean. Pricing ok. WIFI is damn good.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amritsar
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2009

i am arun.i am comeing this gesut house in 2 jan.. the guest stafe is vry friendly and good behaver.wifi system is vry good...
roor r vry clean......

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deep1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#76 of 157 in Hong Kong
62 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#9 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#26 of 157 in Hong Kong
128 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,638 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Guesthouse

Property: Paris Guesthouse
Address: 7F D8 Chungking Mansions, 33-44 Nathan Rd, Tsim Sha Tsu, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is owned by an Ex-British serviceman and it caters to a lot of tourists from Europe, The Americas and Australia. We have clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Newly renovated, our rooms are of superior quality with en-suite showers and toilets, hot and cold water 24 hours a day. Plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes. Each room also has color TV, air conditioning and a telephone for free local calls. We have just installed WI-FI Broadband to all our rooms for you to use privately and it is free 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Paris Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing