We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dim Sum in Admiralty”

Che's Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #1,385 of 8,526 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum in Admiralty”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Located in a packed, unpretentious 4th floor of a nondescript building, we would never have found this place if not for a recommendation from my wife's uncle. And Che's did not disappoint. Their char siew pork (honeyed pork bun) and liu shar bao (salted egg-yoke bun, like molten custard) were the height of refinement in Cantonese cuisine. The texture is delicate and they simply melt in your mouth. Service is attentive and it was easy to see why people pack this in at lunch time. Come at 2 pm to beat the office crowds.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible in every way - I have no idea where the previous good reviews come from!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having been in Hong Kong a week in eating out every night my girlfriend and I have had some consistently excellent meals in Hong Kong in all kinds of places, from the most basic local eatery and street food to high end Hotel restaurants. As the rain was heavy we searched for a recommended place near to our hotel and came up with Che's Cantonese restaurant .... unfortunately. This place is priced in the bracket of high end Hotel Restaurants and nearly Michelin Star restaurants, with some of the speciality dishes costing 1000 HKD and above and a more average main course 2-300 HKD. The quality however in all ways was uniquely bad, neither of us could finish any of the dishes served and came out feeling more than slightly unwell. Perhaps the place has edible Dim Sum as per previous reviews, however on our experience everything else is atrocious and I would imagine by choosing at random from any one of Hong Kongs reported 10,000 or above varied eating establishments at random, you would get a better meal 99 times out of a hundred anywhere else. Terrible and expensive, worse than a poor Chinese take away in the UK that would be one fifth of the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spainfrancelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty expensive for dinner. Definitely not value for money.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here and it was really quite expensive. There are certainly far better choicer around town for Cantonese food.
Service was also mediocre. Surprisingly not very full on a weekend evening. Once is enough here, really should try some other places if you can. Nothing to write home about this place except for the large bill!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onep39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a very decent restaurant at reasonable price. You can enjoy a lovely dim sum lunch. They have a very famous baked barbecue pork bun which is very good, my favourite dish there. Service is also good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Good restaurant; not outstanding. Thoroughly enjoyed my lunch (dim sum) here, but I don't think it is significantly better than the other dim sum restaurants that I have eaten at in Hong Kong.

Basics --- good decor; good food; good service; prices were ok. The reason that it only gets three stars from me is that none of the food stood out as better than other dim sum restaurants. I ate the pork buns; vegetables; beef balls; and chicken. Everything was prepared appropriately but not better than anything I had not eaten somewhere else in Hong Kong.

Hope this helps.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Che's Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Che's Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing