We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Poor Hyatt - poor practises.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #38 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very Poor Hyatt - poor practises.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Travelling from Australia to the UK I took a stopover in Hong Kong. Hyatt's are my favoured hotels for short stays. This Hyatt is not good at all, best to try the many other offerings in Hong Kong.

I booked a room and asked for an early check in, which I got. I arrived, then waited and waited and waited. Hours later still no room. Not being able to sleep on planes I was desperate for some sleep. In the end I took a lesser room (yet they still charged the same). It transpires they say yes to every early checkin request regardless of how busy they are, and in turn most guests will be disappointed. This is a trick the poor quality hotels offer, very disappointed to see this tactic from a Hyatt. I booked an over night flight because of the acceptance of an early checkin. Now my stop over is filled with disappoint and anger.

The hotel manager should consider his/her career outside of the Hyatt group, as this is a poor representation of Hyatt's.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room? Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Marc09London, thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. I was most concerned to learn of the inconvenience you have experienced at check in. We always try our best to accommodate request of early check in, during periods of high occupancy rooms are sometimes not available. We thank you for your kind understanding and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. With best regards, Xavier Pech, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    859
    170
    32
    19
See reviews for
554
596
207
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great location -- in the middle of shopping area and restaurants. It's very near an MTR station, so getting around HK is a breeze. But the best thing about this hotel is that each room comes with an Android phone with unlimited internet, free local calls and free international calls to 5 countries. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank dregar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear dregar, thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you like the hotel convenient location and enjoyed the smartphone service in particular. Thank you for your kind note and see you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were fortunate to stay here on holiday for a week and loved every minute of it!!
Many hotels now have different arrival areas and separate lobbies so it was no problem at all locating the reception area ( as mentioned in previous reviews).
Very professional staff at check in. We paid extra for a harbour view room and it was worth every cent although the weather was a bit foggy!!!

Breakfast is exceptional, amazing selection... Caters for every palette. We had a free breakfast option with our room package. We had room service, dinner in the cafe a la carte and buffet dinner and all were superb. The buffet is fabulous especially the half crayfish and the chocolate selections. The staff at all dining times are very attentive and a credit to the hotel.
Location is the best.. There is a mall adjacent to the Hotel with a great supermarket on the lower floor and coffee places also.. Lovely to wander through the MTR is next to the hotel also which is great as you spend most of your time touring around.

Concierge was helpful as we booked two tours through the hotel.

If you want a clean, modern, gorgeous hotel in the best location, this is for you. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Marjorie R, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the overall hotel service, food and facilities. We were delighted to receive such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I only stayed here for one night while transiting through HK. The hotel was very conveniently located to MTR, shopping and food. The room was in good condition and spacious compared to other hotels in HK. The best feature of this hotel was the free smart phone they have in each room. You can take the phone with you while touring HK. The phone has free internet for you to read up on reviews and search for places to visit. You can also make free international calls to most of the world. The only draw back is you can't receive incoming calls.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear William C, thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read your positive comments. I was particularly pleased to know that you found the smartphone useful. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 9.30 am after an overnight flight from Perth W.A. Despite having read reports that the hotel entrance was hard to find we found that by going to the Hyatt desk in the airport they gave us a taxi card which we showed to the taxi driver and we were delivered right to the hotel door at a cost of only 250HKD where we were greeted by the hotel staff and didn't have to touch our luggage again until we were in our room. On arrival we decided to upgrade our room to the regency floor which gave us the use of a lounge with fantastic views of the harbour, an excellent buffet breakfast which in my opinion would suit most tastes, free soft drinks and tea and coffee available all day. In the evening between 5.30 to 7.30 there was a complimentary bar service along with a buffet of salads , cold meats and fish and warm chinese dumplings also complimentary. The room was also slightly larger with a very well equipped bathroom and bedroom including fresh fruit on arrival, ample bottled water,a Nespresso machine which was an added bonus as it is something that we use at home. Also included was the use of a smartphone for finding your way around and with included free calls to the UK and Australia along with a few other countries.I can't comment on the restaurants which all looked very good as we tended to eat out of the hotel at lunchtime and took advantage of the light buffet in the evening. Over all the staff were very pleasant and attentive and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The upgrade cost us about £90 per night and was worth every penny. There was no problem getting back to the airport even though it was 6.00 am when we departed from the hotel. The staff got us a raxi and told the driver which terminal we wanted and that was that. It was slightly more expensive as we were travelling on a Chinese holiday. In general the stay in Hong Kong was perfect and a lot of it was down to the ideal situation and facilities of the hotel

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor and had views over the city and harbour across to Hong Kong Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Philltop, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. It is a great pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with our overall hotel services, food and facilities. We are delighted to receive such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel was perfect for our 3 night stay in Hong Kong. Very centrally located, clean and roomy, great staff. Several restaurants and a bar. We opted for a Harbor view room and it was beautiful. Can't beat the price either compared to other high end hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear JudyM, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the overall hotel service, food and facilities. We were delighted to receive such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was easy enough to find. Taxi took me straight there. Lobby was a but unimpressive but the room was lovely and the shower was honestly the nicest I've ever taken. It was sort of just off the bath so very large and roomy. You stepped into the shower but the bath was alongside you... hard to explain but absolutely lovely. Rain shower had as well as normal, with amazing pressure. Bathroom mirror also slid back so you could see into the bedroom. I liked this a lot!
Room service tasty and quickly delivered. Didn't try the breakfast but it looked pretty good. Overall excellent experience and excellent location!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marriedtheenglish_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Marriedtheenglish_80, we thank you for sharing your positive experience during your stay. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with hotel location, service and especially the bathroom facilities. We are happy to receive such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Address: No.18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui business and tourist district with direct access to the MTR subway stations, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui offers 381 guestrooms and suites, state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities including a pillarless ballroom accommodating up to 400 persons and 5 meeting rooms with various sizes, authentic cuisines with 3 restaurants and a bar, as well as a well equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing