We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to love this hotel, but the chemistry was missing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #45 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love this hotel, but the chemistry was missing....”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ok. Ive been to Hong Kong so many times. Although this hotel has been open for a couple of years, this was my first stay.

First, the location within Kowloon is perfect. Off the beaten path while in the heart of everything. Great. Upon arriving at the hotel, my taxi took me on an underground drive to reception. I thought he had made a mistake and was taking me to the parking garage. As a large trash truck picked up the days refuse, my bags were whisked away just feet from the trash mess. No lobby...just an elevator corridor that took me upstairs to check in.

Candy, at the front desk was the shining star of my hotel experience. The large (rather warm) hotel lobby was deserted, and she eagerly helped me right away....only to find out that my reservation was at another Hyatt. With a breakfast meeting planned at this property, that wasnt good. Although it was late at night, and the hotel was full....she found me a room, and was able to get my other room night cancelled. What a gem!

My diamond membership with Hyatt for more than 15 years probably helped. It didnt do much else though. Didnt even get a paper in the morning, although everyone else on my floor did. Service touches were missing.....

I went upstairs, and down the WARM AND HUMID hallway to my room.

The room was small, but well designed. The king sized bed took up most of the room, and the bathroom was larger. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing special at all.

The mattress was firm (very firm), but i like that. I could see where others might think it was too hard.

I found the location of the thermostat, award. It is in a corner, placed about 30" from the ground by the bedside table. You really have to kneel down, and peer around to see and control it. Strange.

Did i mention the WARM HALLWAYS? I worked up a sweat every time i left my room for the elevator....

The breakfast was nice, but the service was terrible. Great selection amongst multiple stations to satisfy any desire. Western and Eastern specialties were in abundance. My drink order was taken, my bill was delivered....then my drink arrived about 10 minutes later. Never had another human interaction again. No re-fills, no one to check on me. Nothing. They sure got the bill delivered quick though! Wow...



After walking down the WARM HALLWAYS again, i stopped by the REgency Club. The club was very nice, but nothing special at all. Nice views from the 23rd floor, standard food and beverage options. The club at the Grand Hyatt across the water puts this to shame. Nice, but average in all respects.



The HEALTH CLUB was another story. SMALL, small...small. About 8 machines in an attractive but SMALL space is all there is. OK, there are 8 sets of dumbbells and a bench. For a hotel this size, in todays world...this is deplorable. Ive had larger health clubs in a Holiday Inn Express or Courtyard. Really bad.... Its clean....but bad.

I suppose overall the hotel is fine. If you get a good rate, go for it. Its certainly better than its predecessor on Nathan Road from years ago! I remember that old hotel so well. Its not the Grand Hyatt across the water, and its certainly not my preferred hotel, The Intercontinental. It lacks in service and style. No lobby, no street presence, warm hallways, and a poor excuse for a health club all distracted from my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    901
    176
    34
    22
See reviews for
580
618
216
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

First of all let me just say, if you are still deciding whether or not to go to Hong Kong, stop thinking & book. Straight away! It is an amazing city & you will be blown away by it all when you arrive.

It was our first trip to Hong Kong & were only in town for 4 nights so we wanted to be in a good location for seeing all the sights. After a lot of research we finally decided on the Hyatt & were not disappointed. The hotel is right across the street from Tsim Sha Tsui East MTR station which will get you basically anywhere you could want to go in Hong Kong. Don't be scared of the MTR, it is genuinely so easy to use, all the signs are in English & it is so cheap, fast & easy to get around. Our ticket cost us £9 and we used it for the entire 4 days & still had around £3.50 left on it by the time we left.

The hotel is immaculately clean & the bedrooms & bathroom are generous with great views of the city.

The beds are so comfy which is a god send after a day & night of exploring HK.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we prefer to try different places & if you chose to do the same there are an abundance of great restaurants within easy walking distance.

The hotel is perfect for first time visitors who have limited time & want a good base for exploring.

I'd also highly recommend the Spring Deer restaurant across the road, the duck is unforgettable! There is also a Japanese bar just over the road on the street that runs behind the MTR station & I forget the name of it but it had a outside garden with sparkly lights & does amazing well priced cocktails & ridiculously nice chicken portions to enjoy with your drinks.

Enjoy!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear JaneD1701, thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that you find our location convenient. It is a pleasure to receive your positive comments on our overall services and facilities especially the cleanliness of guestroom. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our first time to stay at this Hyatt. We like it because
1. the location is really convenient, above the K11 Art Mall and close to many restaurants and cafes. We recommend Rue de Marseille (Agnes b) salad and sandwiches.
2. the service is very good. Donald Chan the chief conciege is very nice and helpful.
3. the free cell phone allows us to call family and friends around the world.
4. the room is much bigger than most of the room at Hong Kong hotels. One may also have views of the harbour.
But the only problem is the hard mattress; my back and shoulder aches after a night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights and really glad we stayed on the Kowloon side. Harborview well worth the extra expense as we could watch the lights of Hong Kong. Also, it was easy walking to the Star Ferry and shops/restaurants. The concierge service was terrific especially offering a cell phone for GSP and free international calls. What a terrific idea!

Room Tip: Harborside--17th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Linda K, thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the harbour view in particular. We are glad to read your positive feedback on our location and overall services especially the smartphone. See you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was very surprised to see that over 300 people had read my review of the hotel, which wasnt very complimentary of the hotel.
Since then I have stayed at the hotel about 6 more times and the stays have been very very good, they really seemed to have paid attention to the things that I had mentioned and have changed for the better.
I plan to stay here from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tajwar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This Hyatt hotel perfectly reflect what the brand itself, I was here on business purposes as I usually stay at causeway bay area, this hotel definetely is superior compare to same price hotel in hongkong island. Do not afraid staying in kowloon side , especially there is mtr station underneath this hotel.
Room is perfect , brand new modern design
Lobby also great
Breakfast is nice
Tsim tsa hui area also provide different feeling of hongkong , many nice food
Avenue of the star is walking distance as well
Tips : if you have time do take a ferry ride to hongkong island , the view is very very nice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Henry W, thank you very much for your review and glad to know you enjoyed your stay. It is a great pleasure to learn that you were happy with the location, overall facilities and breakfast, we were delighted to receive such recognition. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In busy Kowloon near department store and boutique shopping and conveniently located close to rapid transit to Hong Kong Island and the MTR to the airport. Nice rooms that are entirely satisfactory but not luxurious. Good Club Floor services with excellent view of Victoria Harbor. The lobby level restaurant offers many choices at cooking stations and the service is prompt. This hotel offers a slightly better cost alternative to the Grand Hyatt on Hong Kong Island. The staff is always friendly and a pleasure to encounter. I was there in October and November 2013 and the guest room on the Club Floor could use a modest update, but the experience was fine and I would stay there again without hesitation. If you have a few hours, walk to the Hong Kong History Museum and discover Hong Kong's story from rock formation to the present - it's well worth the time.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor with Harbor view. Book Club Floor and services if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonRaphaelMengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,978 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Address: No.18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui business and tourist district with direct access to the MTR subway stations, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui offers 381 guestrooms and suites, state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities including a pillarless ballroom accommodating up to 400 persons and 5 meeting rooms with various sizes, authentic cuisines with 3 restaurants and a bar, as well as a well equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing