We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen)
Ranked #490 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst hotel!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I don't know If my new company Hated me for booking me in this hotel for a month but they sure achieved to give me a one hell of a stay here in hong kong. So if you want to stay in a barely 6sqm room, with broken doors, un-dusted floors, moldy comfort rooms, insufficient toiletries busted outlets and utilities, non-english speaking receptionist, dusty and stinky matresses and sheets, falling curtains, no provision of laundry services and poor soundproofing..you're in for a treat!

Room Tip: better be cantonese speaking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jude6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    17
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
3
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

the hotel is super super super clean.
bed is super single, clean toilets, with everything u need inside from soap to shampooo to conditioner to cups and toothbrush
the location is just right at the bus terminal, u can take a bus to any mtr on hk island.

i strongly recommend and will definitely choose this place again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yandao87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Centre of bus transportation and convienent. Reasonablely cheap and clean room, but, small only for a couple not including children. From here you can go anywhere in Hong Kong, but best you purchase the Octopus Card because it will save you so much trouble of looking for small coin changes. It can be used pratically anywhere in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Get your good offer from the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timcbteoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I stayed there for about 3 weeks with my sister. The location was perfect for us because it was just about 10 minutes walk from my Mom's apartment. We didn't stay at my Mom's place because apartments in Hong Kong are small and to accommodate 2 extra adults for a couple of weeks is a luxury.

I booked the hotel really based on the location and the price, also 2 out of the 3 reviews I read were pretty good We arrived there around 10:00 p.m., I was expecting to see a small room but my first reaction was still "quite shocking" to see how small the room was.

Anyway, after about 2 days we got used to the size. The room, despite its size, was actually quite O.K. The bathroom was tiny too, but the shower was hot and powerful. They came to clean and changed towels, etc. everyday. The services were pretty good and the staff were helpful. I had lived in that neighbourhood for many years so I knew what it was like. If you are travelling on budget, not planning to spend a lot of time in the room, and would like to see the very local side of Hong Kong, this would be a place to consider. It is very very easy to go around the Island or even Kowloon side from there on public transportation. I would recommend this hotel, but again, you have to prepare that the rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellenklhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

if you're living on a budget, the bridal tea houses are an awesome option.. this Aberdeen location is EVEN BETTER because it's not quite where tourists would stay, therefore the price is much better than anything you would find north of the Aberdeen tunnel. what makes it so high on my list is that Aberdeen has a lot of history (used to be a fishing village, and there's still a lot of fishing boats docked in the typhoon shelter) and it's very local. If your into the 'let's get lost' spirit and want to see what local Hong Kong is like, this is the perfect place. That being said, please expect most locals not having very good English. There's a wide variety of food choices to eat all over - local HK noodle places, Shanghai cuisines, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, KFC and Mickey D's, etc.. Also a huge bus stop that has buses going all over HK (buses are my favorite mode of transport as you can see HK rather than being underground in the MTR and not seeing anything but people's armpits and ads), and once you get to the other side of the Aberdeen tunnel, you are basically golden. Wanchai (a HUGE night life semi-red light but has good live bands district) is just on the other side of the tunnel, so taking a taxi to and from isn't too costly (when you're done with Wanchai, you won't really be in the mood for buses anyhow).

The hotel is quaint, updated, stylishly furnished, but as I mentioned in the title, VERY VERY SMALL. Much smaller than the Western District one, but their facilities are much newer. With the price difference ranging from $100-$250 less than anything on the other side of the tunnel, you might choose this one over the Western District (again if you are the more adventurous traveler). The only thing that you need to know is that this room is so much smaller. The double beds look even smaller cuz they just fit into the end of the room (yes, I'm saying the width of the room is basically the length of a HK double bed, which is about 6'), the length from the bed to the bathroom is about 6-8 steps (mind you I am 5'1") so I suppose a nice way to put it is that 'everything in the room is within your reach'.

The staff is helpful; very honest and direct. If you get a double room you'd be away from the traffic since it's on a main room and be able to have a less noisier atmosphere to sleep in. For the price, the location, it's a good deal. Too bad it won't fit my 6'4" friend (why I ventured over to the Ap Lei Chau BTH across the shelter, a review to come) as unless sleeping diagonally, he wouldn't fit. So try it if you're here to try HK, live among the locals and won't be in your room a whole lot, cuz just for a place to stay, it's pretty nice... I might recommend just getting a double bed regardless and don't suggest more than one person in one of the room.. ; )

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
0.5 mi away
Bridal Tea House Hotel Apleichau Main Street
0.4 mi away
Caritas Oswald Cheung International House
0.8 mi away
L'hotel Island South
L'hotel Island South
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ovolo Southside
Ovolo Southside
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
667 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cyberport
Le Meridien Cyberport
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen)

Property: Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen)
Address: No.150 Aberdeen Main Road, Aberdeen, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen) 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Tea House Hotel Aberdeen is located in No.150 Aberdeen Main Road, Aberdeen. With 5-storey and offers 20 standard and deluxe rooms.All rooms equipped with the basic amenities and hi-tech features, including LCD-TV, high speed internet broadband internet access, air-conditioner, coffee & tea maker, hair dryer and non-smoking rooms. It situated in a quiet residential area, close to the Jumbo the Floating Restaurant, Hong Kong Ocean Park, and South Island Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridal Tea House Hotel (Aberdeen) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing