We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keeps getting better. Congratulations to the new(ish) manager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better. Congratulations to the new(ish) manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been staying at this hotel - begrudgingly - for years. I say this because the service was terrible. They had such amateurs in reception I nearly lost my temper a number of times.
So, let's look at the now. You get a shuttle for free from the arrivals hall, I think it is Hall A (if you are new to HK, just walk down the arrivals halls where you see the names of lots of hotels). Normally there is only a short wait. The rooms are in good decorative order and relatively newly decorated too. I cannot complain about the room. This time they gave us a smoking room - when I specifically asked for a NON smoking. I find it quite disgusting to sleep in a smoking room. Alas the company had booked rather than me on my Marriott points so they did not hold one for me. This would put me off from staying again if they could not guarantee this.

Service at the front desk was ok. There is always some type of admin confusion over credit cards, such as if you book with one and want to pay cash with another. The leisure facilities are fantastic, really surprising. This time I had some food in the bard (a bisque) which was great and a tea (which was average). Overall I think the hotel offers value for money.
So congratulations to the new manager because whatever he/she is doing is working!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    1,076
    189
    50
    49
See reviews for
599
625
314
890
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We picked this hotel because we were coming in late into Hong Kong, and we were leaving early enough on the day of our departure, that it made sense to stay close to the airport. We were quite ok with taking the train into and out of the city each day (we were only there a short time), and if that is the case for you, this is a very good choice as a place to stay.

One thing to note is that you want to be very sure of which bay/slot the hotel's airport shuttle pulls into to pick you up at the airport. There are many specific numbered slots and we couldn't find any directory listing. But, once you do get on the shuttle, it is a short ride to the hotel. The check-in was courteous and smooth, and the room itself was cozy, clean and comfortable. It is a modern, global hotel chain - so, don't expect a strong local flavor in the furnishings or architecture. The king bed was very comfortable, the shower was perfect and very clean, and there was little ambient noise from the airport to disturb you.

We found the concierge desk staffed by nice, knowledgeable and eager-to-please folks. The breakfast buffet was very good - made-to-order western omelets and some cantonese breakfast dishes - surrounded by a large choice of pastries, fruit, dairy items etc. There was a pleasant view out the windows and it was quite nice overall, before we you set off for the day.

Bottom line: everything you look for in a place to rest, eat and get clean - close and convenient to the airport, and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Booked a room at the SkyCity Marriott for an overnight layover in HKG at the end of March. Getting to the hotel was slightly confusing at first, but once the shuttle arrived it was a quick trip. My partner and I ended up with a 2 double bed room instead of a king, as requested, but for an overnight stay that was fine. Beds were comfortable, and the room was nicely decorated. Not a fan of the glass screen acting as a 'shower curtain' in the bathroom, but that's a minor quibble.

Easy walk over to the Asia World Expo stop of the Airport Express to get into Hong Kong for the evening - great having that access just a short walk away from the hotel. Convenient shuttle service back to HKG. Overall a very pleasant hotel for stopovers near the airport, and am sure it would be great for those attending events at the Expo center as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crewguydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We only stayed at the hotel overnight but found it to be a very nice new modern hotel in a great location if you need to get to and from the airport quickly. Check in was very quick and the reception staff were very friendly. The shuttle to the airport was very efficient both arriving and departing. Food in the restaurant was very good but very expensive for the amount you got.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caronno Pertusella, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Good hotel if you have business in Chek Lap Kok island or at Sky City.
Location wise is two minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and three minute walks from MRT train. Hotel also offer complimentary shuttle bus service from/to Airport.
Location is extremely quiet and from the rooms there is generally a pleasant sea view on Hong Kong or Guangdong southern coastline.
Rooms are clean, there is a micro convenience shop on the ground floor along with an ATM accepting international major credit cards.
Restaurants are good, clean. Morning breakfast choice is very good.
Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adalbore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

On our trip back to the U.S., we were forced to change plans, which required a layover in Hong Kong. We decided to stay close to the airport for our less than 12-hour layover (most of it spent sleeping). If you need to have a layover in Hong Kong, this is the place to stay. One of two airport hotels within single digit minutes to Terminal One, this is the place.

After clearing Hong Kong Immigration (no VISA required for U.S. passports), we departed Customs (nothing to declare) and headed for the Marriott desk inside the terminal, where we found at least four employees still working at 10:30 pm. They confirmed our stay for the evening and asked us to take a seat while we waited for the hotel’s limo (included in the rate as free pick up and return). Five minutes later, we were off in the limo and five minutes after that, in the hotel. This hotel is big; I mean really big. Check in took another five minutes, and we were in our Deluxe room (upgraded without charge to Deluxe Ocean View) five minutes later. LOL, The upgrade didn't really matter. There wasn’t much to see at 11 pm.

Tired from our trip in, we were sleeping by midnight and woke around 7 am. The bedding was superb and extremely comfortable but this is what we have come to expect with Marriott. The view from the room was great and only then did we realize how large the room was. It had a small sofa, large working desk, flat screen TV and more. Everything was fresh and clean. If you vacation in Hong Kong and pay less than $200/night for a room, you will come to know what a small room is. This room was less than $200/night (including taxes and service) and it was quite large.

The bathroom had all your normal amenities, including lots of hot water for bathing.

Because we stayed at the airport, we were not rushed to clear out immediately after waking up. We took our time getting ready for our trans-pacific flight because we knew that our return to Terminal One would be quick and efficient, and it was. After showing up in the lobby to clear the bill, we only had a short wait for the hotel’s bus to take us back to the airport. Thirty minutes after being dropped off, we cleared Immigration and Security. A few minutes later, we were eating breakfast in the lounge. We Americans could take more than a couple tips from the efficient folks in Hong Kong. They make things work with the highest degree of efficiency.

I highly recommend this hotel for the short layover required. Yes, I wish we had the extra time to spend the evening downtown, and we would have made the trip if we had a little longer layover and earlier arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you are flying long distance via HKG and need to take a night off before the next leg of your travels, this hotel is ideal. Just make sure you check in for the courtesy shuttle bus at the hotel's desk in the arrivals area of the airport; and for your return to the airport the following day, get to the hotel lobby well before the bus departure time since the bus can get crowded. The hotel is well organised, has a good swimming pool and plenty of places to eat. The executive lounge, if you can use it, is first class. For those who put up with European standards of slovenly hotel service, the high standards here are a welcome surprise. However, be warned: HKG operates 24/7, and aircraft noise at night, though muted in the building, is still noticeable. Earplugs are essential for light sleepers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#101 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Royal Park Hotel
#44 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Property: Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The only International 5-star hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing