We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel that is very close to Hong Kong International Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #47 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel that is very close to Hong Kong International Airport”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Landed at HKG airport around 5pm local time, and we had reserved this hotel near the airport since we just needed a good nights rest to get on local HKG time. Chose a package through the Marriott website that included the buffet breakfast for two adults and one of our two children (don't ask me why the Marriott website only included one child's breakfast buffet in the price). It turns out that you really want to choose this package because the breakfast buffet was excellent at the SkyCity Marriott - it was the best breakfast buffet we had in HKG during our stay.

Rooms - every two bed bedroom in HKG has two double beds rather than two queen size beds. This was fine for our family right now, but this may be an issue in 3 - 5 years for us if we travel back to HKG again. The bathroom was clean and had the general amenities that we needed. Had to ask for extra towels since we all wanted to get cleaned-up after the flight. Room was quite and had a decent view of the airport and the airport golf course.

Dining - best breakfast buffet we had in HKG. Good mix of western and asian dishes. Made to order eggs / omlettes and made to order asian boiled noodles with chosen meats. Two kinds of congee, if you like. HUGE breakfast bread selection, along with made to order pancakes, waffles, or french toast. They had a fresh juice bar - every kind of breakfast juice you could imagine including some that I had not heard of. Fresh cut fruit, cold and hot cereal bar, european cheeses / cold-cut meats / salmon / etc. It's rather pricey if you don't have it included in your room package - so be forewarned.
We also ate at this restaurant the evening we landed. The kids ate off of the childrens menu (good slider-type burger), and I had the steak sandwich. It was the best steak sandwich I had in HKG as well.

All in all I can recommend staying here. It's close to the airport, but it's not very close to anywhere else. The second day we went to HKG Disneyland and the taxi fare was around HKG$175, including our bags (around USD $25) which was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: We had a room that was a decent walk away from the elevators ("lifts") and it was a quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txboiler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    1,108
    196
    55
    49
See reviews for
630
644
329
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The service is impeccable, the breakfast buffet is amazing with a congee and din sum station to die for. Shuttle every half hour to get to the underground too! The rooms are a dream with magnificent views and very modern. Everything about my week long stay was perfect and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkly_dreaming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on several one night stopovers for connecting flights. I was impressed the first time I stayed with the courteous service and great breakfast buffet. For the follow-up stays, I was greeted by name at the door and escorted to my room. The free shuttle to/from the airport is a nice bonus. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This will continue to be my first choice when flying into Hong Kong for a layover before a connecting flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrdem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for here for one night to rest our heads before our connecting flight to Vietnam the next day. We got the free shuttle to and from the airport, this is a great service. The hotel itself is very nice and quiet. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable just what we needed after an 11 hour flight. Good selections of Asian and western food at breakfast. Room service dinner was also very good. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for stopovers/transit. Would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Cathay Pacific airlines put me up in this hotel because of a cancelled flight, so unfortunately I only had a few hours here. Had to get up at 3 am for an early flight. Would have been nice to stay here a bit longer; I got no more than a wonderful dinner, shower, and a nice nap here.
It's a Marriott... So it's wonderful.
The buffet downstairs is fantastic. I am never excited when I hear the word buffet, and I was not terribly hungry, but had a wonderful plate of salad and cheese and crackers, grapes, dried fruit, and ordered a killer glass of wine. There were plenty of both Asian and western options for dinner, and it was delicious. Service, as expected, was top notch, and the room was very comfortable.
I had issues with a few small things, like hair on the floor, and a beautiful shower with a drain installed flat to the wall where water wouldn't drain right. It filled up the bottom of the shower to the point that it started running into the bathroom floor. Not a deal breaker, but a small detail that made a big mess. Aside from that, it was quite enjoyable. The shampoos and soaps were divine. Could have been more (enjoyable) television channels, but all in all, it was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I only needed a clean, quiet bed for a 12-hour layover, and unfortunately for me there were no decent, less-expensive options by HKA, but I got what I paid for -- a truly spectacular night's sleep in a very comfortable, well-appointed room. The free airport shuttle was reliable, too. It's truly only 5 minutes from the terminal. If it were in a better location, I would want to stay here again, but it's not exactly a destination in itself, and it's more expensive than I usually go for. But when you only have 12 hours, you don't want to waste 1.5-2 commuting into the city and back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenKate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very convenient location to the airport. I have stayed at 2 other hotels near the airport prior to this stay and have found the SkyCity Marriott to be far the best. The level of personalised service at check-in was excellent. The room and facilities were excellent and room service was quick.
Check Out was quick and the shuttle bus to the airport on time. I will definitely be staying here again on my next layover through Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,925 reviews
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#101 of 718 in Hong Kong
4,517 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,230 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Property: Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing