We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, would use again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #50 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 6/8/14. Booked a family room with two double beds. Very comfortable room, well equipped, hair dryer, iron, tea and coffee and free wifi if you are a member of the Marriott rewards scheme (free to join). Free shuttle was a breeze, only 10 mins from airport, staff are very friendly and efficient. Restaurants and other facilities all great, swimming pool and spa great. Would definitely recommend it and will come back again in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank joweyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Resident Manager at Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott during your last visit to Hong Kong and for recommending to fellow travelers. I'm very happy to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

It would be with much pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Peter Sih
Resident Manager
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 3,180 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Hong Kong SkyCity. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was very easy. We had booked the executive room and so were offered the choice of checking in at the lounge level, which we did and accepted the offer of a soft drink while waiting for the check-in to be completed. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We were told we were upgraded to an ocean view, but to be honest I don't think this would be worth paying for, as it consisted of dredging equipment building reclaiming land. The cocktails and snacks were generous although the quality not up to other lounges I have been to. There was a choice of a limited continental Breakfast in the lounge or the full buffet in the main restaurant. We opted for the full b'fast which was very good, with a wide selection of both western and asian dishes, I especially enjoyed the Portuguese egg tarts which were the best I've ever tasted.

I looked in at the pool and spa areas, they looked okay. I don't like indoor pools so I didn't use it, would have probably done so if it was open air. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only negative comment I have is concerned with the pick-up of our luggage from the room as we checked out. We called for a pick-up of our luggage at 9.55, then went to the executive lounge and checked-out, where we once again confirmed we had luggage awaiting pick-up. We then went to the lobby to wait for the shuttle to the airport. A staff member came over to us and we mentioned that we could not see our luggage, he said that there was 10 minutes until the shuttle arrived and that he would check it was to be collected. Ten minutes later the airport shuttle arrived but we had still not received our luggage. Finally a porter was sent to collect the bags. As we had missed the shuttle, a private transfer was arranged for us which minimalized the inconvenience and we were happy with the way the problem was dealt with.

We were also disappointed that the Velocity lounge was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Which doesn't leave too many options for a relaxing drink in the evening if you're not staying at lounge level.

Overall, we had a very good stay and will consider staying again hotel next time we are in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for the lounge level if you can, but don't bother paying extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in transit from Australia to Europe. Easy & courteous transfer from the airport. Excellent service at check-in. Large, well appointed rooms on executive level with lovely views. Great choice of food for breakfast. Very big, beautifully kept indoor pool. Free regular shuttle to Citygate Outlet Mall at Chung Tung (10 minutes away) .Made our long-haul flights comfortable and almost fun!

Room Tip: Executive level for views and use of executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henriettaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We pre booked this hotel prior to going on holidays as we had a 9 hour wait between flights. What a great idea. We arrived exhausted from Paris and having our luggage checked through to. Melbourne. We also more booked a massage online. After checking in and donning the lovely robes they offer we had the best massage ever. Then up to our room for a shower and a short rest and dinner in the mezzanine restaurant which included Peking duck and sweet and sour pork. All delicious! Incidentally the offer a free shuttle service to and from the terminals which are 5 minutes away. Very worthwhile and we arrived to catch our flight feeling fresh and ready to face a further 8 hour flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed once again at the SkyCity Marriott as I maaged to get a very good one night deal and I am a member of Marriott Rewards so that I have free wifi in the room which is a nice perk. This is a great hotel and an obvious choice if you are attending the World Expo site for any reason, but even if not, I prefer it to the Regal Airport hotel as it comes across as that much more classy, offering a higher quality experience. However, waiting around for the shuttle bus thaat leaves from the LCC terminal is a bit of a pain but if you are in transit for 24 hours and have checked through your main luggage then you can just get on the Airport Express to World Expo (chargable to an Octopus card at only HKG$5) and walk along the connecting bridge to the hotel's reception. Easy with hand luggage and far quicker than hanging around for the shuttle bus but not an enjoyable option with large hold luggage. Overall, a good choice if you can secure a competitve price but sometimes this hotel can be stupidly expensive - presumably coinciding with a major Expo. I overlooked the sea but could still see (and at times hear) aircraft taking off, making me think that the soundproofing at the Ragal might probably be better as I have never heard anything from their rooms, which may be an issue for light sleepers, but it dd not worry me and I had a great night's rest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cantabflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we missed our onward flight connection. The transfer from the airport was seamless and easy, check-in was efficient and the room was lovely. Room allocation was however inflexible (we asked unsuccessfully for an airport view) and were allocated a smoking room as we had not been asked for a preference. An oversight in my opinion. Wireless is only available free in the lobby, otherwise charged at a very expensive rate. The breakfast was the best in the world!!! inclusions such as freshly squeezed fruit and vege juices, fresh blueberries, and mountains of salmon. The reception staff at the hotel were outstanding - special mention to Susandy and Mark who assisted with a late checkout. And to Darren who assisted with printing our new flight bookings. These kind acts were really appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a nonsmoking room (unless of course you are a smoker!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is great! Walking in you could see the place was perfectly kept. Staff are very helpful and speak perfect English. The room I staying in was big, clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The food at breakfast is great with plenty to choose from. Internet is free and at a good speed. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#96 of 729 in Hong Kong
5,082 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,247 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#31 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,281 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#58 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £104 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing