We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport and Disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Close to airport and Disneyland”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I'm trying to figure why this hotel is rated a category greater than 5? I'm not even able to use my Marriott rewards compared to the amenities and location similar to other Marriott hotels located in Anaheim, California.

Yes, it is close to Disneland. Two train rides to get to Disneyland. There is a scheduled free shuttle to and from Disneyland and Tai Chung
where a huge mall is located. About 9 minutes ride.

Nong Ping where the collosal Buddha sits atop on a hill is a short walk in Tai Chung to take the breath taking cable car ride.
Suggest you purchase ticket in advance from hotel to cut waiting times on the long queue.

Rooms are adequate is size. Fits a family of 4 adequately. Provides free crib for infants upon request. There is a small
sofa that can alternate as a small bed for a small kid.

Buffet breakfast is ok. Free scheduled shuttle from and to airport too which less than 8 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BayAreaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,098
    196
    52
    49
See reviews for
621
640
326
923
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I want to make everyone aware of an issue I faced recently.
I was coming from mainland China to the airport with the ferry but my flight was scheduled for the following day and my intention was to spend the night in the Marriott hotel close to the airport.
For my surprise, I was not allowed to board the ferry to the airport in China since my flight was only scheduled for the next day.
It is hard to understand the reasons behind such constraint, but there was no was of going around this, even though I said many times I would go through Hong Kong immigration at the airport.
Instead I was forced to rebook my ferry ticket to do to Hong Kong city, take a cab and waste 3 hours and quite some money to get to this hotel.

Would I have known that I would have stayed in China one more night and taken the ferry the next day right before boarding my flight.

Now about the hotel: Comfortable, clean, good restaurant and well located (shuttle takes 5 mins).

Room Tip: Ask for one with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The stay at SkyCity Marriott for two nights was quite pleasant.

Room was not particularly nice or bad, but clean and well maintained. We really liked the swimming pool where the man/woman locker has its own sauna facilities. So, I could not enjoy jacuzzi with my wife, but overall my kids had a good time. The staff gave away bottles of water at the pool, which was nice. The shuttles to/from airport and Tung Chung Station were frequent and on time (at times left earlier). The shuttle at night was very crowded to a degree that the seats are almost filled.

For downtown, we took the shuttle to Tung Chung and MTR, which cost us about HK$15-20 per person per way and overall 1-2 hrs, so we thought that it would have been better to stay near downtown, considering the time and the expenses to stay at SkyCity Marriott. On the other hand, accessability to Tung Chung station is quite good where Citygate Outlet and Lantau cable car are located, so if this is where activities are, this place is really recommended.

Airplane noise was often heard, but I was not much bothered.

One minor incident which Marriott is perhaps not responsible for in any way, is that I misplaced personal items (an octopus card and a credit card) at the shuttle from the airport and when I inquired the next morning, was answered that they could not find. I do not doubt Marriott staff and it is possibly other travelers, but I was certainly not happy.

All in all, I would probably stay closer to the downtown next time I visit HK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The overall hotel lobby and restaurants are nicely done. My room would have been ok, on the 10th floor (1056) with a nice view of the bay. Except on my last night's stay, the smoke alarm went off inexplicably with this screeching sound. I had to leave the room. After some time, the maintenance guy came and disassembled it to make it stop the noise. Later that night, the room phone kept buzzing but when picked up had no dial tone. Kept me up all night. Told the front desk next morning upon check out, and did not notice her jotting down a note nor take down the room number. She just checked me out, smiled and apologize for my no-night sleep, and went on to service the next in line. No wonder the room has problems. No one seems to take notice even when problems are reported. Good luck to the next occupant to room 1056.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Resident Manager at Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

I am quite disappointed to read your review about your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the sleepless night you experienced during your stay with us. Your business means a lot to us and it is indeed disheartening to see that we have failed to maintain our product standard, and failed to follow through thoroughly upon your departure.

I appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention. Please know that I am sorry that all did not go well with your stay. I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service and to restore your faith in our property.

Best regards,

Peter Sih
Resident Manager
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stay at the Sky City Marriott routinely when transiting through HKIA. It is always completely efficient to stay there, even though the hotel is large and busy. From arrival at the airport (where they take your luggage trolley and manage your bags right to your room), to checkout, everything is effortless. The restaurants and room service are fast and have good food. One of the best coffees I've had was at Java in the lobby of the hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, have all the conveniences you'd need including free bottled water (pretty standard in Asia), a converter for your plugs, and free wifi (you may need to be enrolled in Marriott Rewards for this). There is a free shuttle to the subway and at the same location is a mall with a food court and large grocery store. Any time directions were given, be it riding the subway and walking in town or regarding transit or hotel facilities, they were detailed and exact. The staff cannot be more helpful, and they always seem pleased just to be so; no one has their hand out for a tip. It is really easy to stay at this hotel. Because it is a large hotel, the hallway is long. You may prefer to request a room near the elevator. I would give this hotel 5 stars except that it can't compete with the truly 5 star hotels and their offerings.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 49ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

You couldn't hear the planes from the airport. The room was good and the bed as well and it felt clean. The food is a bit expensive but good. The gym had what we needed and they have a small swimming pool which was nice. Airport transfer was free for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is specific for business people.
Very, very friendly staff (almost too friendly for me).
Enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back.

Ps: Wifi is not free (does this still exist in 2014?? - I stay monthly on hotels but this is the first one in 3 - 4 years where wifi is charged (@12€ per Day)).

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#102 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,188 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#50 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#49 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Property: Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The only International 5-star hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing