We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #46 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2009

This hotel was the perfect location for us as it is located about 15 minutes on foot, from the HKG Int'l airport. There is also a hotel shuttle to the airport but we preferred to walk as it was a nice day.
Upon checkin, we were graciously greeted by the hotel staff before we even entered the front doors and upon entering, everyone in this hotel was so courteous and helpful. The people at the front desk accomodated us in a wonderful way as we arrived a few hours before check in but they still honored our checkin when we arrived instead of having us wait a few more hours until the real checkin time of 2pm....even gave us a complimentary upgrade!!
The room was immaculate and the beds were so comfortable! There is a flat screen TV and it was a nice quality on at that! The rooms are basically sound proof which we loved and there was no noise of people in the halls throughout the night.
We took public transportation into HKG and there is a bus stop a few minutes away on foot from the hotel (S-1) that will take you to Chung Tung MTR stop for about 50 cents USD. If you take the MTR from the Asia Expo Center stop , to the city, it is about 10USD because it is considered to be the airport express into HKG so it costs more for no stops.
This airport hotel was just right for us as the next morning, we were able to sleep in and then take a quick trip on the hotel van to the airport. It sure beat staying at a hotel in HKG or Kowloon and then having to take a boat, train and bus back to airport!
This hotel and it's staff and rooms deserve a 5 star all the way!!! We will certainly be staying here again on our next stopover in HKG!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,453 - 2,459 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2009

The newly-opened Marriott Sky City 's service and staff were beyond excellent, although the hotel's location away from Hong Kong's city attractions (30 mins by taxi to Kowloon) were a drawback - unless you're planning to visit the Expo centre just across the road. The hotel is located less than 5 mins car ride away from the airport, and offers complimentary airport transfers to guests upon arrival.

We chose to stay at the Marriott Sky City as our family was visiting Disneyland, also on Lantau island, and because the hotel had an attractive opening special. Disneyland however is still a good 15 min taxi ride away, so we could have stayed in Kowloon and commuted to Disneyland instead.

The hotel's rooms are spacious by Hong Kong standards, although it appears they were on a budget in fitting out the rooms. This is a little nitpicky, however the blue carpets in the rooms were shedding fluff badly, and the wood veneer panelling in the bathroom looked cheap. The rooms were thankfully hermetically sealed though, so you will be able to watch planes taking off and landing but won't hear a thing.

I really have to commend the staff on going out of their way to be helpful in every aspect, with even the hotel manager standing outside in the cold with us to see us off!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Perfect Location for this new Marriott in HKG.
Location 200m in front the airport
The hotel has been opened end of 2008 (2 weeks before our stay). Thus this was still in soft opening.
Rooms quiet with the Marriott standard.

Great Lounge at the executive floor.
Great pool in the basement.
Amazing breakfast
Excellent choice for a smooth transit if you find a good deal for it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel was only three weeks old when we stayed there on Jan 1, 2009.From Hong Kong International Airport, the hotel sent out a bus to bring us to the hotel, which is close to the Expo train station.It is amid industrial environment, but I did not hear any plane take off noises.It is a franchised hotel, but managed by the usual diligent Marriott staffs.I enjoyed the two restaurants inside very much. Red Zen serves noodles, and the Bistro serves buffets from morning to night. But the best is the olympic size swimming pool, giving me a great chance to stay indoor for exercise. Inside the changing area, there is the usual hot tub and sauna. The room itself is huge, compared to the other HKG airport hotels(Regal or Novotel).
Internet access is wireless available, costs $140 ( Hong Kong dollar) a day, and printing is also available from the room and personal laptop. Staffs are very helpful,and because of the remoteness of the hotel, taxi fares are refunded for trips between the hotel and Tung Chung MTR station, which is about $40 one way. Hope the ground will be improved in the future,making it a perfect vacation stay. For now, it will do as a quick stop for airport hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank strpyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Marriott Skycity for 4 days from 26 th Dec 08 -30th Dec 08.The hotel officially opened only 2 weeks prior to that, we got an excellent travel industry rate for this property.We arrived at 7 am, approached the hotel desk at HKG airport and was immediately transferred to the hotel by pvt car transfer.(About 10 minute ride)and was immediately checked into an ocean view deluxe room (Which was very spacious by HKG standards) , the amenities were all in line with Marriott standards. We even had a staff visiting us later that day to check if we needed anything in addition , which was excellent .All the staff members we dealt with were extremely polite and willing to assist.

Getting around was less of a hassle than we thought, especially since Im in my last trimester of pregnancy.The Concierge desk even offered a reimbursement of taxi fare , should we need to take a cab at any point to get to the hotel .

We used Octopus cards to get around, and found them very convenient .The Airport express leaves from the Asia Expo just across the road from the hotel, the Asia expo also has a few cafes, which offer breakfast options(though slightly more expensive than standard BB places elsewhere) The Arena is one such outlet. The Asia World Expo Bus terminus is about a 5 min walk from the hotel and Bus S1 (operates at 15 min intervals) will take you to Tung Chung MTR station .That line operates all the way to HKG Central (We mostly spend our time at Mongkok , so we had to change MTR lines at Lai King).CityGate outlet mall is located right at the entrance of TungChung MTR station, and there are a few restaurents located in and around the area.
Ngong Ping Cable Car station is located just across the road from Tung cHung MTR sttaion.

We were quite happy with our stay at Marriott Skycity and would definitely return, and would recommend this property to anyone who is looking to explore Hong Kong, with a base away from the hustle and bustle .

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bengi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wupatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin L, Director of Front Office at Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChamChama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Manager at Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#103 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,766 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,070 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 723 in Hong Kong
639 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#28 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,262 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £140 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing