We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money indeed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Crown Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 272 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed there with my family on March 2014. The room was small but it was okay. Everyday it was cleaned so i have no issue on that except for one time when there was no water in the toilet. The towels are changed everyday as well. Just be warned though that you can hear the noise in the hallway and even in the nearby rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c2maecab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

What i like most about this budget hostel is the location and close proximity to MTR, ferry terminals, airport bus and the shopping belt. Within less than 5 mins, you can walk and access to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. The Star Ferry Terminal and the China Macau Ferry terminas are also about 10 mins walking distance from the hostel. This made access to Central Pier and Macau very easy. At Central Pier, you can take ferry to the outlying islands (eg Lamma Island). You also can take bus no. 15 from the bus stop outside Central Pier to Victoria Peak. From Tsim Sha Tsui MTR, you can easily go to the Ladies' St via Mongkok, to the Wang Tai Sin temple, the Temple Street at Yau Mei Tee and so forth. Attractions like the Avenue of Stars and Promenade, 1881 heitage, space museum, arts museum are also within walking distance from your hostel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xinandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My family of 5 stayed in Golden Crown hostel for 2 week. It was recommended by colleagues who stayed there previously. Room was neat and tidy, staff is friendly and helpful. Very good location great value. Good discounted tickets.

We stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKSYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights both in Golden Crown and New Yiu Fai Guest House (same owners).
We couldn't get a booking for 6 straight nights as they were always fully booked.
We had to transfer 3x but we did not mind. They took care of transferring our stuff to our room. We left our stuff in the previous room and when we came back all our things were already placed in the new room.
We tried 3 kinds of room accommodation on the 6th Floor. 1 night in Golden Crown Quad Room. 1 night in NEW Yiu Fai Quadruple Large and 4 nights in NEW Yiu Fai Connecting Quad. Golden Crown has smaller rooms and cheaper rate (680 HKD) than NEW Yiu Fai (900 HKD)

* Our booking was made on line and paid via Paypal. They have efficient booking system. Kenny (son of the owner) swiftly replied to our email inquiries. He was very accommodating in person as well. They have Filipina / Chinese - lady cleaners who were equally nice and helpful,

* We arrived around 11am and we were able to check in right away.

* Location - Just 1 bus ride (A21) from the airport. Very easy to find :).
MTR TST Carnarvon Exit just walking distance from the guesthouse! We definitely love the location!
Near Shopping Areas like Harbour City Mall (400 meters) / K 11 mall just at the back of the Guesthouse etc. Also Near Avenue of Stars (700 meters) / HK Space Museum, etc

* Rooms comfortably fit 4 pax - Shampoo / Soup / Towels are provided. They give toothbrush and toothpaste if requested. Rooms are cleaned everyday.

* They sell discounted tourist attraction tickets. BUY THERE don't buy on sight. We bought Disney / The Peak / Ngong Ping / Macau Ferry tickets.

* Lots of resto around the area. One of our fave was Cafe de Coral. They served good/affordable breakfast

* Fast WIfi

All in all, we had a grand time in HK. We will definitely book again in Golden Crown / NEW Yiu Fai,

Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Connecting Quad at the 6th Floor highly recommended if you are travelling as family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

On top of all the positive statements given such as proximity, cleanliness and good service. I'd like to add some more:

Free liquid body soaps, free shampoo-not the drying kind. Free refillable drinking water-saved us money. Hot and Cold shower available. Offers higher exchange rate and discounted legit tickets-saved us money too. Some of the staff are Filipinos and really helpful and accomodating, they are particular with cleanliness as i've compared with the previous guest house we've stayed in 2008. Plus very helpful and friendly staff, Kenny, Eric and the old man I can't pronounce his Chinese name.

Higly recommended, i will stay here again to save and use the money instead on tickets/budget to explore HK.

This place is not perfect but it's superb for the cheap price you've paid for an expensive place like HK.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank anythingoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Value for money, clean and comparatively quiet place (in terms of sleeping) in Hong Kong to stay when you are on budget. Very friendly staff - Kenny is a wonderful and helping in all the way. The lifts are very uncrowded especially if you compare it with other guesthouses nearby (it took ages to get the lift in the other guesthouse just around the corner).
Another plus - you can get discounted tickets to different attractions from them skipping the lines and saving some money.
But! Be careful with complicated online booking system. I did not realise it until we arrive. Thanks to Kenny for saving the whole thing.
So, we originally booked the room for two days from Sunday. Paypal prepayment paid, all confirmed via email.
Then our flight was canceled. And we had to fly two days earlier adding another two days in Hong Kong. I wrote an email asking to add another two days and wondering whether we have to pay again. The answer was "confirmed" and "nope".
Assuming that everything is ok we arrived to the place and ... Found out that our booking is still only for two days. Moreover, I had to confirm it on their website (which I did not), otherwise booking was not guaranteed.
Luckily, there was a room for that night and Kenny managed to find a room in other guesthouse fir the next night. The room there was more expensive, but Kenny paid by himself, while we paid our normal rate as if we'd stay at the Golden Crown.
It was probably my fault but I am used to communicating with the hotels via email and as soon as it says confirmed and paid - you don't make any other actions.
To sum up, worth staying in, but read the instructions carefully!

Room Tip: Buy 360 crystal cabin Ngon Pen tickets from them. Saves money and at least 1.5 hours of your life ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherepashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here last december 2013 with my husband for 5 nights. The location is perfect because it is situated near a MTR station and bus stop. You can easily go to different location. As suggested by many of the reviews here, we chose the renovated room. On the first 4 nights we stayed at the renovated double coz there is no available renovated couple by the time we booked with them then we need to transfer on the last night coz we had some adjustments on our flight. I personally like the renovated double than the renovated couple mainly because the restroom has a division for the shower and the toilet. It has also bigger floor area I guess because there is two tables inside the room in the renovated double. There is also free water dispenser available for the customers. This is also where we avail all the tickets for the attractions coz of its discounted price. All in all we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Choose renovated double if you're travelling as a couple then just join in the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluish_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,039 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
994 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
B P International
B P International
#143 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Inn Spirit
Inn Spirit
#1 of 272 in Hong Kong
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Guesthouse

Address: 5F, Golden Crown Court, 66-70 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Crown Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We located in the center of the city and the main hotel area of Hong Kong - Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. There are plenty of restaurants around our building servicing cuisine of many countries, such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Italian, Indonesian, Indian, Vietnamise & American Fast Food... etc. some of them are openning 24-hour.The Hong Kong International Airport Bus A21 and the Airport Express Train is available where is next to us. There are so many convenient going to other parts of HongKong such as MTR , KCR, buses and ferries. Go to China or Macau, the Tsimshatsui East KCR station and the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal is near. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing