We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Thank you for my lovely 4days stay at Cosmo. Your friendly staff and very good support service. The room size is okay for 2 persons. It has enough space for medium size luggage. The location is very good, directly across the road are mobility, and the othercorner is like a small supermarket where you can get nappies, drinks, chips and chocolate etc. Moreover, there is a shuttle bus that brings you to Mongkok, tsimshatsui and Kowloon station. The shuttle bus runs on hourly basis. I love it! I want to stay again and highly recommended to all you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    1,739
    382
    76
    30
See reviews for
921
1,254
319
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I booked this hotel room based on the review from TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed.
Upon arrival, the Concierge immediately took out suitcases and directed us to the reception. Quick and friendly reception staff made the check in almost seamless.
As we were travelling with a 3rd person, we booked a room that is able to accommodate 3 pax and we chose the Suite Air room that comes with a separate bedroom and a sofa bed.
Room was swiftly set up (sofa bed set up into a bed upon arrival) and within a couple of minutes being in the room, our suitecases arrived.
Only set back was the inclusive breakfast, that we tried on our first night, but decided not to go back for it as the food was cold-ish and not much variety. As food in Hong Kong is fairly cheap and plentiful, we decided to sleep in and eat out from then on.
Overall experience was very positive and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose high floors and with a child to choose the Suite Air rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAL4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We’re glad to know that you had a pleasurable stay with us and pleased with the attentive and efficient services provided by our concierge and front office team. Your comments to the breakfast are well taken and will be directed to the restaurant for their further improvement on enriching the variety. We hope to welcome you back soon and experience the same pleasant stay with breakfast selection improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We really loved this hotel. But it was the people who worked there, who made the difference.
We found them all wonderful. Headed by Andrew, he had a great team. Many times we found ourselves at the desk., and they were ever so helpful. It is close to everything, including the Ladies Markets. All in all, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had a very good room, on the 19th level, looking over the exercise park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraddoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Recently stayed at the Cosmo while on a family holiday. Staff where brilliant, so friendly and efficient. Facilities where immaculate. Was surprised to come back to the room to find a birthday card and bottle of wine, they really go the extra mile. Already planning our next stay there, can't give these guys a big enough wrap.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 4 days. i observed that they did not wash the cups and spoons in our room. i smelled the spoon and i still smelled the coffee. we checked out early in the morning. we stayed in the lobby while waiting for our service. while waiting i noticed that my cellphone was missing. i immediately approached the receptionist. i told her that i left my cellphone in my room. she allowed me to returned to my room to check. i went back for two times. unfortunately i did not found my phone. i told the receptionist to kindly check all the rooms that we occupied. she just said yes. she told me that the housekeeping did not found my phone. i asked the receptionist if they have a website were i can leave a comment in their hotel. that's the time the manager approached me. maybe because they know that i will really leave a comment in their website. he told me that he can come with me to check the room. i said no because we are about to leave. the shuttle was already there. i just told the manager that the housekeeping already checked the rooms and they found nothing. i told him that i will just leave a comment in their website. before we leave and while the manager was still convincing me to check my room the housekeeping returned my cellphone. i'm happy that they returned my cellphone. if i did not asked their website they will not make a move to look for my missing cellphone or perhaps they will not returned it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upset2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your comment.
First of all, I would like to express my apologies for your unpleasant experience with the incautious washing of the cups and spoons in your room. While such comment is very rare to us, guests can always approach our 24-hour on duty guest services manager if any issues found inside the guestroom and they would be helpful to offer immediate replenishment. Meanwhile our housekeeping team has been duly briefed with such issue and they are reminded to ensure proper cleaning work to be carried out in line with our standard.
We also regret to learn about your wait for the lost cellphone and the dissatisfactory attitude you encountered with our Front Office team while tracking down your cellphone. While we thank for your patience during the incident as locating lost items may take a little while (and when multiple rooms are involved it is likely more time will be required), may I also apologize for the possible miscommunications that gave rise to your discontent. Please be rest assured guest comments and suggestions always top our concern and in all possible situations we would like to assist guests on the spot instead of leaving them to leave the hotel and comments get attended to afterwards, that is why our manager on duty, once being noted on the issue, immediately offered to do an inspection in all rooms in your presence. In the case lost items were located post guest’s departure, we will also take the initiative to contact guests and arrange delivery to their home countries. That said though, I truly thankful for letting me know about the incident so that we can reinforce training on communications aspect so as to ensure no repeated occurrence in the future. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Good location about a 15 minute walk to the subway station. Shuttle bus from and to hotel is a great idea. Interesting panorama of windows on the upper floors. Room and bathroom is a little small but very well thought out. Breakfast buffet was tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryszard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed in this this hotel for 12 nights in a Air Suite room over Chinese New Year.
For me this was a standard 3 star hotel but I was impressed by the concierge and check in staff, they were always very attentive and polite, opening the entrance/exit doors and calling the lift for guests whenever they saw you coming or going.

Although the room size was stated as 42 sq meters, it did feel small, there was 3 of us (adults), 2 of us sharing the 2 single bed bedroom and 1 of us sleeping on the sofa bed. I've stayed in smaller rooms in Hong Kong before but the room felt small, maybe, just may be because there was 3 of us sharing a room instead of the usual 2, usually there is 4 of us where we would then book 2 rooms to share.

The bathroom sliding door was very closed to the bed, you would be lucky not to touch the bed when entering/exiting the bathroom, the door was made of glass so it always made a bit of noise when opening and closing the door. Part of the door was shaded so it was not good when one person is sleeping whilst the other was using the bathroom as the bathroom lights would lightening up the bedroom. Also the soap came in a tube which was a bit inconvenient as you had to keep on screwing/unscrewing the lid to wash your hands.

The room view was good as we was on a very high floor but the downside to that would be waiting for one of the three lifts, there were not slow but with approx 100 rooms served only by 3 lifts there are going to be busy!!!

We got free WiFi internet and buffet breakfast as we booked through their website (great incentive/bonus to make your booking via the hotel), the downside to the WiFi was constantly signing in every 24 hours. The breakfast was serve in their Thai restaurant on the 2nd floor, the breakfast was nothing special it was as expected; cereal, toast, brioche rolls, croissants, bacon, cocktail sausages, ham, beans, small hash browns, eggs, tea, coffee, juice, congee, steamed dumplings and fruit salad. I heard guests complained about not enough variety or taste but for me it was fine as my breakfast was free, if you don't like it go out of the hotel for breakfast, the only disappointed was the hotel didn't have/provide yogurt.

The hotel is not in Mong Kok but west of it, the area is called Tai Kok Tsui it is in a non tourist area but there is plenty of amenities (restaurants and shops) across the road, like a bakery, pharmacy and supermarket (3 of each) less than 50 meters away. There is also a 24/7 McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Seafood, Congee and BBQ restaurant if you want to eat locally. As it is not a touristy area 50% of the shops were closed for 4 days over the Chinese New Year but that should not deter you from this hotel as Olympic City (Shopping Mall) is 10 mins walk away and Mong Kok is only 15 mins walk away (only 5 mins if you take the free hourly hotel shuttle bus).

I would stay at this hotel again as the area is not overcrowded with locals or tourists, everything you need is nearby and if you need to be/want to be in the touristy areas of Mong Kok, TST or HK Island you can always get the free shuttle bus there/part of the way there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the lift as it is quieter. Increase your chance for a lift by using the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and sharing your experience at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok with other travelers. Cosmo Mongkok is a 4-star hotel and it’s our great pleasure to learn that you’re happy with the professional and attentive services provided by our front office and concierge team and glad to learn that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Although room sizes we provided on our hotel website is to their true measurements, we regret to know that your room appear to you smaller than expected. We however hope that the broad range of room amenities and facilities including iPod dock and free water bar would have made up for this in some ways. Alternatively, on your next return, may we invite you to try out our sister properties Cosmopolitan Hotel or Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong in Wan Chai area where suites measure up to 83 sq. m. are available yet offering the same level of friendly service for an enjoyable stay. Concerning the semi-transparent bathroom door design, while it was designed with an aim to balance privacy and a design touch, we are regretful if it has caused you any inconvenience. As for the sound by the bathroom door, our engineering team could certainly fix the issue on the spot should you had the chance to contact our Guest Services Manager during your stay.

Relating to the long waiting time for the elevators, trust that it was due to the high demand during peak hours when hotel occupancy ran high. We very much appreciated your understanding on this.

We’ve also taken note to your comments regarding the soap in tube providing in our bathroom and choice of yohurt for breakfast. Thanks for your comments and we will certainly get them discussed in our next departmental meetings

As for your comments on the WiFi coverage in room, we hope you had related this to our 24-hour on-duty Guest Services Manager. If time did not allow unfortunately, may we invite you to contact us at mktcom@cosmomongkok.com.hk and provide details of the issue. We will certainly investigate further and rectify as appropriate.

In fact apart from free WiFi and breakfast, by booking with our hotel official site you can also enjoy other exclusive benefits like free 24-hour check in service and 24-hour stay. Perks change from time to time so do stay tuned with our brand website when you plan your next return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing