We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13 Night Break at the Cosmo Hotel, Monkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“13 Night Break at the Cosmo Hotel, Monkok”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay for a holiday break. Great location for getting about. The staff in the hotel were absolutely fantastic. The conceige staff could not do enough and continually opened the door and pressed the button for the lift when they could. We were on the 19th Floor room 1916 with a fantastic view. The shower was unbelievably powerful and bed very comfortable. The maid was lovely and kept our room very clean and was always smiling. The room was small but mostly they are in Hong Kong...lack of hanging space for clothes but it is manageable when all you do is really sleep and get ready in the room to travel around. We used the gym and gym mats would be helpful but did not use the restaurant. Shame there was no bar in the hotel especially on the roof but there is a hotel next door where they have a rooftop bar which we went to on quite a few occasions looking out onto the Hong Kong skyline (a must!!). The weather could have been sunnier but it was warm so comfortable to travel about. Definitely recommend this place. We booked on line as an an early bird special and had free-wifi in the room and requested a queen sized bed. Thank you to everyone at the Cosmo Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable :)

Room Tip: High floor for the fantastic view, request queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,779
    390
    77
    35
See reviews for
947
1,293
331
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Cosmo – Mongkok.

It began before we’d even arrived with an email from the hotel a few days before our trip telling us about some of the activities happening in Hong Kong during our stay and the weather forecast.

The hotel is not actually in Mongkok but located in Tai Kok Tsui which is about a 10 minute walk from the action of Mongkok and much quieter. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the nearest MTR (train) station, alternatively taxis are incredibly affordable.

With three of us travelling we chose to stay in a suite which was a good choice and although compact, there was enough space for us to be comfortable. Everything was impeccably clean and the bathroom was very modern. For those into their showers, water pressure was great! Each day we received a variety of complimentary bottles of water and there was a fresh fruit bowl in the room for our arrival.

Our room was on the 22nd floor of the hotel and the views (esp.at night) were spectacular. With only two lifts though there was often a lengthy wait to get up and down the building, and a crowded ride when the lift did finally arrive.

The hotel staff are worth mentioning because they really were excellent. The staff on reception and concierge were incredibly friendly and helpful and always more than willing to help out with any queries.

The breakfast buffet was quite good with a good mix of Asian and Western options although the staff in the restaurant, unlike the reception staff, were not really up to scratch. At best they were gormless, at worst they verged on rude. Perhaps some hospitality training from the reception staff would be helpful!

All in all a great stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Lucky Laki,

Thank you for your comments. Although the hotel is in close proximity to Mong Kok where all the city happenings abound, it is also located in Tai Kok Tsui area (as you pointed out) that offers the best experience to understand the lives of the locals. I hope you had experienced the uniqueness of both while you were residing with us.

Our apology for the lengthened waiting time for the lifts during your stay possibly due to the high demand during hotel’s high occupancy, we appreciated your kind understanding on this.

Thank you also for reflecting your dissatisfaction with the service quality provided by the restaurant staff. Please rest assured that your feedback have been passed on to the restaurant manager for their further improvement on the staff training. We are sorry for the unpleasant caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

i have been very very happy staying at the cosmo hotel. this is the second time that i have stayed here and am returning later this year, i have told my friends in the u.k. of my pleasant time here the manager has been very helpful and the fact that the staff also seem so cheerful is a comlement to him

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vstearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for a 4 night holiday in a twin room with my Aunty. The hotel is in Mongkok so away from the main tourist areas but this is good as it shows you a different side to HK which you might not otherwise see. The hotel offers a free shuttle minibus to downtown which is really handy, although public transport is very accessible and I'd recommend you take the MTR train at some point too.
We had breakfast included and this was really good; hot food, fruit, cereals as well as made to order eggs (scrambled, omelette, fried).
Our room was on the 17th floor, the lifts can take a little while given the amount of people using them especially in the morning and we never found the stairs but it didn't cause much of a problem.
The room had a great view out over the city - it was an upgraded room from the standard and this is why we had the nice view. The room was small and unfortunately didn't have much storage space but this was not a problem for us so as long as you aren't worried about keeping some things in your suitcase it shouldn't cause you any problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Ludders,
Thank you for your comments. It’s great to learn that you enjoyed the upgraded room with great city view and the breakfast provided by the hotel, we trust your stay with us was a pleasant one.
As for the sizes of guestrooms, in fact, the hotel comprises of five room types sizing up to 42 sq. m. and all of them are thoughtfully designed to maximize the room’s space. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad are the perfect options for guests who enjoy ample space to spread out to work or relax as both can comfortably accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively.
Though our hotel is strategically located amid Mong Kok and Tai Kok Tsui with plenty of public transportation options, the nearest Olympic MTR station is just about 5 to 6 minutes walk away, many guests would still prefer to take advantage of our free shuttle bus services to multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon.
We look forward to welcoming you and your Aunty back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

1st day in HK, I couldn't find the hotel shuttle bus pickup point & ended up taking a cab. Other than that, the free shuttle bus service was great. On-time and efficient. Very helpful staff.

Small but very nice & clean room. Loved the shower heads. Hot water was consistent. Pillows were a little too soft, maybe better to add another pillow or use firmer pillows.

Note that u can only connect 1 device each time for free in-room WIFI (login for 24 hours then relogin again after 24 hours). Soundproofing not perfect. Maybe my room was in front of the lift that's why I could hear people talking at odd hours.

There were free toiletries in the bathroom, 2 free bottles of mineral water, hairdryer, travel adapter for guest use. Enough power points for us to charge 3 devices at one time.

Overall, it was a enjoyable stay at Cosmo Mongkok. =)

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Wei Ting,

Thank you for your comments. We’re glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and was pleased with the helpful services rendered by our professional team.

We regret to learn about your pillow issue. In fact, we do offer pillow options to our guests. Our pillow menu features 11-choice of pillows for guests who check in the CosMorganic Rooms or Suites, guest may choose from the softer choices of feather and scented pillows or the firmer choices of buckwheat and stone pillows – for free. We’re sure that you will find one that best suit your preference the next time when you visit us.

It is also nice to know that you enjoyed the free shuttle services throughout your stay with us. On your next visit, our concierge team would be happy to show you the direction for each shuttle bus waiting point.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the in-room Wi-Fi and soundproofing. In fact, all our rooms are equipped with sound-proof facilities to ensure privacy, in case if a room change is required, our 24-hour on duty guest services manager is always ready to assist.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were lucky enough to have a couple of nights here as a stopover from New Zealand to UK. We arrived in Hong Kong early...6.0am....we caught the Hotel Shuttle Bus from Kowloon Station to the Hotel at 07.40 and the hotel very kindly let us check-in at 9.0am.....for this I cannot thank them enough!!
Yes the rooms are small by western standards but lovely and clean and have all the facilities one would expect!!
The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Its an interesting area and not far to walk to MTR station. The Shuttle Bus is a huge asset and runs to time!!
Plenty of places to eat nearby including a Mc Donald's opposite which do a lovely cooked breakfast ...very cheap and excellent coffee!!!
Bags can be stored and the porterage was exceptional...We would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in a standard queen double room. We enjoyed our stay and the area, but Monkok will not be for everyone. It isn't in the heart of it all like Tsim Sha Tsui, but it is by no means remote (everything you need is no more than a block away). It is more of a neighborhood (that caters to tourists a little less) with the metro a 10 minute walk away. Overall, it is a good value for Hong Kong, in an area where the rest of the city can still easily and quickly be accessed.

Pros
- Room: modern, comfortable size, big window, great bathroom, large desk area, TV with international channels, in room safe
- Free wifi: worked well in room
- Clean: room very clean
- Free water: restocked each day

Cons
-Breakfast and room service expensive

Suggestions
- Book on hotel website: great discounts on multi-day stays, includes wifi, discounted rates for breakfast
- Panda Burger: near the HSBC building on the way to Olympic Station, fantastic burgers- worth the indulgence (they also have healthier options) only open until 8pm.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtwsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,161 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,242 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#87 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing