We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
“Magical Memories”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

t was a pleasant trip for both if us first timers to Hong Kong, despite experiencing black storm. But that does not stop us from going around sight seeing around Hong Kong.

Again my wife and I would like to thank for your great hospitality and awesome guide from your front desk staff namely Billy, Mr.Lee, Gary, Tommy, Cathy & not to forget the bus driver whom dedicatedly fetching us all over. Billy had introduced a really good experience for dim sum and Mr. Lee had been so warmth with his friendliness although our hearts were dishearten by the black storm experience as we have been looking forward to our trip to Disneyland on our second day of arrival.

The hotel is so convenient to all the minimarts, shopping centre, food stalls and MTR. We would definitely be back to Hong Kong and recommend to all of our friends and relatives as well.

Keep up the good work.

Yours sincerely from Malaysia,
Joshua & Debbie

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJthong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Debbie & Joshua,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind support to our hotel. We are so happy to learn that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your kind compliments, it is always encouraging to hear positive reviews from our satisfied guests. Your kind words will be directed to Mr Lee, Billy, Gary, Tommy, Cathy and our shuttle bus driver.

We look forward to having another opportunity of welcoming you both back to Hong Kong and to stay at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    1,761
    386
    77
    32
See reviews for
933
1,276
322
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It has been more than 1 month since we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, still the memories lingers in our mind. Upon our arrival, the staff immediately welcome us and got our baggages. The hotel lobby was big and nice. Though we had a little argument with the reception regarding credit card charges, room availability , it was immediately resolved. Our rooms ( fam quad and cosmorganic room) were on the same floor so we didn't have a hard time mingling together. There was no connecting room or adjacent room for us 7 occupants. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was Average. No rice for us filipinos. Menu was almost the same everyday. . We tried their Thai restaurant food for dinner , and it was satisfying though a little expensive compared if you eat outside the hotel ( theres a mcdo across the street). One good thing about this hotel was its proximity to shopping area. They provide a free shuttle bus going to langham wherein ladies market is just a walking distance. One thing we didn't like was that they didn't give us the kids gift they mentioned in the website. Actually I reminded the receptionist about it and she said that they will give it as soon as the room was ready. It was just a little thing ...but they should fulfill it to make their visitors happy. But I appreciate the manager, upon learning via email about my complain they immediately mailed the kids gift. Thank you! By the way we have free wifi in our rooms . Over all our stay in this hotel was a hoho......

Room Tip: Book via website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neobong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel...location is poor and rooms are uncomfortable and small!!! Much better hotels in HK for this price in better locations. The restrooms are outdated and extremely small, the breakfast is horrible. It was a very uncomfortable and inconvenient hotel to stay at. I come to HK often and made the mistake of staying here...would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Nashdean

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

It is with much regret to learn that you were not satisfied staying with us. In fact our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of MongKok and Tai KokTsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 8-min walk away. This area of Hong Kong is known for its rich local culture and activities, which within 10-15min walk from the hotel you will reach some of the most popular bazaars in Hong Kong such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street. Mega shopping mall like Langham Place is also in the vicinity. Moreover, our hotel also provides free shuttle bus service taking guests to and from various shopping and commercial landmarks around the hotel.

Regarding the room size, in fact, the hotel offers five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are thoughtfully appointed to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Air is the perfect option for you while our Family Quad room is ideal for a family of four.

Your comment of the breakfast is also noted. We will divert your comment to the restaurant for their further review and improvement.

We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
689 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is located in a fantastic area of the city, walking distance to the train.....hotel was really clean....new.....but for the amount I payed for the room come on it could be a little bit bigger.....don't think I will be staying here again due to the size of the room.

Room Tip: If your not used to small rooms man oh man are you in for a shock..... walking around the bed is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Wade

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. Your comment concerning the room size is noted. In fact, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are thoughtfully designed to maximise use of space. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad are the perfect options for guests who enjoy ample space to spread out and relax as both can comfortably accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively.

I hope you will consider staying in this room on your next visit for a complete different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
405 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The service provided at this hotel was second to none. It really was exceptional. The staff were helpful, friendly and obliging.

Unfortunately, this is probably one location we won't be back to as a family. The rooms for our comfort, although nicely present, were far too small. The beds were even smaller. My husband is 6'6" and his feet hung about 30cm off the end of the double bed when lying down straight. For the price, the family suite still felt cramped and really I would feel cluster phobic had we had a fourth family member with us.

Location wise, it is directly across the road from a McDonalds and plenty of small BBQ meats restaurant. I enjoyed being in the "true" neighbourhood of Hong Kong but if you like your luxuries and clean streets - this is probably not suitable for you. You're about 10-15 minutes walk from a couple of different MTR stations depending on which line you're wanting to catch. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that leaves every hour on the half hour that will take you to various locations though including MongKok MTR station (5 minute shuttle ride). We also used the shuttle to get to Kowloon MTR station to catch the airport express and it was fabulous being able to check-in our baggage with the airline and receive our boarding passes at the Kowloon MTR station.

The buffet breakfast is limited and less than ordinary unfortunately.

This is an area of Hong Kong where english is definitely non-existent apart from the hotel staff. You will need to rely on pictures if you choose to dine at the local eateries.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_of_thre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We’re delighted that you were pleased with the great service rendered by our professional staff.

We regret to know that the family suite appeared smaller to you than expected. In fact, bed extension is available for taller guests upon request to ensure guests have a good rest, we hope that you had the chance to ask our Front Office staff to make that special arrangement for you. We, however, hope that the thoughtful room amenities and facilities including iPod dock and free water bar would have made up for this in some ways.

Your comment on the breakfast selection is noted and will be directed to the restaurant for their further improvement on enriching the daily variety.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having been to Hong Kong a couple of times, Cosmo hotel Mongkok is definitely one of the hotels I would recommend to people visiting.
Located on the Kowloon side, the hotel is situated about 10mins (slow walk) from Olympic Stadium and another 10-15mins walk to the heart of Mongkok. No fear if you don't want to have to walk as the hotel has shuttle services every hour, which makes it very convenient to getting to the shopping areas, as well as to and from the Kowloon Airport Express stop.
Check in at the hotel was a breeeze, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable enough for 2 persons and was clean. The only advice I can give is to ask for extra pillows, as there was only 1 per bed and they were quite flat.
Free WIFI in the lobby was great too, as it was still quite fast despite quite a fair bit of ppl accessing it at the same time.
All in all a great stay, at a great price and I'd definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We really liked the hotel! First impression was like: wow! Clean and nicely decorated rooms. Excellent breakfast, very, very nice restaurant and great service provided by the customer service orientated staff. If I would go to HK one more time, I would definitelly choose Cosmo Hotel Mongkok again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing