We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice service but impersonal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, nice service but impersonal.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Overall the hotel is good considering the cleanliness and modern and fresh interior design. Friendly but stressed service as this is a busy and big city hotel.
Depending on your preference the location might be inconvenient as the mtr(subway) is 15minute walk away.The hotel however, offers a frequent free shuttle service throughout the day.
Free WiFi is provided but only for one device per room...which we can't understand.
Our room was very small but well planned...expected something bigger for the high rate.
Breakfast is average, pricey....would recommend to eat outside.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lir0K0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Lir0k0

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok, Hong Kong! We trust your stay with us was a pleasant one.

In fact, the nearest Olympic MTR train station is only 4 minutes walk away. While the hotel offers free shuttle bus service bringing guests to some of popular shopping and business destinations in Kowloon, there are also many interesting tourist spots in the neighbourhood which are within 10-15min walking distance such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street.

For guestroom size, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suite a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious stay on your next visit.

We have noted your comment on the number of device allowed for using free in-room WiFi, we will definitely review this further with the management, we regret for any inconvenience caused at present.

Your comment on the breakfast is also well noted. We will reflect this with the restaurant manager and will work on enhancing the food quality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,779
    390
    77
    35
See reviews for
947
1,293
331
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Simple, clean and good location. Worth the money. The service of the hotel staffs fantastic and there is also free shuttle available. Overall good recommendations to stay here, the only lacking of this hotel is the hotel room too small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashilyseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Ashilyseo

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. We’re delighted that overall you had a enjoyable stay with us.

Regarding the room size, in fact, the hotel offers five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are thoughtfully appointed to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Air is the perfect option for you while our Room Family Quad is ideal for a family of four.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

t was a pleasant trip for both if us first timers to Hong Kong, despite experiencing black storm. But that does not stop us from going around sight seeing around Hong Kong.

Again my wife and I would like to thank for your great hospitality and awesome guide from your front desk staff namely Billy, Mr.Lee, Gary, Tommy, Cathy & not to forget the bus driver whom dedicatedly fetching us all over. Billy had introduced a really good experience for dim sum and Mr. Lee had been so warmth with his friendliness although our hearts were dishearten by the black storm experience as we have been looking forward to our trip to Disneyland on our second day of arrival.

The hotel is so convenient to all the minimarts, shopping centre, food stalls and MTR. We would definitely be back to Hong Kong and recommend to all of our friends and relatives as well.

Keep up the good work.

Yours sincerely from Malaysia,
Joshua & Debbie

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJthong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Debbie & Joshua,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind support to our hotel. We are so happy to learn that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your kind compliments, it is always encouraging to hear positive reviews from our satisfied guests. Your kind words will be directed to Mr Lee, Billy, Gary, Tommy, Cathy and our shuttle bus driver.

We look forward to having another opportunity of welcoming you both back to Hong Kong and to stay at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

It has been more than 1 month since we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, still the memories lingers in our mind. Upon our arrival, the staff immediately welcome us and got our baggages. The hotel lobby was big and nice. Though we had a little argument with the reception regarding credit card charges, room availability , it was immediately resolved. Our rooms ( fam quad and cosmorganic room) were on the same floor so we didn't have a hard time mingling together. There was no connecting room or adjacent room for us 7 occupants. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was Average. No rice for us filipinos. Menu was almost the same everyday. . We tried their Thai restaurant food for dinner , and it was satisfying though a little expensive compared if you eat outside the hotel ( theres a mcdo across the street). One good thing about this hotel was its proximity to shopping area. They provide a free shuttle bus going to langham wherein ladies market is just a walking distance. One thing we didn't like was that they didn't give us the kids gift they mentioned in the website. Actually I reminded the receptionist about it and she said that they will give it as soon as the room was ready. It was just a little thing ...but they should fulfill it to make their visitors happy. But I appreciate the manager, upon learning via email about my complain they immediately mailed the kids gift. Thank you! By the way we have free wifi in our rooms . Over all our stay in this hotel was a hoho......

Room Tip: Book via website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neobong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel...location is poor and rooms are uncomfortable and small!!! Much better hotels in HK for this price in better locations. The restrooms are outdated and extremely small, the breakfast is horrible. It was a very uncomfortable and inconvenient hotel to stay at. I come to HK often and made the mistake of staying here...would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Nashdean

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

It is with much regret to learn that you were not satisfied staying with us. In fact our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of MongKok and Tai KokTsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 8-min walk away. This area of Hong Kong is known for its rich local culture and activities, which within 10-15min walk from the hotel you will reach some of the most popular bazaars in Hong Kong such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street. Mega shopping mall like Langham Place is also in the vicinity. Moreover, our hotel also provides free shuttle bus service taking guests to and from various shopping and commercial landmarks around the hotel.

Regarding the room size, in fact, the hotel offers five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are thoughtfully appointed to meet the needs of business and leisure travellers. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Air is the perfect option for you while our Family Quad room is ideal for a family of four.

Your comment of the breakfast is also noted. We will divert your comment to the restaurant for their further review and improvement.

We hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
709 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is located in a fantastic area of the city, walking distance to the train.....hotel was really clean....new.....but for the amount I payed for the room come on it could be a little bit bigger.....don't think I will be staying here again due to the size of the room.

Room Tip: If your not used to small rooms man oh man are you in for a shock..... walking around the bed is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Wade

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. Your comment concerning the room size is noted. In fact, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are thoughtfully designed to maximise use of space. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad are the perfect options for guests who enjoy ample space to spread out and relax as both can comfortably accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively.

I hope you will consider staying in this room on your next visit for a complete different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
412 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The service provided at this hotel was second to none. It really was exceptional. The staff were helpful, friendly and obliging.

Unfortunately, this is probably one location we won't be back to as a family. The rooms for our comfort, although nicely present, were far too small. The beds were even smaller. My husband is 6'6" and his feet hung about 30cm off the end of the double bed when lying down straight. For the price, the family suite still felt cramped and really I would feel cluster phobic had we had a fourth family member with us.

Location wise, it is directly across the road from a McDonalds and plenty of small BBQ meats restaurant. I enjoyed being in the "true" neighbourhood of Hong Kong but if you like your luxuries and clean streets - this is probably not suitable for you. You're about 10-15 minutes walk from a couple of different MTR stations depending on which line you're wanting to catch. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that leaves every hour on the half hour that will take you to various locations though including MongKok MTR station (5 minute shuttle ride). We also used the shuttle to get to Kowloon MTR station to catch the airport express and it was fabulous being able to check-in our baggage with the airline and receive our boarding passes at the Kowloon MTR station.

The buffet breakfast is limited and less than ordinary unfortunately.

This is an area of Hong Kong where english is definitely non-existent apart from the hotel staff. You will need to rely on pictures if you choose to dine at the local eateries.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_of_thre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We’re delighted that you were pleased with the great service rendered by our professional staff.

We regret to know that the family suite appeared smaller to you than expected. In fact, bed extension is available for taller guests upon request to ensure guests have a good rest, we hope that you had the chance to ask our Front Office staff to make that special arrangement for you. We, however, hope that the thoughtful room amenities and facilities including iPod dock and free water bar would have made up for this in some ways.

Your comment on the breakfast selection is noted and will be directed to the restaurant for their further improvement on enriching the daily variety.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,165 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,242 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#87 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing