We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel is next to Mongkok but good access via free shuttle bus. Excellent area for 'local' shopping and street markets. Staff go extra mile to keep guests happy. Forget the 'night market' at Temple street, better markets at first free shuttle bus stop at Langham place. Close look at hotel map shows even better markets and better atmosphere, just to the north of the hotel, 10-15 minutes walk (especially for cameras and computers go to Golden - it's marked on, hotel issued, map), and an interesting walk also. Want local advice? ask the Senior security officer, he wears a white shirt or Eric Tsoi one of the Guest Services Managers. You can book good trips through the concierge and a night cruise dinner. Night cruise was interesting but overall average and boring. Day trip to the Bronze Buddha was part good and part boring. The usual stop at a tourist spot of no interest to Europeans. then a factory visit, ho hum .. but the cable ride up to and down from the bronze Buddha is an experience, and not liking heights I still found it so interesting that my trepidation soon suppressed itself. Also a side trip to a seaside village on stilts, great interest. Of course if you're not a seasoned traveller you may find my report a little odd, but this is now my 104th country (if it is a separate country from Mainland China) I have visited: I would rate the HongKong/Mongkok area a good place to stop over - we spent 14 days here a little too long for comfort, with the typhoon and steamy weather; suggest you travel there in late October and restrict your credit card use to places of business with a fixed address; not the markets. Cosmo hotel offers better rate of exchange for foreign currency than the many Burea de Change. Overall we would stay here again, unusual since we seldom choose the same hotel twice - but the Cosmo is very friendly and good access to everything. Oh by the way, don't bother with the breakfast there are local eateries with cheaper and better food and the Thai restaurant in the Hotel is pathetic. Not a five star hotel but right up at the top of its class.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2018, good city and water views - low noise level and interesting night scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barisobel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,779
    390
    77
    35
See reviews for
947
1,293
331
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at family quad room for 7 nights. It has 1 queen bed & 2 single beds. Room is clean and there are 12 pillows in the room. Breakfast buffet is the same every day with standard menu.

It's not located at Mongkok as stated. It's in Tai Kok Sui and the hotel provides free shuttle bus to Mongkok, Canton Road & Kowloon station every hour. The nearest MRT station is Olympic station (15 minute walk).

The concierge man seemed to have fooled me by giving the taxi driver wrong address so it's better to call taxi on road by yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naticatannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Naticatannia

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok, Hong Kong.

In fact, we are located between Tai Kok Tsui and Mongkok districts, with a short 4-min walk to the nearest Olympic MTR station.

We have noted your comment on the breakfast selection, we will definitely review the breakfast variety with the restaurant manager for further improvement. Regarding the taxi issue that you encountered, we are sorry about that. While we believe it was caused by miscommunication, please rest assured we will remind our staff about this and will further enhance our staff training to make sure this will not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from HK on 11 Aug and stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Overall experience I would rate as average with the following feedback:

Location : in close proximity to lots of eating options with MacDonald (Macafe) just across the road. But approximately 7-10 mins (depending on your speed) walking distance to nearest Olympic MTR station
Service : Friendly staff and free shuttle bus service
Price : Direct booking with the hotel through the web and enjoy 30% early bird booking rate with free wi-fi.
Room: I booked the comfort room approx 19 sq.m. Managable size with a bar bridge, desk, safe and small hanging open closet. Bathroom is small and neat with rain shower and toiletries provided

Bad:
Unless you take the free shuttle bus service (every hour frequency), otherwise it will be quite travelling time (depending where you travelling back) as you will need to switch to the blue MTR line to get back to Olympic Station.
Pillow - too soft. We requested for extra pillow
Shower room - frosted glass. Not recommended to travel with kids
Room comfort - no night light. If you leave the shower room light on, too bright.

Suggest travellers to take the airport express train from the airport and alight at the Kowloon station to catch the free shuttle bus service to the hotel. If you miss the timing, take a taxi about 10 mins drive and cost below HK$100 (low traffic). if you travel in group, you will be able to enjoy 40% discount on the ticket price. On departure, you can check in your luggage at the Kowloon station.

If you would like to try local congee, across the road and straight down from MacDonald there is a 大师父粥品. They have a wide range of congee and other local delight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne118642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Anne

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

In fact, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 4-min walk away from our hotel, but most of the guests prefer to get to the Mongkok MTR station in our free shuttle bus, which only takes 5-min.

For the pillow selection, we do have 11 choices of pillows of different texture for guests to choose from at no cost. We hope that you had the chance to ask our Guest Service team for immediate assistance on the spot to have the pillow menu..

Regarding our bathroom, the use of frosted glass is a matter of design, guests who value privacy may choose to stay in our Suite Air and Room Family Quad which provide a spacious separated bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed in Cosmo Hotel Mongkok with my mother for 4 nights recently and here are some of my advices / observations:

1) The hotel provides limousine bus service to the hotel / airport at HKD140 per person per way. I would suggest do not bother to take that. Instead, you can take the Airport Rail Express at a cheaper rate of HKD90 per way, alight at Kowloon Station, and wait for the hotel shuttle bus. Timetable for the shuttle bus is available at the hotel's website. The bus is grey in colour with the hotel name on it. The waiting area is at the drop-off point at the Ground Floor, very convenient I would say.

2) Be sure to book your room early from the hotel's website as they have discounted rates and come with free wifi.

3) The room is very small, and if both of you guys are of larger built, chances that both of you to knock into each other or hit the luggages are high. Room comes with 2 complimentary bottled mineral water, hair dryer, and basic toiletries. Not forgetting their Ipod / Iphone dock! No problem in charging Iphones! Very good wifi connection too!

4) The hotel's shuttle bus service runs once per hour and stops at 3 places:
a) Langham Place, Mongkok - A shopping mall and where Mongkok MTR Station is located.
b) China Hong Kong City - Another shopping mall located at Tsim Sha Tsui area and you can get a ferry to Macau / Mainland China.
c) Kowloon Station - Trains to the airport / Disneyland / Other parts of Hong Kong.
Be sure to be early for the shuttle bus as the bus is small and gets full very fast during peak hours (mornings). The male drivers are pretty rude though when it comes to driving. Despite that, there is one female boy-cut driver who is very nice and gentle! I think she likes classical music as she would switch on the classical music radio channel and it's very relaxing after a long day walk! Kudos to her and we love her service!

5) The hotel is close to many amenities and restaurants! 24-hour McDonald's is just located opposite! You can get other local restaurants, pharmacies, and mini markets along the street! Rest assured that you won't get starved during midnight!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QiaQia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear QiaQia

Thank you for your valuable time to share your experience you had of our hotel with other travellers.

We noted your comment on the room size. In fact, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Air is the perfect option for you while our Room Family Quad is ideal for a family of four.

As for the complimentary shuttle bus, as the service operates on a first-come-first-serve basis, we always suggest our guests to start queuing 5 to 10 minutes before the departure time. Concerning the attitude of the male driver, we have highlighted your comment to the bus company to ensure friendly and thoughtful services to be provided to our guests at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

YES, the cheapest rooms are small (VERY SMALL)! Yes, it’s a bit expensive. But it is relatively close to lots of shopping and attractions. It is a good walk to the train station, and can be a difficult to find for the first time, so bring some maps, and know where you need to go. VERY nice people though. No free breakfast.
Here is a tip, don’t pay for wifi, but use the neighboring hotel’s free wifi, if you are on one of the higher floors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We only had the one night here as we were connecting from our cruise to a flight.
It's got a novel, modern character to it, which sets it apart from other run-of-the-mill hotels.
The rooms are quite small and the bathroom is rather crammed into the corner of the room.
It's fine for a night or two, but any longer and you're liable to be tripping over each other or your luggage.
We had a decent night's sleep and had a room high up at the back of the hotel which offered a good view of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed there last night. (07th August). I would like to break it down in simple to understand points.

GOOD points -
Warm staff. (Helpful!)
Good value. (decent price!)
Free wifi. (Great.)
Free shuttle to Mongkok area and others (See website for bus schedule and pickup points)
(TIP: Runs only once an hour! So plan your schedule especially for pickup unless you want to hike it back)

NOT SO GOOD points -
Walk from Olympic MTR when arriving from Airport- It takes a good 15 mins. Ivy Road is not that easy to find especially when you are walking on the elevated sheltered walkway. (TIP: Exit B and walk till 2nd or 3rd elevator, turn right and you should be at Ivy Street).

Walk from Mongkok area - 1.3km to 1.5km according to Google Maps. Quite a far walk (Average 15 mins). Might be better to take a cab, if you can catch one or wait for the bus.

Bed in room - It is NOT a queen sized bed. I recently bought an asian queen sized bed for my home, and my legs do NOT stick out when I sleep. I am very certain that their queen sized beds are tailor-made to fit the room. Had to sleep diagonally or curl up to prevent legs from hanging at the edges. (Info: I'm 1.78m tall, approx 5 ft 10. So anyone who is taller than me will definitely have a problem.)
Maybe the hotel can provide this disclaimer when they list their rooms (I took a Comfort room)
If you want to google difference in Asian Queen sized and European queen sized, you will see that the Asian queen sized is even smaller than the Euro queen.

In Summary, I might return if I cannot find something else with a better location / price.
Overall, still a comfortable stay with good value. Worth considering! :)

Room Tip: Hair dryers as well as electrical plugs are conveniently located in the room drawer. Room comes wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear ozma007

Thank you for writing us a review.

In fact, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 4-min walk away from the hotel. Alternatively, guests can also reach the MongKok MTR station in 5-min with our free shuttle bus. Moreover, our shuttle bus is also taking guests to and from various shopping and commercial landmarks around the hotel.

We are sorry for the bed issue that you encountered, in fact, we do offer bed extension for taller guests upon request, we hope that you had the chance to contact our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Team to assist you during your stay, we regret for the discomfort caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,166 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,242 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing