We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but NICE!!, Excellent STAFFS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but NICE!!, Excellent STAFFS!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were very appreciated all the staffs of this hotel before our arrival. I had talked to them through email due to my boyfriend's birthday in Hong Kong. Mr. Eddy and reservation staffs provided us a luxury room with nice view and offered me the excellent arrangement to surprise my boyfriend on his birthday. We came back from Macau to the hotel so late that night and I didn't think there would be any surprise at that time (around 11 p.m.). Surprisingly, Mr. Eric (Guest Service Manager) and his team waited for us. They came to our room and gave my boyfriend a beautiful birthday song and a chocolate cake. My boyfriend and I were very appreciated that. The room was small, but it was not the problem for us. Warm welcome and thoughtful service gave us the best time in Hong Kong !!

Room Tip: Cosmorganic rooms are recommended for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangmuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    1,779
    390
    77
    35
See reviews for
947
1,293
331
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

our 3 night stay in Hong Kong was made enjoyable by the friendly, helpful staff, especially Eric and the guest services .Always smiling. A reliable
shuttle service, clean rooms with upkeep to an excellent standard -reasonably priced and plentiful breakfast.. Extra charge if WiFi required in room only downfall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the Cosmo, Mongkok, Hong-Kong, for 5 days and we have only praise and great appreciation of the place. The hotel is modern and tastefully decorated. As many reviewers noted, the rooms are very small. However, they are very smartly designed with lots of glass and mirrors and thoughtful arrangement of the room's furniture. And so, our room had everything we needed and had a cheerful, bright feel. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant; the location is great; the breakfast buffet is good, providing ample Chinese and Continental selections including coffee, tea, juices, some dim-sum items, breads, cereal, croissants, fruit and more. The gym is small but the three aerobic machines they have (elliptical; treadmill, and stationary bike) are in top condition and it is open 24 hours which is unusual and very welcomed. We didn't use the Kowloon free shuttle but the airport shuttle that we did use (not for free) was on time and efficient. We will definitely choose this hotel again when we'll visit Hong-Kong again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ererap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here based on trip advisor comments. I have to say I was disappointed. I did not know Hong Kong but found out it was a fair walk to transport and and any points of interest. In the rainy season that was an issue. The rooms are tiny and the bed was not long enough for my 180 cm frame. This is the first time I've ever experienced this. The breakfast was only so so. There is no cooling system for the cold products so if you are late, the milk, juice, water etc are warm. On the plus side they have a shuttle bus to a number of sites, the reception/ lobby staff are helpful and the rooms are modern and clean. I would not recommend -if you are tall, or have a lot of luggage or want to do anything in your room except sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Mr Wollongong,

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok, Hong Kong.

In fact, we are located between Tai Kok Tsui and Mongkok district, with a short 4-min walk to the nearest Olympic MTR station. Alternatively, guests can also reach the Mongkok MTR station in 5-min with our free shuttle bus. Moreover, our shuttle bus is also taking guests to and from various shopping and commercial landmarks around the hotel.

We have noted your comment on the room/bed size. We offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. Our Suite Air measuring 42 sq.m. is the perfect option for a more spacious and relaxing stay. In fact, bed extension is available for taller guests upon request to ensure guests have a good rest. We hope that you had the chance to contact our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Team to assist you during your stay, we regret for the discomfort caused.

Your comment on the breakfast will also be shared with the restaurant manager, for their reference and further improvement.

We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Nice, spacey clean rooms, cheerful hotel personnel.Although we stayed during a very hot and humid season, we didn't even use the A/C at night. Try to get a room with window. I highly recommend Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

It is 11am when we arrived at the door of Cosmo Mongkok, when couple of hotel staff help us with our luggage and bags. Then right away though the usual check-in is about 3pm, we've been admitted coz of the promo. When we entered the room at the 9th floor it was like the room we stayed at Fragrance Hotel Ruby in Singapore. Though the room was small, it is well ok. Everything went nice. Inside the room they have security deposit box, a big window with automatic curtain ( but our room was located at the back so the only thing we see is other near buildings and a roof top with guys doing some jackie chan stuff) blow dryer, free coffee, tea, and bottled water. Comport room is very clean and complete with all you need, from shampoo, bathgel, so you don't have to bring your own stuff. Cosmo Mongkok is 10 to 15mins walk to olympic plaza, a big shopping mall with MTR stations that is interconncted with other stations and 15mins walk to ladies market if you like walking. And the front side of the hotel, there is a Mcdonalds store, 7eleven, lots of restaurants serving chinese food.
For me Cosmo Mongkok is a very good choice to stay in hongkong. Reasonable room rates, very helpful staff personnel, nice lobby, restaurant and coffee shop at the 1st and 2nd floor. What can you ask for. A good choice to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 7177_elra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Like all other hotels in hongkong, the rooms are small and there's hardly any room for movement without bumping into the bed or the table.

Check-in & out was efficient. A $500HKD deposit was required during check-in, or alternatively, a $500HKD credit card charge was accepted too, which we gladly chose. Most of the staff are friendly and put a smile on their face, which is an extremely rare sight in Hongkong.

There are only 2 lifts that serve 27 floors, which means long waiting time if you're unlucky. The sight that greeted you when you exit the lift on your floor is amazing. The design surely looks like some 5-star hotel or even better than that!

One down-side of the room is the bathroom. you can make out the color and contours of the person in the bathroom, which makes it slightly awkward if you would like some privacy or your private space. Really bewilders me who thought of this design. -.-" The shower was excellent.

Location wise is not too bad. but its probably a 20 minutes walk to the ladies market and 10 mins walk to the Olympic MTR. Not much shopping to do at nearby vicinity, though there are numerous small eateries and bakeries nearby!

One thing that irritated me was the Wi-Fi. Wi-fi is available only in the lobby - you've to pay exorbitant amount for wi-fi in the room. To exacerbate the matter, the lobby is extremely small with very limited seats. Hence, you can see people standing all over the lobby using their laptop and other devices - which i think is totally unacceptable!

Pillow provided by the hotel wasn't comfortable as well. Made us wake up in the morning with a neck-ache.

Will I stay here again? Well I would probably look elsewhere for a hotel that provides free wifi in the room for the same price. I believe there's plenty around! Location-wise, its pretty neutral.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments.

We have noted your comment on the room size. In fact, the hotel offer different types of rooms that range in size, amenities and luxury. You may try our Suite Air or Family Quad room measuring 440.sq.ft on your next visit for a more spacious stay. With regards to the lift, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. At the moment, we have three lifts operating concurrently. However, the one that located about 8 feet away from the two main guest lifts is often underutilised, we would definitely remind our Security or Housekeeping team to assist our guest and direct them to the third lift during peak hour.

Regarding our bathroom, the use of frosted glass is a matter of design, guests who value privacy may choose to stay in our Suite Air or Room Family Quad which provide a spacious separated bathroom. We regret if it has caused you any inconvenience.

Location wise, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 4-min walk away from our hotel, but most of the guests choose to get to the Mongkok MTR station in our free shuttle bus, which only takes 5 minutes. Moreover, our shuttle bus is also taking guests to and from various shopping and commercial landmarks around the hotel.

As for the WiFi, we would recommend guests to book thru our hotel official website in advance and enjoy the exclusive privileges like free WiFi in guestrooms, 24-hour check-in/out and best rate guarantee etc.

For the pillows, in fact, we do provide 11 choices of pillows for guests to choose from at no cost. We hope that you had the chance to ask our Guest Services team for immediate assistance on the spot to have the pillow menu and extra pillow delivered to your room. We are very sorry for the discomfort caused.

Once again, thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,164 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 718 in Hong Kong
797 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,242 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing