We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice and clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

1. A very small room...but have all the well-manner staff....
2. A walking distance to MTR station....
3. The shuttle bus have little places when in a peak time...recommend that every 30min per waiting time for shuttle bus service and add some new route for going to the attraction place...
4. It was noisy in the early morning when have China people with children in that particular floor ....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

Regarding the room size, in fact, we offer 5 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. On your next visit, you may consider staying in our suite room measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious and relaxing stay experience.

Location wise, we are located between Tai Kok Tsui and Mongkok districts, with a short 4-min walk to the nearest Olympic MTR station. Alternatively, guests can also reach the Mongkok MTR station in our free shuttle bus, which only takes 5-min.

Your feedback regarding the shuttle bus service has been noted as well. We will definitely revisit the demand during peak hour and consider your suggestion of including more new routes.

We are sorry for the occasional noise disturbance you experienced this time. We will definitely look into this to ensure all the guestrooms are properly sound-proofed as they should be.

We hope the comfortable accommodation will bring you and your family back to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,478 - 2,484 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This review is a little overdue, since my trip to Hong Kong was in mid-December last year.
I just have to share my experience on Dorsett Mongkok, as it was a really awesome one.
Me and my friend chanced upon a very affordable flight+hotel package on Zuji.com that was tied in with this hotel. We did some research on our own and found that Dorsett Mongkok has many rave reviews, hence we decided to go for it.
Boy, were we not disappointed at all.

Dorsett Mongkok Hotel is situated near Olympic MTR Station (about a 10-minute walk), away from the town area but not any less of the Hong Kong style of hustle and bustle.
There are many food eateries options around the hotel area, with a supermarket, two 7-11 outlets and a 24-hour McDonald’s just opposite it.
Olympic Station itself has this mega mall next to it, called the Olympian City.
There, you can find brands like H&M, Hui Lau Shan, Tim Ho Wan, Bershka, SaSa, Timberland, Uniqlo, and many many more.
The hotel also provides free shuttle bus service to and fro the airport (from Kowloon Station), as well as to places like Langham Place, Ladies Market, Canton Road, Elements, etc.

To add, the hotel staff were very nice, friendly and professional.
Our check-in time was supposed to be at 2pm but we arrived earlier at about 12 noon.
Thinking we can just leave our luggages with the hotel and and go for lunch, then return at 2pm again. However, the receptionist pleasantly informed us that we can check-in straight and proceed to our room as it was ready.
Our luggages were brought up to our room by the hotel staff, without us having to lug them up ourselves.

Our room was relatively small (as of most hotels' / hostels' in Hong Kong), but very clean, comfortable and well-equipped with all the neccessities we need. It was a pity we didn't manage to get a room on the higher floors, as the outside view would have been much better.
We slept very well though throughout the 7 nights, so much so I didn't wanna get out of bed to head outside.
The hotel's friendly cleaning ladies came dutifully every morning and did their job really well.

The next time I visit Hong Kong, I would very much love to stay at Dorsett Mongkok again!! ^_^

To read more about the rest of my Hong Kong trip, visit my site!
http://cycliclapse.com/speak/ving/2014/01/20/

Room Tip: Request for rooms on higher floors for a better outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VingV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from HK having stayed in this hotel for 16 nights! first impressions was as expected, small! Must be the tiniest bathroom ever! However the longer we stayed the more I liked this hotel!

The staff are excellent from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave...very good service! The concierge even took time out to help me with a cell phone sim card!

The manager gave my little girl a red envelope through Chinese New Year and then came out of his way to say hello to us days later as he remembered us.

The only problems where the lift as it took a good 10mins at peak times to arrive and when they did arrive, they where always full! Can be noisy with slamming doors and mainland china's shouting in corridors at early hours (6am)!

room was always clean, decor good! Due to the size of the room i had to keep all my things tidy which is a blessing in disguise!

local area seemed dirty and smelly but good range of places to eat. in all good area to be as really close to the Olympic city which has an excellent food court.

I found it was a good place when connecting on MTR's.

I would recommend this hotel, great view out the window and good design of the room with excellent staff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug2010England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed 3 nights last week.This hotel is second time for me.Last week was very cold in Hong Kong.It was 8~10 degrees .I often used kettle for to drink tea.Kettle made hot water quickly.
The room is small but very cleanliness.I'm going to stay next time in Hong Kong .

Room Tip: High floor is good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Choosing a hotel is really important. Of course part of a happy & memorable trip is that you have a comfortable accommodation. Good thing that we got at Dorsett Mongkok. Although our stay at hotel was purposely for sleeping, we had a great slumber on a very soft pillow & nice bedding. We had a nice view at the city on our room. There's no hassle on our trip, Great as we expected!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_G0nzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent boutique hotel rooms very small but practical, good breakfast & staff that are five star for service. located in middle of Mong Kok . A great cultural experience if you want to be with the local population with up market shopping malls a twenty minute walk away. Free shuttle to the local markets & the harbour ferry to Hong Kong return by cab very cheap. Only problem if you want western food other than McDonalds it is difficult to eat but you are surrounded by restaurants of the local cuisine.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The family rooms are located at the top level, providing a magnificent view across this part of Hong Kong. Because size is a constraint in HK, I wouldn't complain about the size, but they cleverly fitted 2 bedrooms, 1 toilet, and 2 tables in a 42sqm area. Decor is modern and newly renovated. Room is very clean. There are bay windows, which double up as a luggage area or resting space.

Service was excellent from the time we arrived. We were allowed to check-in very early, and given 2 little bears as our welcome gift. It's a small hotel but we were greeted walking in and out of the hotel, requests were met with promptly too.

Although it was far off the main Mongkok area, shuttle buses were provided up till 11pm so it's quite convenient. However, the locations provided by the shuttle bus were not very convenient. For example, the drop-off point near Star Ferry terminal, was not exactly near and involved a 10 minute walk. In the end we chose to walk to the Olympic station, about 10mins away from the hotel, most of the time. It's an easy walk and along the way there are shops and food. Anyway taxis in HK are relatively cheap and fit up to 5 people, for the red ones. So we ended up taking taxis quite a lot. They are not aware of Dorsett but will know the place if u refer to the hotel just next door - Bak Lie Jao Dim (in Cantonese).

Dining around the area is easy. There is a 24 hour macs and a few 24 hour HK cafes just across the road. There are stalls opening early in the morning where u can stock up on fruits. There is also an organic shop if you need anything organic. The vibrant Mongkok shopping district is just a 15mins walk away and is only less than 25hkd if u want to take a taxi.

Overall it was a wonderful experience staying there and I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Family rooms at top level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,380 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#110 of 727 in Hong Kong
992 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#127 of 727 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £50 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing