We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy smartphone, ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy smartphone, ok hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a family trip. Service was ok (no better or worse than others I had stayed). The nice feature it has is a smartphone they provided you which acts as a hotspot for the free wifi, and allow you to call US landline for free. It's also great to use to find various attractions as it's a GPS and you can use google in conjuction to find the place you want to go. The room in the hotel is a little cramped, but that is true for most of hong kong hotels. I did find my bedsheet has some faded stain which is a little off putting. The location is also not the closest to MTR. It's about 20 min to get to Mongkok station (It takes some amount of time to transver from Olympic to Mongkok station if you want to go to place on Mongkok line). The hotel is good if you don't mind walking, but for my next stay, I probably will choose a hotel that is closer to the MRT (especially during summer month).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitehawk_tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    1,761
    386
    77
    32
See reviews for
933
1,276
322
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The handy phone provided was brilliant, keeping us connected to the net and allows free IDD calls to 5 countries including Singapore. Plus it had a good battery life. As for the hotel, the location is not very near any MTR (about 10-15mins walk to mongkok or olympic), but there are a lot of decent eating places nearby that open till late so no problems with that. The free shuttle operates only once an hour and is usually full 10 minutes before departure in the morning. Would be good if the frequency is increased. The rooms are nothing to rave about, but comfortable and clean enough. Overall, its very good value and I'll choose this hotel again when I return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked the Executive with 2 Breakfasts through Dorsett website for a good price (by HK stds). The room was very compact but very well designed with everything you could possibly need. We had a gorgeous city view. The breakfast was great, lots of variety. Fairly close to Olympic station walkway, but definitely a good 10 min walk by the time you reach actual station. Staff were very friendly. Very happy with our choice of hotel

Room Tip: High room with cityview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Dorsett Mongkok in Hong Kong may not be 5 star, but its a clean, comfortable hotel. Yes the rooms can be small, but I think thats the average size of a hotel, where space is a prime and if you want something bigger, then you have to pay more. The staff are very friendly, always willing to assist you. The location is convenient, lots of shops around, including 7 11s which are open 24 hours. There is a Mcdonalds right across the road, also open 24 hours so being hungry in the middle of the night is not a problem. The only dislike I had was the bathroom, which is more like a cubicle. Very similar to what you will find on a ship. Very small, with the toilet and shower combined into one small area. You do not have to worry though, the toilet is not below the shower like you would find at other hotels.

There is free internet, but you would need to go into the lobby to use. You can connect in your room, but there is a charge for that. If you have a more expensive room, you are given access to the lounge area which you will need a key for. Here you can have free soft drinks, water and tea and coffee.

There is a free shuttle that takes you to certain places in Honk Kong so you dont have to worry about taxies etc.. It also stops at the train station, which you can use to connect to the airport line.

Will stay here again if I go to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MatherM2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

We do appreciate your feedback on free internet access and we would be happy to inform you that all our guestrooms are now equipped with a smart phone comes with free 3G Internet with personal hotspot function for multi-device connectivity, unlimited local calls and IDD calls to five countries. No deposit required and it is readily available in the room when guest check-in. We trust this will bring you immeasurable convenience on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel made our stay so easy and enjoyable on soooo many levels. The manager and his staff all went above and beyond all our expectations and more. Defiantly recommend, in a great location, lovely and clean, staff could not do enough for us. We will definantly be back.

Room Tip: No children activities were there but we're not required as there was enough to do outside the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for four nights. Hotel was very clean and neat. Fast and efficient check-in and check-out. Counter staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Maid service was excellent though somewhat very early. [at least on my floor]. Request for extra pillow and a minor issue with the shower was seen to promptly.
Size of the room was rather small and cramped but intelligently designed to make use of space. Just don't bring too many luggage. A small fridge[non-stocked], a room safe and the normal toiletries are also provided.
Free usage of a smartphone that has both Wi-fi and 3G connectivity plus free international calls to selected countries. Phone preloaded with a "handy" guide that lists out attractions, activities and ticketing information useful for the visitor.
Free shuttle service provided to three locations hourly though the Olympic MTR station is only about a ten minute walk away.
A little bit out of the way but the cheaper prices at the neighbourhood stores more than made up for it.[Bottled drinks cost almost half compared with those at the touristy spots] Furthermore, HK has a world-class transportation system, that traveling from one place to another is a breeze.
Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M.S. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good location, in reach of shops. Hotel buses from Kowloon fast line to hotel, the buses are not very frequent. Not all shuttle buses go to this hotel only the Dorsett buses. Hotel staff are always happy to help. The reception area is very spacious and very opened planned. Reception area smells very refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsett14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing