We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room is quite big compare as the other hotel room in HK. The service was good.
The only not good thing is the location. It's just in between with the mongkok and MRT. You can only choose walk about 15-20 mins or take the shuttle bus. The shuttle bus only comes every hour.So if you missed you, you have to wait another hour.

The other inconvenient thing is the shuttle bus is a loop. It only takes 5 mins from the hotel to mongkok but it takes 30-40 mins if you catch the shuttle bus back to hotel. This is really a pain.

I would stay again if they can improve the shuttle bus service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,099 - 2,105 of 3,813 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Hong Kong. Service was excellent, helpful and friendly staff and they even gave me a cellphone to carry around with unlimited 3G data. Their rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced. They have a great fitness centre on the second floor. They also have a free shuttle that runs every hour to place in the area. The hotel is situated approximately 500 meters from the Olympic MTR station in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is absolutely perfect according to the price/quality of services and well-situated. Typically small rooms for the city with ensuite, however was clean, cool and comfortable.
Everything was great--from booking the venue, reconfirming our booking via their email, and checking in and out of the hotel. We had a very hassle free stay at the hotel and would not mind coming back here.
Hotel room was nice and simple... We were only discussing about the breakfast as the choice was not large enough... but eggs were wll-cooked !
You can go there without problem. I will go back if needed (as well as my husband thinks!)

Room Tip: Do book a room in the upper levels: it will be more intereting for the viewsite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamouchkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

We’re glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your comment on the breakfast selection is noted, we will definitely review the breakfast variety with the restaurant manager for further improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our booking did not include breakfast. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is the size of the room. It is indeed small compared to those that I have stayed but to be fair it is relatively cheaper than others too.

The plus:
- Reasonable price
- Free cellphone usage for local calls and IDD calls to 5 countries (USA, UK, CHina, Singapore and Australia)
- Preset menu on homescreen for tourists information such as shopping, dining, attractions etc.
- Comfortable mattress (Simmons)... mine is a king size bed that you can squeeze three Asian average size.
- Room is clean with helpful staff
- Free shuttle bus ( every 1 hour interval from 9am to 11pm) to Mongkok Langham, Harbour City shopping centre, Tsim Tsa Chui
- Approx. 7 mins walk to Mongkok Langham, Ladies Mkt, Agryle Street (sports street)
- Local food and café are plenty just outside the hotel with convenient store, fruit store and clinic just across the road. MsDonald is just across the road too.

The negative:-
- Sound proofing not great so you hope you don't have a noisy of party animal next door or above you.
- the pillow is soft for my liking (not sure if they have other choices).
- There isn't much room to hang your clothes if you are not alone.
- Not much walking space. The room probably just nice for two.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelvin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

Roomsize wise, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. On your next visit, you may consider staying in our suite room measuring 42 sq.m. which comes with a spacious separated bathroom and a living room for a more relaxing experience. As for the pillow, in fact, we do provide 11 choices of pillows for guests to choose from at no cost. We hope that you had the chance to ask our housekeeping team for immediate assistance on the spot to have the pillow menu and extra pillow delivered to your room. We are sorry for the discomfort caused.

We also regret about the occasional noise disturbance you experienced this time. We will definitely look into this to ensure all the guestrooms are properly sound-proofed as they should be.

We will also take into consideration your comment on having more space for hanging cloths in our future improvement work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had only one night here, cant fault it really, the room was great, got an upgrade as I had prepaid, thought for a moment what upgrade as I walked in and saw two small single beds...until I realised there was another room and the king bed there and bathroom. Probably overkill in size but I was happy. Location fine, lots of places to eat etc. Perhaps just note that if you catch the airport train, the shuttle bus is every hour, miss it and its a wait or a taxi (not that's expensive) and to book the one back.

Left a happy camper.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Typically small rooms for the city with ensuite, however was clean, cool and comfortable. BF was suitable but not a great variety to be had for a buffet.
Good location with free minibus to Mongkok or easily walkable to both Olympic MRT or Mongkok.
Value for money I believe!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ShelleyB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

As for the guestroom size, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. On your next visit, you may consider staying in our suite room measuring 42 sq.m. which comes with a spacious separated bathroom and a living room for a more relaxing experience.

Your comment on the breakfast is also noted. We will reflect this with the restaurant manager for further improvement on the food selection.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

1.) Everything was great--from booking the venue, reconfirming our booking via their email, and checking in and out of the hotel. We had a very hassle free stay at the hotel and would not mind coming back here.

2.) Hotel room was nice and simple. Small enough to accommodate us yet big enough to satisfy our taste and needs. What we didn't like was that on our room, our remote was broken (numbers do not work. Only +1 and -1 channel are working so we had to click the remote a lot of times if we want to switch from one channel to another BUT that is just a minimal problem that can be solved easily)

3.) They had a complimentary Handy Phone (Alcatel) with GPS on it with free call to some countries (US, Canada, Australia, etc). We were very much dependent to their handy phone!

4.) In terms of customer services, their concierge did a good job on helping our routes and some basic information regarding HK public transportation and places to see; they even gave us a shuttle service time with a map that indicated top places to see.

5.) Elevator seems somewhat slow for me but it's okay. Room was not noise proof-- we can hear the doors of our neighbor and if they are shutting or opening the door. But good thing it was all quiet there.

If we are to go back to HK soon, we will definitely check this hotel out again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback for the TV remote control is noted. Our Engineering team has been notified to rectify this issue in each guestroom immediately. Thank you for letting us know.

With regards to the elevators, at the moment, we have three elevators operating at the same time, our apology for the occasionally lengthened waiting time possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us.

We regret about the occasional noise disturbance you experienced this time. We will definitely look into this to ensure all the guestrooms are properly sound-proofed as they should be, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to your return visit with us on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,331 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 726 in Hong Kong
878 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £60 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing