We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Johnston Suites Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Ranked #213 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
vancouver
Level Contributor
223 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Wan chai is a great area with tons of restaurants interesting walks and close to MTR. Downside is that the apt is small but that is HK standards . The couch is not particularly comfortable . Everything worked and staff always available if there was a problem. Would recommend that they change up the pastries and bring local buns and pastries from the close by bakeries. In house laundry a bonus

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk-thejohnstonsuites, General Manager at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Vancouvermty,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your stay with us at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad that you enjoyed the nearby conveniences in Wan Chai.

With respect to your comment on the room facilities and service, we are very regret that our service apartments didn’t completely meet with your expectation. We will try our best to improve our service not only the pastries and laundry service, but the overall experience that can deliver a comfortable living environment in high convenient level to our residences.

Thank you again for your precious comment. We sincerely look forward to having the pleasure of serving you at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeffrey Chuan
General Manager
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

i start with the good points of this service appartment :
- Situation very convenient : MTR - Tram
- Room Size

But apart from that this service appartment is very very very too noisy It was terrible. Lot of work in process inside the hotel and I think it will take a long time again. They work even very late in the evening and sometimes during the night !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk-thejohnstonsuites, General Manager at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jess L,

Thank you very much for your time to give us feedback on your recent stay at The Johnston Suites. I am sincerely sorry that your staying experience was not completely enjoyable due to the noise.

As you may know, we have carried out enhancement work for the outdoor swimming pool to ensure that the facilities are in excellent condition for our guests to enjoy. The work would only start from 9:00 am to 5:00pm during the weekdays and no works would be carried out after the aforementioned period. As stated in the guest notice, the enhancement work will be completed as scheduled by the end of May 2014.

Thank you very much again for sharing your thoughts and views. Please rest assured that we shall work harder in our endeavour to improve our services and facilities to make our serviced apartment a home away from home for our guests. Moreover, we will perform site patrol more frequently to prevent any noise and disturbance, especially during the night time. Looking forward to welcoming you again at The Johnston Suites in the future!

Best Regards,

Jeffrey Chuan
General Manager
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having already been living in Hong Kong for seven months, in a furnished apartment, the move into Johnson Suites was predicated on an unplanned extension to a project. I needed a place to stay for a few weeks and now I wished I had been there for the full eleven months - it was a pleasure - with all the staff making me feel as if i was coming 'home' each day. The room was just the right size, the bath was the right length, the kitchen was well equipped, and the windows were well sound-proofed - with the trams just outside, definitely a plus! I only have two real negatives to mention...logging onto the internet every day is a pain - the setup should be linked to the length of the booking! The second one, which should be only a temporary 'blip', was the fact that the pool was not available due to renovation work. A minor issue was that the room was not always cleaned as well as it could, but again a management issue that should be easily resolvable!

Room Tip: A view over the sports park...no high-rises for quite a distance and therefore a feeling of openness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk-thejohnstonsuites, General Manager at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Nicholas,

Thank you very much for your time to give us feedback on your recent stay at The Johnston Suites. I’m very grateful to hear that you are happy with our staff, the room size and the room facilities and your overall experience staying at our serviced apartment. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to Guest Service Team.

Regarding to the internet login system, we will try our best to figure out a way to improve the login process. We are also regret that you were not able to use the outdoor swimming pool during your stay due to the temporary closure for renovation. To improve the facilities in our service apartment, it is a must for us to carry out some upgrading project to enhance the quality of service. The outdoor swimming pool will be reopened on 1st Jun 2014. Your comment regarding to the cleanliness are well noted. We will share and discuss these issues with all concerned departments for further improvement. Hopefully the foregoing glitch did not hinder you from enjoying your stay at The Johnston Suites!

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are truly grateful to hear that you enjoy your stay. We sincerely look forward to having the pleasure of serving you at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong and hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Jeffrey Chuan
General Manager
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here on a business trip for 3 months and I would highly recommend the place to anyone. The location is amazing - the staff are super friendly and super nice --- there is a good amount of space for Hong Kong in their suites and they keep everything clean and fresh - my only problem was they shut the gym 2 months into my stay and the alternative was pretty far from the hotel. However it pushed me to go out doors and hike more which was fabulous as well. Great apartments - dont hesitate to stay there --- location is excellent too with fabulous transport links

Room Tip: Take a higher level floor as you wont hear much of the busy traffic in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLondon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk-thejohnstonsuites, General Manager at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear LoveLondon01,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are truly grateful to hear that you enjoy your stay.

We are really regret that you cannot use our gym room during your stay as it was temporary closed for a renovation. However, in order to maintain our service and provide better staying experience for our residences, it is a must for us to review and upgrade our apartment facilities and equipment’s from time to time. We are pleased to announce that the gym room has been reopened since 1st May 2014.

Thank you again for choosing The Johnston Suites Hong Kong and recommending our serviced apartment. We sincerely look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again at The Johnston Suites Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely,

Jeffrey Chuan
General Manager
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Johnston Suites Hong Kong is a serviced apartment with prime location. It is just a few miles away from the Wan Chai MTR station and it is close to everywhere for shopping, restaurants & bars (Star street) , entertainment,etc.

I've been here for 2 months and the stay was really enjoyable. All staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception and housekeeping. The room is well-designed and spacious. They have 24-hour gym room and a out door swimming pool ( it was closed during winter so i didn't use it). They also have a nice rooftop leisure area where you can grab a drink and enjoy the view.

Now I 've found a permanent place to stay in Hong Kong. However, I will definitely come back to visit them again and I will recommend this serviced apartment to anyone coming to Hong Kong for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Johnston Suites is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a ideally located and well equipped apartment in Hong Kong.

The location is perfect for anyone as it is just 5 mins walk from Wan Chai MTR station, with everything from Causeway Bay to Admiarlty within walking distance with lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby.

The apartment itself was very spacious, well-equipped and maintained and very comfortable to live in (we were here for a month ). The staff are extremely friendly and always ready to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in Johnston Suites for 2months over the summer. Having relocated from Malaysia, I was actually reluctant to move out after my stint!

Location - Fantastic. Right in front of the tram stop, 2 mins walk from Wanchai MTR and 3 mins taxi ride to central. Very centralised and convenient.

Facilities - Full suite. Washing machine, dryer, free wifi, large bed, spacious bathroom, broad cabinets, gym, roof top swimming pool. Pretty complete.

Service - Helpful, friendly English speaking staff made the stay very pleasant.

Bonus - Complimentary grab-and-go breakfast located at the lobby was a great idea. Went to work each day a happy man!

Vacinity - Lifely area with pubs, bars located 3 blocks away (hence noise was not an issue), plenty of eateries and convenience stalls around the block.

Cons - gym could be a tad bigger, city view was not spectacular
Summary - Great place, highly recommended, especially for business travel / medium term staying.

Room Tip: Higher floor - lesser traffic noise although noise was not loud to begin with Check out the young S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#120 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Fleming, Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong
#176 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#121 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnston Suites Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnston Suites Hong Kong

Property: The Johnston Suites Hong Kong
Address: No.74-80 Johnston Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Johnston Road in Wan Chai, The Johnston Suites offers you premium serviced apartments in an ideal destination to experience the glamour and excitement of Hong Kong. A home at The Johnston Suites is a step into the city’s most celebrated entertainment, shopping and dining venues, and a link to its rich cultural heritage. Designed for the corporate travellers in mind, this modern serviced apartment tower offers premium comfort with easy access to everything you need for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Johnston Suites Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
The Johnston Suites Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing