We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No early check in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Ranked #153 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No early check in...”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this review while waiting for the room to be ready. The hotel seems to be very rigid about not letting anyone in before 2 pm... not a good start after an over night flight. Lets see how it goes after I get the room...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kguneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    314
    115
    30
    13
See reviews for
65
124
54
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had to wait for 10 minutes as I had booked an hour earlier on a web site and they hadn't received the booking through. Once it was sorted I was soon in my room which was small but had everything I needed including bottled water slippers and dressing gown. It was compact,
clean and on the 19th floor and had a bit of a view.

Location wise it was great as it was only a few minutes walk from Tin Hau MTR. I did have breakfast there which again had everything I needed. There was a variety of food including traditional Chinese and also continental breakfast and a type of bacon and eggs beans etc. There are plenty of cafés and restaurants around also lots of convenience stores so you wouldn't go hungry.

The staff were very helpful and even charged my phone for me as I didn't have an adaptor. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
542 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you are coming from the airport via Airport express train, a free shuttle will drop you to the hotel. This hotel is located right beside Victoria park and 5 minutes walk from Ti Hau metro station. Lots of small eateries , convenience stores, small bakeries around the hotel. The exterior of the hotel is a bit tired, but nothing to complain about the interior and the rooms. Waiting for the lifts can get irritating at times. The staff are not very helpful and will not go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. When we checked in at 10 pm, the receptionist insisted that we pay 4 days rent plus deposit in advance. Even though I explained to her I was not carrying so much HKD. She insisted i pay by USD and gave me a appalling conversion rate. Apart from this, our stay was pleasant and we were given a upgraded room.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms on the higher floors, you will die waiting for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

For its price, the room is a delight by HK standard!
Room and bathroom is very clean and despite being small, everything is available.
View and service is good. Staff is efficient and lift is fast.

A few minutes of walk from the nearest subway station and just 15 min walk from the shopping area of Causeway Bay.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Decent hotel - good sized rooms, and good location however the internet when I was there was terrible. A surprise for the usually good connections you get in Hong Kong. A warning .. if you are feeling weak.. don't try to open the front door.. it is so heavy and if there is any wind outside you have to use your whole body to push the door open!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazar_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Rooms were clean ,service not good, ocation opposite a refuse collection point, noisy through entire evening.

The hotel staff are not very good with tourist information - we did not like staying there at all

Room Tip: No fitness centre or pool, rooms small, still need to print photos will share later
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junea310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Hotel is 3 min walk from Tin Hau MTR. Area has some good restaurants. Room is very small but not the smallest I've stayed at in HK so not an issue. Bed was surprisingly comfortable! Shower pressure is good, bathroom is tiny but organized. I would definitely stay here again simply bc of location in relation to MTR. The hotel staff was very helpful and wrote down directions for us to different sites in HK. We didn't eat any food so I can't comment on that but the restaurant looked interesting - seemed to be ok. Worst part was definitely the elevators. I feel like we spent a lot of time waiting on the elevator at our floor. Pro though was that we could see the water from our very high floor room!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a cool view of the water but lower floors seem to not have as many difficulties w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#123 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#104 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Empire Hotel Kowloon
Empire Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay

Property: The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Wing Hing Street | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#113 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 5-minute walk’s from Tin Hau MTR station, the Empire Hotel Causeway Bay is tucked away from the hustle and bustle and yet within walking distance of major shopping areas and business districts in Causeway Bay. The hotel provides 280 guest rooms fully furnished with a select range of in-room facilities and amenities for business travelers and tourists alike. Each room is equipped with Wi-Fi access, 42” flat-panel television set, and quality in-room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing