We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$1,024
US$642
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$209
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$345
US$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$235
US$208
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
US$196
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
US$152
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$540
US$463
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$118
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
139
326
123
33
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
326
123
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstin haucauseway bayfruit stallsmtr stationsmall hotelreplenished dailyhotel rooms aretram stopstayed for nightsairport shuttledecent sizestaying at this hotelhk hotelswan chaihandy phonemini barluggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The nightlife is just minutes away walkable or a cheap taxi ride. The hotel also offered many amenities. Extremely nice and clean bathroom the beds however are singles so push them together if you want to snuggle. Also the lounge/bar on the top floor doesn't really exist.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Empire Hotel, you could definitely do better....
First room we were offered to the tune of, "we've upgraded you" was dingy, smoky, on the 15th floor and had a half height window with a view of the next apartment's washing. Not exactly the Club Room we'd booked. I pointed this out to Reception, and fairly quickly we were moved to the 25th floor with a much better view, and thankfully, no smell of cigarettes.
Rooms are really tiny, but the short beds create the illusion that the room is a reasonable width. It's not, and if you're over 1.6m in height, your feet will hang off the end of the bed.
The nice head waiter at breakfast was one of the only members of staff who seemed to actually care what was going on. I was pretty annoyed about the first room we were given, but generally the staff are indifferent, don't seem to have the interest in helping guests and need to be coaxed into providing basics like the drinks in the Club Lounge at 5 o'clock. No milk for the tea though, despite a gentle request.
The Club Lounge itself, was excellent. When it was there, there was great free wine (good quality, not el cheapo supermarket plonk), nice little snacks, newspapers, magazines and a superb view. One of the young guys up there is also really nice and tries to assist as best as he can.
The location is also a real highlight of this hotel - explore the backstreets, the non touristy areas of HK and stumble across quirky little cafes, pop up stalls selling pots and pans and t shirts, and the authentic side of local HK. It's a stone's throw from the FREE Airport Express bus which will take you to the HK station for you to get directly onto the train, it's a 5 minute walk to the MTR (subway) and you can stroll into Victoria Park or catch a tram right across the island.

Room Tip: Don't accept low quality rooms if you think they are not what you have paid for
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one week with two rooms for us and kids, had to move because of severe damp smells in room and then had problems with people smoking in a non smoking hotel, staff were useless with no backbone to do anything, we were offered a few buffet dinner as recompense but wish we didn't it was terrible and when we checked out they demanded the 10% service charge was paid, stay well away from this hotel unless you have no other choice, they say it's 4 star, only in their eyes

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank PaddyOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this review while waiting for the room to be ready. The hotel seems to be very rigid about not letting anyone in before 2 pm... not a good start after an over night flight. Lets see how it goes after I get the room...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank kguneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had to wait for 10 minutes as I had booked an hour earlier on a web site and they hadn't received the booking through. Once it was sorted I was soon in my room which was small but had everything I needed including bottled water slippers and dressing gown. It was compact,
clean and on the 19th floor and had a bit of a view.

Location wise it was great as it was only a few minutes walk from Tin Hau MTR. I did have breakfast there which again had everything I needed. There was a variety of food including traditional Chinese and also continental breakfast and a type of bacon and eggs beans etc. There are plenty of cafés and restaurants around also lots of convenience stores so you wouldn't go hungry.

The staff were very helpful and even charged my phone for me as I didn't have an adaptor. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews