We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for quick lunch and leisurely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kikusan

Kikusan
Ranked #740 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good for quick lunch and leisurely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have been here a few times. The staff are tuned into two different clocks. At lunch, they are very quick, but the food quality does NOT suffer. Everything is just as fresh as it should be. Hot dishes are really smoking hot. And, staff will do their best to accommodate customers who fail to make a booking in advance - they asked if we could leave the table at a certain time (reasonable).

Dinner is much more leisurely and the atmosphere is totally different from lunch. The A la Carte menu is quite extensive with lots of choices. Best to go on week-nights as it is not that crowded and you can have a quiet relaxed evening with companions.

There are complaints about this being an expensive restaurant. However, considering the food and the location (real central business district and inside the Landmark Building), it is worth it. I would recommend it to those who do not require a luxurious environment (say, Nadaman at the Shangri-la) but who would enjoy a reliable medium size venue with good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
519 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have been here on several occasions, but this visit was most disappointing. The service was mediocre, and we could say little more for the sushi than it was expensive. Not worth a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Food quality is solid but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Went there for a client dinner. Luckily, the meal can be expensed.

Portion is all right per HK standard. But seriously overpriced IMHO. On the up side, the place was quiet and a good place to discuss confidential matters with a client. Went on a weeknight and only 5 or 6 tables were filled.

Our waitress was very attentive and promptly refilled our empty cups.

We each ordered a set dinner plus dessert. No drinks. Total damage was around $1200.

There are better alternatives.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A decent Japanese restaurant always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Honestly it is expensive, a set lunch cost around $300 but it's worth of.You could sit at the bar table if alone watching how the chef preparing food. My favourite is sashimi set.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have been going to Kiku for more than 25 years. This is one of the oldest Japanese restaurants in Hong Kong. The place offers sushi, tepanyaki, shabu-shabu, tempura, ... Basically, they offer any style of Japanese dishes in very high quality. Price is definitely on the expensive side. However, you get what you pay for.

I have heard a lot about poor services at the sushi bar. To be fair, I cannot provide a non-biased opinion as I am an old customer and is well taken care of all the time. Honestly, this is a big and popular place, do not expect to get the same close and personnel service from one of those small 5-seat sushi place in Japan. Be patient and you will be surprised by what they can offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kikusan also viewed

 

Been to Kikusan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing